We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for city break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kooyk Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kooyk Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kooyk Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 82, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #223 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great Hotel for city break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Just got back from 4 nights in this very relaxing hotel. Large room overlooking the canal. owners were so helpful and friendly with great advice on places to visit. very good location for bars, shops, tramsystem. Hotel rooms very clean, towels and soap in room, clean bedding, wardrobe space and TV.
Shower and toilet in corridors but that just added to the enjoyment, owners are refurbishing and rooms will all be en suite when finished, some already are.
Breakfast very nice, fresh and plentyful with coffee tea and juice, meats cheese eggs bread and toast with selection of jams. Loved this hotel for its relaxed athmosphere.
I look forward to returning on my next citybreak, will definately book this hotel again.
Jacqui Robinson. Coventry

Room Tip: canal view rooms add to enjoyment
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    84
    82
    35
    63
See reviews for
33
116
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

i dont recommend.

I certify that this review is my genuine opinion of this hotel, and that I have no personal or business affiliation with this establishment, and have not been offered any incentive or payment originating from the establishment to write this review.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

What a cute little hotel. Had such a great stay here. Spent 4 nights and got upgraded on the 2nd. Didn't mind shared facilities as we were prepared for them. Our own shower in room 6 was fantastic.
Such a great location as well.
Liked it so much that we've already booked again.
Thanks Pierre ( The Eggman ) & Mary. See you soon

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

bed very bad,need more bathroom,the showers don't exist,the people very friendly,no tv control,location perfect,breakfast nice

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Let's start with the good points: this small hotel is in a great location - just minutes from the lively Leidesplein and virtually next door to the American Hotel. It is on a canal side so you are bang in the middle of old Amsterdam. Another plus feature is the management - the owners (husband and wife) are very jolly and keen to help. They seem proud of their little place.
On the down side, the hotel is rather shabby and the small room we had was very bare, had a spongy mattress, a thin towel each, no soap in the washbasin, no ensuite (our bathroom was down the corridor), no wardrobe, and looked out onto a dismal courtyard. The thin walls seem to magnify every sound - water flushing, coughing and what seems like a fixture of cheap hotels: thoughtless people shouting down corridors or bellowing into mobile phones well after midnight.
I think if you are a very heavy sleeper and just want a bed to crash into, this hotel is perfectly fine. Breakfast is included and not too bad - (plenty of ham, cheese and white sliced bread, jam and fresh tomatoes plus scrambled eggs).

Room Tip: There may be better rooms at the back of the new extension.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed here in room 16 overlooking the canal, good room to people watch, currently in room 1 - newly renovated - great to see they are not changing the atmosphere of the old building but increasing the comfort. Great owners and staff. Will and have recommended to friends and family. Great value for money.

Stayed May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kooyk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kooyk Hotel

Address: Leidsekade 82, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Kooyk Hotel 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run hotel in the centre of amsterdam.Typical canal house with spacious rooms, some ensuite and most are budget rooms with shared bathroom. The rate includes a dutch continental breakfast.We are located very near the van gogh museum and just walking distance from leidseplein.We have been 30 years established hotel owners.This building is a goverment historical listed building. From june 2013 we have eight new ensuite rooms with lovely new bathrooms, some are smaller than others and the price is adapted to the size of the room. We also offer low rates room only and our clients can buy breakfast if they wish.Our ground floor has been totally renovated as well as all our public bathrooms. We hope you will enjoy your stay at the kooyk hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your Kooyk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kooyk Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kooyk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.