We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Boheme

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Boheme to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Boheme
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marnixstraat 415, 1017 PK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #44 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

My friend and I had an excellent 4 night stay in February at this lovely hotel. Located right by the main square, Leidesplein, you are mere minutes away from the museums and by all the trams and bus.

Like most hotels in Amsterdam, the rooms are small and narrow but hey, who cares when you'll be spending most of your times walking around and eating pancakes! My friend has a bad back and carried heavy luggage so I was able to email them in advance requesting a room on the lower floor, which they gave us no problem. Our room was facing the street so it was loud at night over the weekend and there was a bit of a draft. It was not an issue for me but if you like it quiet, perhaps ask for a room towards the back?

Even though breakfast is included, my friend and I opted to eat out most of the mornings. However, the one day we did take advantage, the options are simple but great. Croissants, cereal, toast (3 types of bread available), different spreads, cheese and meats.

Between 4pm-5pm, they offer free poffertjes (small pancake puffs) at the front desk!

The 197 takes you to/from Schipol in 30mns and a train to Centraal Station is only about a 10mn ride.

Tip: there's a great Belgian bar, De Zotte, located right around the corner!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    273
    63
    11
    1
See reviews for
94
188
69
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed here at the beginning of February 2014. The location was great... lots of great things to do near the museum district, close to the Red Light District by street car, great restaurants, near Anne Frank House. We drove to Amsterdam and were glad to discover the Park & Rides on the outskirts of the city. If you're bringing a car, I recommend using the P&R as parking is difficult and expensive within the city.

The hotel staff was very friendly and helped us decide how to spend our time in Holland. The breakfast was fine. The hotel features narrow steep stairwells and small rooms (not uncommon here) so if you're bringing a lot of bags or don't want to do the stairs, try to get a room on a lower floor!

I'd buy a transit pass (lots of options: per trip, 48 hr pass, etc) which they can sell you right at the hotel reception. They also sell tickets to local tourist activities (but not Anne Frank House) so I'd check with them first before you go somewhere to avoid standing in lines.

All in all Amsterdam was great, the hotel suited our needs, and we hope to go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uxbridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This is our 4th or 5th stay at this hotel and it continues to be kept to a high standard,cleanliness and staff all excellent.we go to Amsterdam every year and we are glad we found such a nice friendly hotel to return to,knowing all will be well.i always recommend this hotel to people thinking about visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Me and my friend had a lovely stay here for a few nights. The location is excellent, very close to a busy square, Vondelpark and the main museums. The 197 bus (5 euros) goes directly from the airport to Leidseplein square and the hotel is literally a 2 minute walk across the road.
There's lots to do in the surrounding area though it's a fair walk to Dam square and on to the Red Light district etc but it is manageable and the area where the hotel is, is much nicer.
The highlight of our stay here were the staff who were absolutely lovely and so friendly. It's well worth asking them for info as they have some discounts which we used for renting bicycles and going on a canal boat tour.
Breakfast was delicious, a good selection of cereals, fruit, cheese and ham, croissants, bread etc and a great coffee machine.
The only real negatives were in the room, though everything was clean some of the linen was stained, looks like they could do with replacing. Our room faced out over the the street and it was surprisingly quiet though we did get woken up by the trams going past in the morning. However, these small details were irrelevant as we didn't come to Amsterdam to stay in the room all the time. We would definitely stay here again, had a fantastic time!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

The hotel is very easy to find, just off leidseplein plaza which can be reached by bus in 30 minutes from the airport for 5 euros per person. This is only just out of the central area of Amsterdam off towards the west area. Very close walking distance to anything central, also if you are walking around the city the signposts always have leidseplein and marxinstraat on them (hotel is where these two meet) so you can always find your way home! On arrival and throughout our stay the staff were friendly and helpful, they were knowledgeable and happy to help with questions and site seeing and where to eat etc. Breakfast in the morning (at our time of staying) includes croissants, different breads to toast, cheeses, meats, selection of cereals and museli, milk and natural yoghurt, fruit, fairtrade honey and preserves, hard boiled eggs and the usual juices and hot drinks, everything was lovely and just what I needed in the morning. At 4pm til 5pm they did serve us some free dutch pastries that were amazing, hopefully they will continue to do this.The rooms were smallish but had a good sized wardrobe to put our clothes and suitcase in out of the way. The bathroom again was small but clean and everything worked just fine, except the shower is not a power shower. It came with eco friendly soap by the sink and shower which I used throughout the stay and didn't upset sensitive skin. The mattress was not firm it was squishy but you don't sink into it, it was very comfortable! Comes with extra pillows and blankets. The rooms are slightly quirky they have interesting but still clean and simple decor with small touches like a novel to read on the shelf on the wall which I liked. The hotel loves their cat and the walls of the stairwell are adorned with lovely canvases of cat art! The stairs you have probably already read about are tight and windy and so getting a heavy suitcase, or heavily intoxicated body up and down them is tricky, so its not for anyone who has difficult walking or manouvering themselves. But as a lot of people say this is typical of the Amsterdam architechture and is more traditional than a typical massive hotel chain building. All in all its great value for money and the location is great, I personally would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the road the other half are not, the road is ok but I did hear ambulance sirens etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I found this Hotel to be very pleasant. Extremely convenient with an excellent location. Breakfast was well done and staff was very pleasant. However, in my room my bedsheets had what looked like food stains and the bathroom towel had red spotted stains on it. I would have really enjoyed staying here for my two nights if only I did not encounter the uncleanliness.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

When in Amsterdam you can't but try to live as the locals do, even if just for a while. La Boheme is your perfect Amsterdam house with an incredible stairs experience: the staircase of this typical building is narrow and steep. But it is a must experience that was enjoyed even by my husband who had to carry our enormous suitcase to the forth floor and back in this house without an elevator. If you are careful enough not to break your neck, you will certainly enjoy this everyday 'trip'!

Apart from this first impression of the La Boheme hotel, there were more to come, all of them very pleasant: the staff are all magically friendly being a fine reflection of this quality of the Dutch-way-to-be; our room on the top floor had a private bathroom which was more than enjoyable; we could regulate the heating according to our needs, croissants at breakfast were spectacular, the room was very clean etc.

But the most important advantages of this hotel were its location - in the heart of A'dam around the corner of the Leidesplein, so whenever we got tired of our infinite walks around the city we could return to the hotel without even having to take a tram - and its value - this is one of the most economic options of staying in Amsterdam but not in a hostel and not our of the city center.

Honestly, I was expecting a 2-stars experience, but, fortunately, had a chance to live a 4-nights life of an Amsterdam family. Amazing La Boheme!

Room Tip: room 16 has a private bathroom, for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Boheme

Address: Marnixstraat 415, 1017 PK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Boheme 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cosy 2-star hotel has been a popular venue already for many years thanks to its ideal location (near Leidseplein), friendly atmosphere and helpful multi-lingual staff. We have the Greenkey Gold certificate, that means we are an ecological friendly hotel. Conveniently situated in the centre of town, all the main attractions (van Gogh museum, Stedelijkmuseum, Rijksmuseum, Melkweg, Paradiso, Theater DeLaMar) are within walking distance. We always do our best to make you feel welcome. Our rooms range in size from singles to triples and provide you with a simple but comfortable place to rest. Our stairs might be steep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, EasyToBook, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel La Boheme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Boheme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;