We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 months in this friendly hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Campanile Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Campanile Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Campanile Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loosdrechtdreef 3, Amsterdam 1108 AX, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
ADDITIONAL 10€ DISCOUNT
Ranked #221 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“4 months in this friendly hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Yes, I said 4 months. While on a work secondment I had the pleasure of staying here for 4 months. The hotel staff are fantastic and really do their best to make your stay pleasurable. The restaurant is lovely with nice food.

The rooms are basic but functional - they could do with a refurb. It is set in front of a lake which is a nice walk. The metro and bus terminal are next to the hotel so it is easy to get into the city - much cheaper than trying to park.

This is a great hotel to use as a base to travel around Amsterdam - Weesp and Ouderkerk aan de Amstel both worthy visits if in a car.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    71
    47
    19
    7
See reviews for
18
54
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

together with two other couples we booked a couple of nights at the Campanile with some trepidation prior to our river cruise. As the hotel is outside the city we were concerned about access however, we discovered that the metro system is excellent and the station (at the end of the line) is less than 100 metres from the hotel. Rooms were comfortable perhaps getting on a bit but clean and quite spacious. Breakfast was excellent, and the restaurant in the evening was okay, staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

our room was small but clean and tidy, overlooking a pretty park. the staff were lovely and could not have been more helpful, it was only steps from an excellent metro service and even the restaurant was not bad value for money even if the menu was a tad limited. only thing that could have been added was a hairdryer in the rooms so next time i will just bring my own. even though it was quite a way from town the metro service is excellent - don;t think that this would be suitable for the dedicated night owls as the service finnished just after midnight. all in all we thought it superb value and are looking forward to staying again next year. top tip would be to request rooms at the back overlooking the park.

Room Tip: ask for one at the back overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We chose this for three reasons.
1. Free Parking. We drove to Amsterdam for a four night stay, and parking in the centre is impossible,
2. Access to the transport network. The hotel is 2 mins walk from Gaasperplas Metro station, from which you can get into the centre in about 25 minutes. A four day metro ticket was EUR21, which is very good value.
3. Dog friendly

It met those criteria, and in addition, the rooms were clean and spacious, the hotel staff friendly and helpful, and there was free unlimited wifi, and tea and coffee making facilities.

Definitely not a luxury hotel, but it does not pretend to be. We did not eat at the hotel as we rushed off into the city every morning and ate out in the evening.

Minuses? No fridge in the room.

I would stay there again if driving to or via Amsterdam.

Room Tip: The back is quieter than the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The rooms are ok and clean. They have parking places next to the hotel and parking is free. The staff is kind. There was free internet also in the rooms.
It takes about half an hour to get to the city centre, but the metro is just next to the hotel.
The hotel is a bit expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My friend and I arrived hotel in early morning, we still couldn't check in by that time, we were too tired to move after a long flight so we just waited in the lobby, around an hour later, the staff told us we can get our room, we appreciated so much.

we love our room so much! having warm decoration, made us feel like living in our own room and nice view! heating in room and also bathrom. location was good for us too, metro Gaasperplas was just right next to hotel, it took around 30mins metro to reach to central amsterdam, we enjoy the silence there.

breakfast was good too, we had our breakfast during our stay (3 days), we love the variety of tea hotel provided. having breakfast in hotel made us feel very relaxed since the view outside was good! Will def. come back again next time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muenster, Germany
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I was in this hotel attracted by a very good offer in comparison with the average obtainable in Amsterdam. The hotel is located close to "Gasperplas" metro station (more or less 150 meters from a side entrance of the hotel) that is one of the two terminal stations of 53 red line. You can easily reach the other terminal station of the 53 red line (Amsterdam Central Station) in less than 25 minutes: metro trains are very frequent during duty hours and I had no problems during the weekend as well. The structure of the hotel recalls the typical American motel with windows and doors at different floors having view on a big parking lot. There are also rooms on the back of the building with view on a wonderful garden but we were not so lucky to get a room in the back and unfortunately two times over the weekend we have been waken up in the middle of the night by the horn of one of the several buses parked in front of the building. The room was not so big while the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was serviced only with a very old heater that worked only once (it has a timer that allows to use it for periods not longer than 15 minutes at a time); there was no hair dryer and although towels were clean and changed every day always had very light spots on them (not the usual sharp white I am used to find in the hotels). On the first day I asked the reception to have two additional pillows, to replace a bad bulb and to repair the bathroom's heater and after my first day in Amsterdam in the evening I discovered that no pillows had been provided, the heater had not been repaired and luckily only the broken bulb had been replaced. The furniture inside the room is very basic and old fashioned: there is no place where to put your baggage apart from the top space of the unique wardrobe and there is only one bedside table. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel also because it appeared really too expensive (12 Euros per person) and condition of common spaces was sometimes poor. Reception personnel were always kind and there is parking available for car (you should ask for a code to open the bar at the exit). The hotel has available a very fast and free wifi internet that has been really great and useful. Summing up, I recommend this hotel only if you want to save money to visit Amsterdam avoiding city centre and you are ready to accept a low level service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Campanile Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Amsterdam

Address: Loosdrechtdreef 3, Amsterdam 1108 AX, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #221 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Amsterdam 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Campanile Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Campanile Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Campanile Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campanile Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.