We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant place to stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Boheme

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Boheme to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Travelocity
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Boheme
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marnixstraat 415, Amsterdam 1017 PK, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5 euro discount
Ranked #39 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Venice, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A pleasant place to stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Most conveniently placed for transport from and to the airport and station. We found the hotel quiet and clean and our room small but comfortable. The staff are efficient and friendly and the atmosphere is informal but professional. Breakfast is fresh and varied and coffee is plentiful and good. Breakfast is served until 11am which allows for more leisurely mornings than we had experienced in some other hotels on our travels. The information book in the room was full of practical advice, well thought through to help a new visitor to the city.
Well-placed for the great museums - the Rijksmuseum, the Stedelijk and the Van Gogh Museums a short walk away. The location is in a fairly quiet street but usefully adjacent to a busy road full of useful local shops and bars and public transport.
We warmly recommend La Boheme - you get used to the stairs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    263
    55
    9
    1
See reviews for
84
168
64
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Port Vila
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Very convenient location, very friendly and helpful staff at reception. We were able to walk to every thing we wanted to in Amsterdam, and the bus from the airport is close. We enjoyed the potterjes at 4:00 everyday with a coffee or tea after we returned from our travels. The hotel is very clean with reasonable prices. We were in the 3 person rooms on the third floor and the beds were a little narrow and bowed. But we asked for rooms we we could fit the whole family in an this worked out well.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llangollen, North Wales
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel is in a very convenient location. From the airport we caught a bus which took about 40 minutes and we only had a couple of minutes to walk from the bus stop to the hotel. Also very easy to get to the hop on hop off canal boats. Easy walk to most areas of the city. The staff are great , very friendly, helpful and welcoming. If you like animals they have a lovely cat called Mimi who also welcomes you in the reception. The room was just what we needed and the breakfast was great.We will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I reserved room 1 which is a clean but very small single room. The toilets and shower is shared with 2 other rooms. The problem with this room is that the isolation is bad: it is located under the reception/ bar so when the reception opens in the morning, it's impossible to sleep because of the people walking and the sound of chairs. If you plan to sleep late, avoid this room.
The staff is very friendly though and the ladies at the reception gave me good advices to visit the city. They also accepted to partly refund my last night because I wanted to move to another hotel since I could not sleep well during my first 2 nights. So it's a 1/5 for the room and 5/5 for the service.
Last but not least, the location is perfect, 100m from Leidseplein, 300m from VondelPark.

Room Tip: Avoid room 1 and probably 2 & 3 also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I cannot say anything bad about this hotel. The staff is great. They are very helpful with regards to getting around the city. We stayed in room 14 on the top floor overlooking delamar hotel. It was clean and well maintained. The beds were so comfortable and I appreciate the black out curtains.
Breakfast was very good. And the location was perfect. I will definitely stay here again. Thank you La Boheme!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just arrived home after my second stay at La Boheme. As has been mentioned many times, it's an incredibly friendly place, very clean, and brilliantly located for the Leidesplein and its nearby shops and eateries.

The staff are lovely, the rooms and communal areas are neat, tidy and spotless, and the breakfast is varied and plentiful.

The downsides have also been mentioned; it's a very small building and therefore there is not a great deal of space in the rooms (particularly the bathrooms), and the staircase is NOT for anyone who is elderly or infirm. The breakfast room can get a bit crowded at times too, so be prepared to share a table if need be. My other personal gripe is that the mattresses are very soft!

However, these are minor gripes. If you are looking for a quality budget hotel in a great location that you're basically just going to sleep/have breakfast in, you can't do much better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is a typical example of a small hotel. Everybody was so kind, friendly and helpful. The rooms are small but clean and the stairs up to the rooms very steep and narrow but this is to be expected of a little hotel. The location is perfect and in a lovely part of Amsterdam, and considering where you are, it is very quiet at night. We felt very comfortable and safe walking back to the hotel very late at night. The hotel is within walking distance to all the tourist attractions and there are some great restaurants right around the corner. The only public transport we used was the bus to and from the airport which is literally a 5 minute walk from the hotel. A huge thank you to the young lady at reception who helped my mother-in-law who wasn't even staying at the hotel. If you are looking for a small, comfortable hotel in the right location with friendly hosts, then I would certainly recommend Hotel La Boheme.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel La Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Boheme

Address: Marnixstraat 415, Amsterdam 1017 PK, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Boheme 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cosy 2-star hotel has been a popular venue already for many years thanks to its ideal location (near Leidseplein), friendly atmosphere and helpful multi-lingual staff. We have the Greenkey Gold certificate, that means we are an ecological friendly hotel. Conveniently situated in the centre of town, all the main attractions (van Gogh museum, Stedelijkmuseum, Rijksmuseum, Melkweg, Paradiso, Theater DeLaMar) are within walking distance. We always do our best to make you feel welcome. Our rooms range in size from singles to triples and provide you with a simple but comfortable place to rest. Our stairs might be steep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, EasyToBook, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Hotel La Boheme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Boheme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.