We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, but dirty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Boheme

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Boheme to your Saves list
Hotel La Boheme
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marnixstraat 415, 1017 PK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Value, but dirty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I found this Hotel to be very pleasant. Extremely convenient with an excellent location. Breakfast was well done and staff was very pleasant. However, in my room my bedsheets had what looked like food stains and the bathroom towel had red spotted stains on it. I would have really enjoyed staying here for my two nights if only I did not encounter the uncleanliness.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

When in Amsterdam you can't but try to live as the locals do, even if just for a while. La Boheme is your perfect Amsterdam house with an incredible stairs experience: the staircase of this typical building is narrow and steep. But it is a must experience that was enjoyed even by my husband who had to carry our enormous suitcase to the forth floor and back in this house without an elevator. If you are careful enough not to break your neck, you will certainly enjoy this everyday 'trip'!

Apart from this first impression of the La Boheme hotel, there were more to come, all of them very pleasant: the staff are all magically friendly being a fine reflection of this quality of the Dutch-way-to-be; our room on the top floor had a private bathroom which was more than enjoyable; we could regulate the heating according to our needs, croissants at breakfast were spectacular, the room was very clean etc.

But the most important advantages of this hotel were its location - in the heart of A'dam around the corner of the Leidesplein, so whenever we got tired of our infinite walks around the city we could return to the hotel without even having to take a tram - and its value - this is one of the most economic options of staying in Amsterdam but not in a hostel and not our of the city center.

Honestly, I was expecting a 2-stars experience, but, fortunately, had a chance to live a 4-nights life of an Amsterdam family. Amazing La Boheme!

Room Tip: room 16 has a private bathroom, for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Good location, small rooms but clean, friendly staff. I would for sure recommand this hotel to visitors to Amsterdam. From this hotel the main attractions can be reached by foot (max 20-30 minutes walk).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Debby J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

I stayed 1 night here. Small hotel near leidseplein.

They received us very friendly staff, good price. Room was clean and quite big. A safe included.

The breakfast was nice.

Only the stairs, it was hard to get a big suitcase up. As it was hard to carry and these small stairs, we were scared to fall.

A staffmember helped us :)
The bed a little soft, but just my opinion.

We loved the cat btw.
Can recommend this hotel to anyone

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jessica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night on January 9th. If you are arriving by plane, take the 197 bus (5 Euro) to "Leidseplein" about a 30 minute ride. The hotel is right around the corner to your left on Marnixstraat, a 2 minute walk. Upon arrival, "Jackie" was there to welcome us and offer helpful hints for attractions and events. We received our room-key for a 20 Euro deposit and up the steps we went. (Steps are steep. Not recommended for guests with walking disabilities. No elevator.) We only had our carry-on-luggage so the steps were no problem for us. Room 11 had a nice view of the Theater, large closet, 2 twin-beds side by side, a desk and a small bathroom (only shower). There is also a safe in the closet. The beds were very comfy and the room and bathroom were clean. Even though the room was street-side, it was quiet. A free breakfast is included in the room-price, however we only had the coffee. I liked that the front-door was locked at all times. You could ring the bell or use your entry-chip to unlock. Restaurants, Shops, Bars and Entertainment just around the corner in walking distance. Museums very close. Good price for such a great location. We would stay here again. Thank you, Hotel La Boheme!

Room Tip: Room 11 has 2 twin beds side by side. High enough to cancel out the street-noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Babybear13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

nice, clean, friendly and extremely helpful staff. pancakes at 4 pm are not be missed especially if you got the munchies. plenty of English channels to watch on the TV while you are relaxing in the room. Tea and coffee facilities in the room would of been a nice addition also a snack machine on the higher floors would have been good too. the stairs are really steep so if you are old or are staying with young children avoid the upper floors.

free breakfast are basic but really tasty and all organic local produce ;-) would definitely recommend

Room Tip: stairs are a nightmare though so travel light!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank _Andrew_Knight_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Very good location and great value!!! Everything is within 15 minutes walk. Staff is nice and friendly, and the rooms are clean, simple and good! Great Breakfast! The only problem for me it was that i had big luggages and they didn't have elevator.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Boutique Hotel View
#62 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 804 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#27 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 622 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#105 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
377 House - Amsterdam
#46 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#55 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,024 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#101 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Boheme

Address: Marnixstraat 415, 1017 PK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Boheme 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cosy 2-star hotel has been a popular venue already for many years thanks to its ideal location (near Leidseplein), friendly atmosphere and helpful multi-lingual staff. We have the Greenkey Gold certificate, that means we are an ecological friendly hotel. Conveniently situated in the centre of town, all the main attractions (van Gogh museum, Stedelijkmuseum, Rijksmuseum, Melkweg, Paradiso, Theater DeLaMar) are within walking distance. We always do our best to make you feel welcome. Our rooms range in size from singles to triples and provide you with a simple but comfortable place to rest. Our stairs might be steep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Boheme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing