We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and helps you keep fit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Boheme

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Boheme to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Boheme
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marnixstraat 415, 1017 PK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% discount per room
Ranked #41 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Parnu, Estonia
1 review
“Cozy and helps you keep fit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

The location and the interieur are excellent. Everything from the red light district to shopping streets and museums (most of) are on walking distance. The bicycle rental is around the corner and also the bus stop to transport from and to the airport - no need to drag the suitcases from long distances. The staff and breakfast are also top notch. No complaints at all. Would definitely visit again if needed to stay in the same area. Also great training when climbing to to top floor. :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    267
    272
    61
    10
    1
See reviews for
88
180
69
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

As all the other people have said! Great place, clean, steep stairs! Fantastic friendly staff, delicious Dutch breakfast, great location in the heart of little buzzing hub of Amsterdam. Oh and extremely quiet considering where it is. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Loved it from the moment I walked into the lobby! Confused I first thought it was bar... then I was greeted by a super friendly dutch woman (I think is Jackie...). And then it all made sense when I saw (miss) Mimi!
So, my room was on the forth floor... no elevator... steep and narrow steps... do the math! Yet I loved it!!!! My room was small, cozy, slanted ceiling, saggy mattress, shower pressure weak... BUT I LOVED IT!!! Breakfast was delicious!!! WiFi worked really well. Loved seeing photos of (miss) Mimi everywhere! I would definitely recommend and go back ASAP!!!
PS: Took bus 197 from airport (5 euros, cash, no GBV card accepted on this bus).

Room Tip: Consider the 'no elevator' situation, but don't let it keep you from going there. It'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Just had a fantastic 3 night stay at La Boheme. True as other travellers have said, the stairs are steep, and it is a drag climbing to 3rd floor. However, that would be my only quibble. Room was really clean, and enough room for the 2 of us. Great breakfast buffet served from 8-15 to a very civilised 11am. Hotel staff were super friendly, and even served up free pancakes between 1600-1700hrs! And of course if you like cats, there is the lovely Mimi chilling at the hotel. Would recommend and visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Three nights in La Boheme. Had a warm welcome from the very beginning, which continued throughout the stay with very friendly staff and cuddles from Mimi the cat. The room was a good size for the price we paid: very clean, soft beds, and only a little bit of noise through the night that wasn't really loud enough to stop us from sleeping. Convenient location, with tram and bus stops close by - handy for the airport and docks. Breakfast was a light continental, included in the price, with plenty of fresh bread, croissants, fruit, etc.

Highly recommend!

Room Tip: DFDS Seaways charge a lot for their coaches from IJmuiden (where the Newcastle ferry arrives) to Ams...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 4 day break at this wonderful friendly hotel. Excellent breakfast. Do not be put off by the steep stairs add to the character of the. Building. Really we'll located for walking to all areas. Lovely staff who are more than happy to assist with anything will e back.

Lee and Janice Darknell. Chepstow

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel in a good location, perfect for seeing the whole of Amsterdam and has lots of restaurants and bars nearby for the night time.
You can take a tram straight from central station which took about 15 minutes to the hotel when we arrived, there's also a bus (197) which runs directly to the airport and stops round the corner from the hotel which was 5 euros and took 25 minutes.
Dam square is about a ten minute tram ride away which was really cheap and easy to use, letting you get to the red light district really easy, with more clubs and a beautiful cocktail bar called njoy being a 2 minute walk away from the hotel. The main park was 10 minutes walk away and the museum square was 5 minutes from this.
Would highly recommend the bike tour which was 18 euros as it went all the way around the city, allowing you to see everything!
The hotel staff were really helpful and friendly and gave us plenty of ideas of what to do and see, there's more information and maps in the reception and a helpful information book in the room.
The hotel was safe and quiet and I would 100% stay here again and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel La Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Boheme

Address: Marnixstraat 415, 1017 PK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Boheme 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cosy 2-star hotel has been a popular venue already for many years thanks to its ideal location (near Leidseplein), friendly atmosphere and helpful multi-lingual staff. We have the Greenkey Gold certificate, that means we are an ecological friendly hotel. Conveniently situated in the centre of town, all the main attractions (van Gogh museum, Stedelijkmuseum, Rijksmuseum, Melkweg, Paradiso, Theater DeLaMar) are within walking distance. We always do our best to make you feel welcome. Our rooms range in size from singles to triples and provide you with a simple but comfortable place to rest. Our stairs might be steep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel La Boheme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Boheme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.