We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Campanile-hotel Gaasperplas” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Campanile Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Campanile Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Campanile Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loosdrechtdreef 3, 1108 AX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
ADDITIONAL 10€ DISCOUNT
Ranked #223 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Gistel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Campanile-hotel Gaasperplas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed overnight back from a trip to Friesland. We wanted to make a short visit to Amsterdam city-center and found that THIS hotel was only150 meter from the Gaasperplas Metro station. The metro takes you from here in 20-30 minutes to the center of Amsterdam.
Also the free parking is secure.
Otherwise the hotel/motel is without pretention.
Rooms are very small and only essential furniture is provided ; matress was a bit hard but everything was clean. However isolation against noisy neighbours is bad!
We had diner in town on the day of our arrival and can only comment on the breafast which was OK for the price you are paying ; the buffet is rather small.
To conclude : nice value for money in this budget-hotel where the staff is multi-lingual , friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    72
    47
    20
    7
See reviews for
19
55
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, MI
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Nice little place at an affordable price. Located outside Amsterdam, but next to the Metro line 15 minutes rides to the city. Breakfast not included but recommended. Nice fresh buffet and not expensive (fair pricing). Staff is really nice and helpful. Bedrooms are small but bedding is clean, bathroom floor could use a good floor cleaning. Overall it's very good when you balance all the amenities and services for the price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Yes, I said 4 months. While on a work secondment I had the pleasure of staying here for 4 months. The hotel staff are fantastic and really do their best to make your stay pleasurable. The restaurant is lovely with nice food.

The rooms are basic but functional - they could do with a refurb. It is set in front of a lake which is a nice walk. The metro and bus terminal are next to the hotel so it is easy to get into the city - much cheaper than trying to park.

This is a great hotel to use as a base to travel around Amsterdam - Weesp and Ouderkerk aan de Amstel both worthy visits if in a car.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

together with two other couples we booked a couple of nights at the Campanile with some trepidation prior to our river cruise. As the hotel is outside the city we were concerned about access however, we discovered that the metro system is excellent and the station (at the end of the line) is less than 100 metres from the hotel. Rooms were comfortable perhaps getting on a bit but clean and quite spacious. Breakfast was excellent, and the restaurant in the evening was okay, staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

our room was small but clean and tidy, overlooking a pretty park. the staff were lovely and could not have been more helpful, it was only steps from an excellent metro service and even the restaurant was not bad value for money even if the menu was a tad limited. only thing that could have been added was a hairdryer in the rooms so next time i will just bring my own. even though it was quite a way from town the metro service is excellent - don;t think that this would be suitable for the dedicated night owls as the service finnished just after midnight. all in all we thought it superb value and are looking forward to staying again next year. top tip would be to request rooms at the back overlooking the park.

Room Tip: ask for one at the back overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We chose this for three reasons.
1. Free Parking. We drove to Amsterdam for a four night stay, and parking in the centre is impossible,
2. Access to the transport network. The hotel is 2 mins walk from Gaasperplas Metro station, from which you can get into the centre in about 25 minutes. A four day metro ticket was EUR21, which is very good value.
3. Dog friendly

It met those criteria, and in addition, the rooms were clean and spacious, the hotel staff friendly and helpful, and there was free unlimited wifi, and tea and coffee making facilities.

Definitely not a luxury hotel, but it does not pretend to be. We did not eat at the hotel as we rushed off into the city every morning and ate out in the evening.

Minuses? No fridge in the room.

I would stay there again if driving to or via Amsterdam.

Room Tip: The back is quieter than the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Campanile Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Amsterdam

Address: Loosdrechtdreef 3, 1108 AX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Amsterdam 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Campanile Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Campanile Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Campanile Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campanile Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.