We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Campanile Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Campanile Amsterdam to your Saves list
Campanile Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loosdrechtdreef 3, 1108 AX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #223 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Kent, England
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Functional and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We chose this because a) Campanile's are the devil we know and b) because we drove to Amsterdam for a 1 night / 2 day visit we wanted to park our car and hop on a metro to the city centre. This hotel met that criteria and were very obliging in allowing us to leave the car after checking out until we returned home.

The room and facilities were as you'd expect although there were signs of heavy usage in the room, the window blind mechanism was broken, but it was all we needed for a flying visit. A good buffet breakfast sets you up for a days sightseeing.

We would recommend this if visiting Amsterdam by car for value and convenience and the hotel sells the transport passes so you can literally check in, then walk over the road to the Metro which gets you to the centre in about 20mins.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    66
    50
    19
    5
See reviews for
24
71
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I was recently in Amsterdam and stayed at the Campanile. While the hotel is a twenty minute metro ride from downtown, the station is right next to the hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. In addition, the room was immaculate. Breakfast was substantial and very tasty. There is also a small bar in the lobby and it was nice to be able to have a drink after a long day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rambla Aljibe
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

with prices in the Dam frightening I chose this hotel as it was half the price - as it is a little out of the way - but it is right next to the metro and about 10 mins into the centre - ate in the hotel and food was good and reasonably priced although if you want drinks I would bring them in and buy coke etc at the garage across the road (.5km) - I was there for football

Room Tip: take the tram (1.40 euro or day ticket even better) into centre its a lot cheaper and quiker than a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
338 reviews 338 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located outside amsterdam but at a 1 minute walk to the subway it is easy to be in the center of amsterdam in 30 minutes! This was very useful because on both nights the whole restaurant was booked out. this however led to some beautiful meals in amsterdam. at breakfast it was a similar problem with the restaurant being filled with incredibly rude pensioners and not enough seats.

The rooms are clean and a good size with each set along a balcony corridor as seems to be the norm with this chain. another plus is the secure free parking for guests.

The receptionists were a mixed bag. the younger ones were fairly rude while they were very helpful on the day we arrived. we had some problems with our car on the way there and i emailed them on our way. I got a very quick reply with directions and a number to a garage near the hotel.

A tip for the subway:
We stayed for 2 nights and went to amsterdam at 4pm for dinner and anne franks house. If you are there for this length buy a 2 day ticket which actually lasts 48 hours. we haf use the full day following this and the morning and afternoon of the third day.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent a two great days in Amsterdam at the Campanile Amsterdam. It was a good price at only 98.75 a night. The room was clean and a bit small for us. It is located just a short distance from the metro station, which was great, as we did not have a car. The hotel staff was friendly and helped us to find exciting places to see while there. We found a little place called In de Wildeman that had hundreds of different beers. Overall it was a bit basic but very nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Dirty bedroom & bathroom (wooden floors boards coming up No towels provided had to go to reception). A friends Motorbike was stolen from the hotels car park and some staff were very unhelpfull during this time. When we asked for the video evidence we were told we could not have this untill the monday not much help when we were leaving for the ferry on the saturday to return to the UK. We will not be staying at this Motel chain again nor will we recomend it

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Campanile Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Amsterdam

Address: Loosdrechtdreef 3, 1108 AX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Campanile Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Campanile Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Campanile Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campanile Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.