We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family run hotel, great location, big rooms, lovely breakfast. Ill be staying again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kooyk Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kooyk Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kooyk Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 82, Amsterdam 1017 PM, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #222 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
London
2 reviews
“Excellent family run hotel, great location, big rooms, lovely breakfast. Ill be staying again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Warm, friendly, and in a good location. The rooms are big clean and warm. The owners are friendly and couldn't do enough to help us. The breakfast was a surprise! It was lovely! Good food, great company and fab value for money! The best budget hotel in Amsterdam by miles!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kooyk, Owner at Kooyk Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
thank you so much,
\we appreciate this review,
It was a pleasure to have you both here.
I hope to have the pleasure of your return when our new building opens in may 2013..
we can then offer you an ensuite room..
with kind regards
Pierre and mary Moonen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    80
    77
    32
    62
See reviews for
31
111
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

really good value for money. a great place to stay if you don't want to be in the centre. very quiet however not too far away from all the action. helpful and friendly staff. would recommend as long as you dont mind sharing a toilet and shower!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kooyk, Owner at Kooyk Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
thank you for your kind review.
I hope to invite you back when our hotel is finished by may 2013,
we can offer you then an ensuite room, with a breakfast which will be included in the price.
I know shared bathrooms are not for all, but it is price realated
Please enquire again,
we would be delighted to have you back.
with kind regards
M Moonen co owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Staff was very friendly and helpful all the time. Breakfast was good, with assorments of bread, cold cuts, bacon and scrambbled eggss made freshly by the owner.. clean and safe place! Recommended!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kooyk, Owner at Kooyk Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
dear sir,
thank you for your kind review.
It was a pleasure to have had you in our hotel.
I can see you are used to travelling. I do hope to have you back again when my new establishment opens next year.

with kind regards
Pierre and Mary Moonen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

I was there 4 nights with my girlfriend. We got a room where the radiator didnt work (= freezing cold nights), the matresses were stiff and the wi-fi didnt work in our room either.
The crew there was friendly and the atmosphere like a home, but they seemed to lack servicemindedness and after 3 cold nights we got another room where the radiator was burning hot (and we couldnt turn it off). The breakfast wasnt good.
Not worth the price!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kooyk, Owner at Kooyk Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Google Translation
Geachte heer mevrouw,
op het lezen van uw review, ik heb het gevoel dat je niet de waarheid verteld.
Ik had op alle sociale netwerken en internet sites vermeld dat er was constructie werk binnen de termijn van november en december ...
wehebben jullie echt niet verlaten zonder verwarming gedurende uw verblijf.
Ik zou verwachten dat uw zal tijdens uw verblijf iets zal zeggen,of en andere oplossing/alternatief te vragen, maar ik heb dat verzoek niet ontvangen van uw.
wat uw heeft ontvangen was een grote kortings prijs kamer inclusief een ontbijt en belasting
en eerlijkheid, voor minder dan 48 euro per nacht, met een centrale locatie.

vreemd dat jullie niets heeft zegt met uit check.
Wij wensen u veel succes.
pierre mooonen
hoteleigenaar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel for a weekend at the beginning of November 2012. We wanted a cheap, central but clean place to stay, we can definitely say that this hotel fufilled our requirements. Our first impressions were very good, the hotel manager was very friendly and spoke perfect english. He was always willing to help us with any questions we had about the city. The hotel was fairly basic and outdated but this didn't put us off as the hotel was very clean and tidy with a lovely eating area for breakfast. We had a sink in our bedroom which was handy - I would probably pay more next time and get an en-suite bedroom as the shower was in the middle of the corridor and it was very claustrophobic. The breakfast was basic but sufficed our needs - toast, butter, ham, cheese, eggs etc (having paid only 100 pounds for 2 nights we didn't expect a full cooked breakfast). The location was also excellent as it was only a stones throw away from the popular Leidesplein area, however far enough away to be away from the hustle and bustle of the streets. My only complaint would be the amount of noise we experienced throughout the night with people opening and slamming doors. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a cheap base from which to explore Amsterdam!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kooyk, Owner at Kooyk Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
thank you for your kind reveiw.
I tried my utomost to accomodate and help you.I hope with a good heart you enjoyed your stay. Yes it is a very old building, and we have from this week started our renovations. You did book a basic room, we do have ensuite rooms and they are more expensive.
As for the doors, they are fire doors for your safety and mine being a historical building it is necesary to have them . I know they can make noise, but some other guests are not considerate when they return late at night. I have requested them to be quiet.
Re our breakfast,it is dutch we do eat cheese and ham continental style in the netherlands, it is free included in the stay.
I regret we do not do cooked breakfast, We did try it but lots of european guests do the like this style.. I feel for the deal you recieve, including tax and vat it is good value, in the centraal location of amsterdam.
I have big plans for my hotel, we will have from april 2013 seven new ensuite rooms, and a larger breakfast. This will be optional, a deal with breakfast, or without.. the breakfast will be chargable, as all my other competitors have from next year.
I do hope that you will return to us one day and see how the kooyk hotel will grow and improve.
thanking you.
with kind regards
Pierre Moonen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kooyk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kooyk Hotel

Address: Leidsekade 82, Amsterdam 1017 PM, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Kooyk Hotel 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run hotel in the centre of amsterdam.Typical canal house with spacious rooms, some ensuite and most are budget rooms with shared bathroom. The rate includes a dutch continental breakfast.We are located very near the van gogh museum and just walking distance from leidseplein.We have been 30 years established hotel owners.This building is a goverment historical listed building. From june 2013 we have eight new ensuite rooms with lovely new bathrooms, some are smaller than others and the price is adapted to the size of the room. We also offer low rates room only and our clients can buy breakfast if they wish.Our ground floor has been totally renovated as well as all our public bathrooms. We hope you will enjoy your stay at the kooyk hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your Kooyk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kooyk Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kooyk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.