We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the price! (8 guys on a stag)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kooyk Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kooyk Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kooyk Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 82, Amsterdam 1017 PM, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #222 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Perfect for the price! (8 guys on a stag)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Kooyk is a small family run hotel in the heart of Amsterdam.
The Hotel has 1 star but to be honest it deserves more. We stayed here on a friends stag do and the two rooms were very spacious, clean and light. The family rooms (4 and 5 beds) had a shower but the toilet was down the hall.
Everyone was very friendly and for those of us that made breakfast enjoyed it. Overall for a group of people it was perfect and our room even overlooked the canal.
As far as location it's right near the shopping area and square, where you can have dinner and drinks. The red light district is about 25-30 minute walk though and the roads are a little tricky to navigate as they all look the same.
For the price an absolute gem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    80
    77
    32
    62
See reviews for
31
111
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Louth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is our third time with the family at their hotel the refurbishments meant on suite shower this year. Such a lovely big room that was able to accommodate the five of us. Breakfast was super and set us up for the day. .The rooms were clean and anything we needed we only had to ask. The value was excellent which meant we could afford an extra night. A big thank you to the Moonen family they are lovely and made our family so welcome and looked after us, we had only just lost our Dad and this trip was made easier by their friendliness. we will all be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kooyk, Owner at Kooyk Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
dear madam,
thank you again for a great review. I am so glad you enjoyed this new family room.
I hope to see you all back again , and we are very very sorry for your loss,
with kind regards
MARY Moonen
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

First time We had ever stayed in a 1 star hotel, and it was certainly no where near as bad as expected. Rooms were clean and shared bathroom was spotless. You get what you pay for and we were more than happy with the value for money and central location. Caution on steep stairs, but it adds to the quirkiness of the hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kooyk, Owner at Kooyk Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
thank you for your review.
I am glad youre stay was of satisfaction.
Please note, my property from july 2013 will become two star, and we will have a number of ensuite rooms to offer.
I do hope to see you back again.
kind regards
MF Moonen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London-Havana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The hotel was covered with scaffolding so we could not even find it.
The room was meant to be a 'superior room with private bathroom', and it is seen in the photos provided by the hotel just like that.
However, arriving there showed a very different reality: it was a dismal room, with scaffolding views and a toilet and shower two doors down the corridor!
It was explained that it was for private use, they obviously meant it was of exclusive use (although anyone could have accessed and used the toilet and shower as it was not lockable from the outside) but it could hardly be called 'private' when you have to get dressed in the middle of the night to go to the toilet or take your clothes to the shower to get dressed there (as if you were in a gym) to not catch a cold or indiscreet looks, on the way to the room!!
When we saw the workmen, the room and this separate but supposedly exclusive toilet/shower we wanted to leave but the booking was non-refundable.
To top it all, we were woken up at 7.45am the next morning by loud noises and shouts from the constructors, a heavy duty drill seemed to be use just by my head.
Although things seemed to be clean enough, we saw the clean, ironed and folded sheets on the corridor floor when rooms were being done up the next morning.

The booking was made through 'easytobook'. When I placed the booking it stated it was £54, the confirmation said €67.50 but easytobook's paperwork to the hotel, which I had to sign on arrival, stated €71 and my bank account has been charged £61.69. All in all, I would recommend people stay away from this hotel, even without the scaffolding, it is a rip off!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kooyk, Owner at Kooyk Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
dear sir madam,
thank you for your review.
I think you may need to re read the room discription that you booked,
Clearly stating, a room newly renovated, with a private bathroom beside the room NOT INSIDE AS STATED ON THE PAPERWORK.
I fail to see your point,? newly renovated, with perfectly warm shower built in modern wc and v clean . Your breakfast and free wifi included.
Please note, you never mentioned your displeasure during this stay.
As for easy to book, you could have called their call centre and they could have explained to you more about the pricing, they are very good at helping people.
The wonderful scaffolding, I explained to all my guests this is a monumental building in the centre of amsterdam, being renovated by the goverment and the Company that owns this building. We also have to have the hotel painted, and on my facebook page there is a total blog on this.

Thank god we are finished with this work per 18 june.
Then we can move on to our new concept of rooms with private facilties inside and also with the option outside... a budget for all.

we regret your stay was not what you had expected.
You never came to see me .For your next trip , tip please contact the manger during your stay.. it would be helpful.

with kind regards
MF Moonen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Me & my partner just came back today after spending 3nights here it costs €15 in taxi from central station or €2.80 on tram, we arrived at hotel at 10am but was not due to check in til 2pm but we was kindly allowed to leave our bags free of charge at reception, we was first given a room next to shower wich smelt abut damp but there is work being done but after I Spoke to reception the lady came back and gave us a room that was fantastic we had great view of cannel was clean and fresh and 4what we paid that was great 2people £168 3nights I think including city tax, we had breakfast they do toast boiled eggs meats cheese jams ect so choice for every one, there's a sink tv in bedrooms and there toilet I. The corridor along with drinks machine. I would like to say thank you to the people at hotel they was great, & even thinking to return in summer xx

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kooyk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kooyk Hotel

Address: Leidsekade 82, Amsterdam 1017 PM, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Kooyk Hotel 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run hotel in the centre of amsterdam.Typical canal house with spacious rooms, some ensuite and most are budget rooms with shared bathroom. The rate includes a dutch continental breakfast.We are located very near the van gogh museum and just walking distance from leidseplein.We have been 30 years established hotel owners.This building is a goverment historical listed building. From june 2013 we have eight new ensuite rooms with lovely new bathrooms, some are smaller than others and the price is adapted to the size of the room. We also offer low rates room only and our clients can buy breakfast if they wish.Our ground floor has been totally renovated as well as all our public bathrooms. We hope you will enjoy your stay at the kooyk hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Kooyk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kooyk Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kooyk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.