We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, but dirty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Boheme

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Boheme to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Boheme
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marnixstraat 415, Amsterdam 1017 PK, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% discount per room
Ranked #41 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Value, but dirty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I found this Hotel to be very pleasant. Extremely convenient with an excellent location. Breakfast was well done and staff was very pleasant. However, in my room my bedsheets had what looked like food stains and the bathroom towel had red spotted stains on it. I would have really enjoyed staying here for my two nights if only I did not encounter the uncleanliness.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    271
    60
    10
    1
See reviews for
88
180
68
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

When in Amsterdam you can't but try to live as the locals do, even if just for a while. La Boheme is your perfect Amsterdam house with an incredible stairs experience: the staircase of this typical building is narrow and steep. But it is a must experience that was enjoyed even by my husband who had to carry our enormous suitcase to the forth floor and back in this house without an elevator. If you are careful enough not to break your neck, you will certainly enjoy this everyday 'trip'!

Apart from this first impression of the La Boheme hotel, there were more to come, all of them very pleasant: the staff are all magically friendly being a fine reflection of this quality of the Dutch-way-to-be; our room on the top floor had a private bathroom which was more than enjoyable; we could regulate the heating according to our needs, croissants at breakfast were spectacular, the room was very clean etc.

But the most important advantages of this hotel were its location - in the heart of A'dam around the corner of the Leidesplein, so whenever we got tired of our infinite walks around the city we could return to the hotel without even having to take a tram - and its value - this is one of the most economic options of staying in Amsterdam but not in a hostel and not our of the city center.

Honestly, I was expecting a 2-stars experience, but, fortunately, had a chance to live a 4-nights life of an Amsterdam family. Amazing La Boheme!

Room Tip: room 16 has a private bathroom, for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Good location, small rooms but clean, friendly staff. I would for sure recommand this hotel to visitors to Amsterdam. From this hotel the main attractions can be reached by foot (max 20-30 minutes walk).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed 1 night here. Small hotel near leidseplein.

They received us very friendly staff, good price. Room was clean and quite big. A safe included.

The breakfast was nice.

Only the stairs, it was hard to get a big suitcase up. As it was hard to carry and these small stairs, we were scared to fall.

A staffmember helped us :)
The bed a little soft, but just my opinion.

We loved the cat btw.
Can recommend this hotel to anyone

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night on January 9th. If you are arriving by plane, take the 197 bus (5 Euro) to "Leidseplein" about a 30 minute ride. The hotel is right around the corner to your left on Marnixstraat, a 2 minute walk. Upon arrival, "Jackie" was there to welcome us and offer helpful hints for attractions and events. We received our room-key for a 20 Euro deposit and up the steps we went. (Steps are steep. Not recommended for guests with walking disabilities. No elevator.) We only had our carry-on-luggage so the steps were no problem for us. Room 11 had a nice view of the Theater, large closet, 2 twin-beds side by side, a desk and a small bathroom (only shower). There is also a safe in the closet. The beds were very comfy and the room and bathroom were clean. Even though the room was street-side, it was quiet. A free breakfast is included in the room-price, however we only had the coffee. I liked that the front-door was locked at all times. You could ring the bell or use your entry-chip to unlock. Restaurants, Shops, Bars and Entertainment just around the corner in walking distance. Museums very close. Good price for such a great location. We would stay here again. Thank you, Hotel La Boheme!

Room Tip: Room 11 has 2 twin beds side by side. High enough to cancel out the street-noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

nice, clean, friendly and extremely helpful staff. pancakes at 4 pm are not be missed especially if you got the munchies. plenty of English channels to watch on the TV while you are relaxing in the room. Tea and coffee facilities in the room would of been a nice addition also a snack machine on the higher floors would have been good too. the stairs are really steep so if you are old or are staying with young children avoid the upper floors.

free breakfast are basic but really tasty and all organic local produce ;-) would definitely recommend

Room Tip: stairs are a nightmare though so travel light!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Very good location and great value!!! Everything is within 15 minutes walk. Staff is nice and friendly, and the rooms are clean, simple and good! Great Breakfast! The only problem for me it was that i had big luggages and they didn't have elevator.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel La Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Boheme

Address: Marnixstraat 415, Amsterdam 1017 PK, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Boheme 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cosy 2-star hotel has been a popular venue already for many years thanks to its ideal location (near Leidseplein), friendly atmosphere and helpful multi-lingual staff. We have the Greenkey Gold certificate, that means we are an ecological friendly hotel. Conveniently situated in the centre of town, all the main attractions (van Gogh museum, Stedelijkmuseum, Rijksmuseum, Melkweg, Paradiso, Theater DeLaMar) are within walking distance. We always do our best to make you feel welcome. Our rooms range in size from singles to triples and provide you with a simple but comfortable place to rest. Our stairs might be steep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel La Boheme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Boheme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.