We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Campanile Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Campanile Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Campanile Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loosdrechtdreef 3, Amsterdam 1108 AX, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
ADDITIONAL 10€ DISCOUNT
Ranked #220 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Macau, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My friend and I arrived hotel in early morning, we still couldn't check in by that time, we were too tired to move after a long flight so we just waited in the lobby, around an hour later, the staff told us we can get our room, we appreciated so much.

we love our room so much! having warm decoration, made us feel like living in our own room and nice view! heating in room and also bathrom. location was good for us too, metro Gaasperplas was just right next to hotel, it took around 30mins metro to reach to central amsterdam, we enjoy the silence there.

breakfast was good too, we had our breakfast during our stay (3 days), we love the variety of tea hotel provided. having breakfast in hotel made us feel very relaxed since the view outside was good! Will def. come back again next time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    71
    47
    19
    7
See reviews for
18
54
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Muenster, Germany
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I was in this hotel attracted by a very good offer in comparison with the average obtainable in Amsterdam. The hotel is located close to "Gasperplas" metro station (more or less 150 meters from a side entrance of the hotel) that is one of the two terminal stations of 53 red line. You can easily reach the other terminal station of the 53 red line (Amsterdam Central Station) in less than 25 minutes: metro trains are very frequent during duty hours and I had no problems during the weekend as well. The structure of the hotel recalls the typical American motel with windows and doors at different floors having view on a big parking lot. There are also rooms on the back of the building with view on a wonderful garden but we were not so lucky to get a room in the back and unfortunately two times over the weekend we have been waken up in the middle of the night by the horn of one of the several buses parked in front of the building. The room was not so big while the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was serviced only with a very old heater that worked only once (it has a timer that allows to use it for periods not longer than 15 minutes at a time); there was no hair dryer and although towels were clean and changed every day always had very light spots on them (not the usual sharp white I am used to find in the hotels). On the first day I asked the reception to have two additional pillows, to replace a bad bulb and to repair the bathroom's heater and after my first day in Amsterdam in the evening I discovered that no pillows had been provided, the heater had not been repaired and luckily only the broken bulb had been replaced. The furniture inside the room is very basic and old fashioned: there is no place where to put your baggage apart from the top space of the unique wardrobe and there is only one bedside table. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel also because it appeared really too expensive (12 Euros per person) and condition of common spaces was sometimes poor. Reception personnel were always kind and there is parking available for car (you should ask for a code to open the bar at the exit). The hotel has available a very fast and free wifi internet that has been really great and useful. Summing up, I recommend this hotel only if you want to save money to visit Amsterdam avoiding city centre and you are ready to accept a low level service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We chose this because a) Campanile's are the devil we know and b) because we drove to Amsterdam for a 1 night / 2 day visit we wanted to park our car and hop on a metro to the city centre. This hotel met that criteria and were very obliging in allowing us to leave the car after checking out until we returned home.

The room and facilities were as you'd expect although there were signs of heavy usage in the room, the window blind mechanism was broken, but it was all we needed for a flying visit. A good buffet breakfast sets you up for a days sightseeing.

We would recommend this if visiting Amsterdam by car for value and convenience and the hotel sells the transport passes so you can literally check in, then walk over the road to the Metro which gets you to the centre in about 20mins.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I was recently in Amsterdam and stayed at the Campanile. While the hotel is a twenty minute metro ride from downtown, the station is right next to the hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. In addition, the room was immaculate. Breakfast was substantial and very tasty. There is also a small bar in the lobby and it was nice to be able to have a drink after a long day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rambla Aljibe
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

with prices in the Dam frightening I chose this hotel as it was half the price - as it is a little out of the way - but it is right next to the metro and about 10 mins into the centre - ate in the hotel and food was good and reasonably priced although if you want drinks I would bring them in and buy coke etc at the garage across the road (.5km) - I was there for football

Room Tip: take the tram (1.40 euro or day ticket even better) into centre its a lot cheaper and quiker than a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This hotel is located outside amsterdam but at a 1 minute walk to the subway it is easy to be in the center of amsterdam in 30 minutes! This was very useful because on both nights the whole restaurant was booked out. this however led to some beautiful meals in amsterdam. at breakfast it was a similar problem with the restaurant being filled with incredibly rude pensioners and not enough seats.

The rooms are clean and a good size with each set along a balcony corridor as seems to be the norm with this chain. another plus is the secure free parking for guests.

The receptionists were a mixed bag. the younger ones were fairly rude while they were very helpful on the day we arrived. we had some problems with our car on the way there and i emailed them on our way. I got a very quick reply with directions and a number to a garage near the hotel.

A tip for the subway:
We stayed for 2 nights and went to amsterdam at 4pm for dinner and anne franks house. If you are there for this length buy a 2 day ticket which actually lasts 48 hours. we haf use the full day following this and the morning and afternoon of the third day.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Campanile Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Amsterdam

Address: Loosdrechtdreef 3, Amsterdam 1108 AX, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Amsterdam 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Campanile Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Campanile Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Campanile Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campanile Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.