We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My relaxing weekend in the Kooyk Hotel Amsterdam” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kooyk Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kooyk Hotel to your Saves list
Kooyk Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 82, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #224 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    91
    90
    35
    67
See reviews for
38
126
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

don't bother there are plenty of other hotels in Amsterdam!! Staff were very rude!! just stay somewhere else don't waste your cash lots of other cheap hotels in amsterdam!!! However, to be fair to them, the location can not be faulted!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kooyk, Owner at Kooyk Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
dear sir/madam,
thank you for your review.
i the owner take your comment seriously.. rude??? explain???
Was there a reason for this.?? I pride myself on having a very helpful staff who speak several languages... Seriously taken aback. It an old saying if you seem to have a problem with something during the time of your stay, it would be greatly appreciated if you came to see the owner /manager during your stay.Statements like these are not helpful when you have left.
I think you may find when I publish what you have paid that it was not at all expensive.. and this property is being totally refurbished from october 2013.
Keep in mind it is a perfect location in the centre of a captial city our prices are including breakfast and taxes no hidden costs.
All I say to you is, its a pity your experience was not postivie.
Hope you enjoy your next trip..
Kind regards
P Moonen
Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shotton
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Lovely people Pierre and Mary look after you so well. Lovely Hotel overlooking the Canel by the Leidseplein Clean and tidy rooms. Cant wait to go back. Food excellent. I have probably stayed here about 5 times in my many journeys to Amsterdam and this is one Hotel which is always at the top of my list.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kooyk, Owner at Kooyk Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
dear bryn,
thank you so much for your review.
If anyone can write a fair review about us, it would be you.
We have had the pleasure of your custom several times, and with groups also.
I hope to have you stay with us again soon, and please note our new rooms.
We will have 8 ensuite rooms bu 2013, spring. and we will of course be keeping a certain amount of budget rooms also.
Something for everybody.
Our aim is to keep to realistic budget being in the centre of amsterdam.
thank you again.
kind regards to you and your family.
Pierre and Mary Moonen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel was a great little stop for 3 days for my girlfriend, her friend and myself. We were there late last year and wasnt expecting a lot from this hotel but it suprised us all. The toilet situation wasnt the best with it being communal and our room was ground floor and had doors leading to a garden which didnt feel the safest BUT this is all i can complain about. The hotel staff are amazing and so helpful and even pointed out the best places to visit. For the budget we had this was a great little find and I would recommend it to any one.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kooyk, Owner at Kooyk Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
thank you for you kind review.
yes you stayed in the double room with garden view.
We do know that the toilet is shared, but this is only for the next couple of months.
These rooms are undergoing the 2nd phase of the building work and will have new toilet and shower facilties which will be completed march 2013. I understand that people do prefare this, and we are doing our utmost best to
faciliate . We will be offering clients who enjoyed their stay and wished to book again for the following year a discount on the ist night stay.
we hope we were helpful to you and would love to have you stay again.
with kind regards
Mary Moonen Co owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kooyk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kooyk Hotel

Address: Leidsekade 82, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Kooyk Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run hotel in the centre of amsterdam.Typical canal house with spacious rooms, some ensuite and most are budget rooms with shared bathroom. The rate includes a dutch continental breakfast.We are located very near the van gogh museum and just walking distance from leidseplein.We have been 30 years established hotel owners.This building is a goverment historical listed building. From june 2013 we have eight new ensuite rooms with lovely new bathrooms, some are smaller than others and the price is adapted to the size of the room. We also offer low rates room only and our clients can buy breakfast if they wish.Our ground floor has been totally renovated as well as all our public bathrooms. We hope you will enjoy your stay at the kooyk hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kooyk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kooyk Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kooyk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.