We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oijhoh” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kooyk Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kooyk Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kooyk Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 82, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #219 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
“oijhoh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

fit for purpose.

watch the locks on the toilets and showers they can be a little tempramental, all makes for a bit of fun though.

good price excellent location!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    82
    79
    32
    62
See reviews for
31
112
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Service was good with very friendly and helpful staff, breakfast was okey and location was superb. Building quite worn down and the shared toilets very small though, does not feel very modern. Windows would not lock so we were a bit worried about the luggage but the staff kindly locked our valuables in the office upon our request and it was safe. They also stored our luggage for us for the whole day after checkout free of charge. All in all a good budget stay with great value for money

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed in Kooyk hotel in August 2012 for 3 nights. The hotel is decent, nothing luxurious, excellent location, very clean. The owners and the staff were very kind and helpfull if you ask them about directions or info about the city. Everybody is writing negative comments about the stairs, but it's nothing you couldn't handle it's just the way space is organized in this old architecture buildings. Great breakfast. I strongly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

don't bother there are plenty of other hotels in Amsterdam!! Staff were very rude!! just stay somewhere else don't waste your cash lots of other cheap hotels in amsterdam!!! However, to be fair to them, the location can not be faulted!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kooyk, Owner at Kooyk Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
dear sir/madam,
thank you for your review.
i the owner take your comment seriously.. rude??? explain???
Was there a reason for this.?? I pride myself on having a very helpful staff who speak several languages... Seriously taken aback. It an old saying if you seem to have a problem with something during the time of your stay, it would be greatly appreciated if you came to see the owner /manager during your stay.Statements like these are not helpful when you have left.
I think you may find when I publish what you have paid that it was not at all expensive.. and this property is being totally refurbished from october 2013.
Keep in mind it is a perfect location in the centre of a captial city our prices are including breakfast and taxes no hidden costs.
All I say to you is, its a pity your experience was not postivie.
Hope you enjoy your next trip..
Kind regards
P Moonen
Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Independent Hot...
Show More
Jordaan
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#221 of 343 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Independent Hot...
Show More
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#210 of 343 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
Stadsdeel Zuid
King Hotel
King Hotel
#239 of 343 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charming, Indep...
Show More
Museumplein
Hotel Museumzicht
Hotel Museumzicht
#181 of 343 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Independent Hot...
Show More
Red Light District
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#206 of 343 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Independent Hot...
Show More
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#267 of 343 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kooyk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kooyk Hotel

Address: Leidsekade 82, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Kooyk Hotel 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run hotel in the centre of amsterdam.Typical canal house with spacious rooms, some ensuite and most are budget rooms with shared bathroom. The rate includes a dutch continental breakfast.We are located very near the van gogh museum and just walking distance from leidseplein.We have been 30 years established hotel owners.This building is a goverment historical listed building. From june 2013 we have eight new ensuite rooms with lovely new bathrooms, some are smaller than others and the price is adapted to the size of the room. We also offer low rates room only and our clients can buy breakfast if they wish.Our ground floor has been totally renovated as well as all our public bathrooms. We hope you will enjoy your stay at the kooyk hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your Kooyk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kooyk Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kooyk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.