We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Boheme

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel La Boheme to your Saves list
Hotel La Boheme
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marnixstraat 415, 1017 PK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #47 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Georgetown, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Everything about this charming small hotel is wonderful! From the friendly, engaging & helpful staff, the good hearty breakfast selection, strategic location and of course, the company of Mimi, the cutest 'owner' on all fours!

It's a great place with great tram connections between the Central Station and the museum district, plus a good selection of bars, restaurants and shops which, just a stone throw away, making it an ideal location to explore Amsterdam. A word of caution though, as the hotel is a traditional building, it’s only steep stairs all the way to the top (5 storeys)!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    281
    64
    11
    1
See reviews for
97
193
70
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The hotel has brilliant and knowledgeable staff, who are always happy to help. The room was excellent sized for the two of us. Although the bathroom was very small and I, being tall and uncoordinated, had a little bit of trouble moving around it.
The hotel is located near to all the bars and restaurants. There is good shops located within walking distance. You can easily walk to central Amsterdam from this hotel if you follow the shops.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in a room with 3 beds. Our room overlooked the theatre but the windows and curtains did a great job of blocking out the noise and lights. All of the staff members are extremely friendly and helpful. The location is great as well. Close to Vondell park, lots of shops and the canals.We had a great stay and would recommend it to anyone traveling to Amsterdam

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I was impressed by the Hotel staff, they are friendly and very helpful.

Very easy to get here from airport, takes about 30 minutes.

My room is small, suitable for if you are traveling alone.

I enjoyed watching football with local people at square nearby.

Its also easy to get to any beautiful spots in Ams by jam nearby.

Thanks La Boheme

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My second time in Amsterdam with two friends, we're only in our 20s so it was ideal for us. About 20-30 mins to the airport by one bus for 5EUR and everything Amsterdam had to offer within walking distance. Vondelpark is literally a 5 minute walk or less and trams stop right around the corner if you don't feel like walking back to Dam Square. Hundreds of places to eat, Melkweg around the corner too, we definitely utilised the location of this hotel!
The staff are so lovely, we had an early flight so they made us a quick little breakfast the night before, so we never missed a day of breakfast! Mimi is absolutely adorable and we always found something to do as everyone in the hotel was so helpful. Clean and just overall a delightful stay all around!
Thank you so much!

Room Tip: If you're not a fan of stairs, try to get a room on the first floor as the stairs are small and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg, Västra Götaland, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Returned to La Boheme for a second stay and nothing has changed, that is to say, brilliant staff, clean room, great location, and steep stairs :-) All attractions are in easy walking distances and if you don't like walk the trams are just round the corner.
Warmly recommended and don't forget to stroke Mimi.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

La Boheme is a good, clean quality budget hotel located within easy walking distance to the city centre, or for those less mobile a short tram ride. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the included breakfast is basic but ample. The downside to some could be the steep staircase (common in Amsterdam), it was a big of a struggle getting suitcases up and down so I suggest requesting a first floor room when booking. There is a fabulous choice of restaurants and bars within a few minutes walk away. I would definitely return to this hotel

Room Tip: As stated, the staircase is very steep so consider requesting a first floor apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Boheme

Address: Marnixstraat 415, 1017 PK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Boheme 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cosy 2-star hotel has been a popular venue already for many years thanks to its ideal location (near Leidseplein), friendly atmosphere and helpful multi-lingual staff. We have the Greenkey Gold certificate, that means we are an ecological friendly hotel. Conveniently situated in the centre of town, all the main attractions (van Gogh museum, Stedelijkmuseum, Rijksmuseum, Melkweg, Paradiso, Theater DeLaMar) are within walking distance. We always do our best to make you feel welcome. Our rooms range in size from singles to triples and provide you with a simple but comfortable place to rest. Our stairs might be steep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Boheme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Boheme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.