We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff & hotel is in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Boheme

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Boheme to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Boheme
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marnixstraat 415, 1017 PK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #43 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Llangollen, North Wales
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff & hotel is in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel is in a very convenient location. From the airport we caught a bus which took about 40 minutes and we only had a couple of minutes to walk from the bus stop to the hotel. Also very easy to get to the hop on hop off canal boats. Easy walk to most areas of the city. The staff are great , very friendly, helpful and welcoming. If you like animals they have a lovely cat called Mimi who also welcomes you in the reception. The room was just what we needed and the breakfast was great.We will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    272
    272
    63
    11
    1
See reviews for
94
187
69
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I reserved room 1 which is a clean but very small single room. The toilets and shower is shared with 2 other rooms. The problem with this room is that the isolation is bad: it is located under the reception/ bar so when the reception opens in the morning, it's impossible to sleep because of the people walking and the sound of chairs. If you plan to sleep late, avoid this room.
The staff is very friendly though and the ladies at the reception gave me good advices to visit the city. They also accepted to partly refund my last night because I wanted to move to another hotel since I could not sleep well during my first 2 nights. So it's a 1/5 for the room and 5/5 for the service.
Last but not least, the location is perfect, 100m from Leidseplein, 300m from VondelPark.

Room Tip: Avoid room 1 and probably 2 & 3 also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I cannot say anything bad about this hotel. The staff is great. They are very helpful with regards to getting around the city. We stayed in room 14 on the top floor overlooking delamar hotel. It was clean and well maintained. The beds were so comfortable and I appreciate the black out curtains.
Breakfast was very good. And the location was perfect. I will definitely stay here again. Thank you La Boheme!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just arrived home after my second stay at La Boheme. As has been mentioned many times, it's an incredibly friendly place, very clean, and brilliantly located for the Leidesplein and its nearby shops and eateries.

The staff are lovely, the rooms and communal areas are neat, tidy and spotless, and the breakfast is varied and plentiful.

The downsides have also been mentioned; it's a very small building and therefore there is not a great deal of space in the rooms (particularly the bathrooms), and the staircase is NOT for anyone who is elderly or infirm. The breakfast room can get a bit crowded at times too, so be prepared to share a table if need be. My other personal gripe is that the mattresses are very soft!

However, these are minor gripes. If you are looking for a quality budget hotel in a great location that you're basically just going to sleep/have breakfast in, you can't do much better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is a typical example of a small hotel. Everybody was so kind, friendly and helpful. The rooms are small but clean and the stairs up to the rooms very steep and narrow but this is to be expected of a little hotel. The location is perfect and in a lovely part of Amsterdam, and considering where you are, it is very quiet at night. We felt very comfortable and safe walking back to the hotel very late at night. The hotel is within walking distance to all the tourist attractions and there are some great restaurants right around the corner. The only public transport we used was the bus to and from the airport which is literally a 5 minute walk from the hotel. A huge thank you to the young lady at reception who helped my mother-in-law who wasn't even staying at the hotel. If you are looking for a small, comfortable hotel in the right location with friendly hosts, then I would certainly recommend Hotel La Boheme.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very good basic hotel right in the centre of the city. Seconds away from the Leidesplein and all the shops leading off it. The Leidesplein is well served for trams to Dam Square and Cental Station. A 5 or 10 minute walk to the Vondelpark, the Reijksmuseum and other museums. Hotel is a basic 2*, but the rooms were very clean and breakfast was included. All staff in reception were exceptionally helpful, friendly and spoke fluent English. My room had shared toilet/showere facilities and although not ideal, was adequate for my stay. Would I stay there again? Yes, definitely. Would I recommend to others? Yes,if looking for basic, clean, central hotel.

Room Tip: Try to not get a room in the basement or on too high a floor, as the stairs are steep and can be awk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uxbridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

This is our 4th stay at la boheme...been to Amsterdam many timea and used maybe 4 hotels in the past but since finding la boheme will continue to stay here if standards atay as they are..comfortable. .good location..friendly staff..good eat as much as you want breakfast. .excellent value foe money

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Boheme

Address: Marnixstraat 415, 1017 PK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Boheme 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cosy 2-star hotel has been a popular venue already for many years thanks to its ideal location (near Leidseplein), friendly atmosphere and helpful multi-lingual staff. We have the Greenkey Gold certificate, that means we are an ecological friendly hotel. Conveniently situated in the centre of town, all the main attractions (van Gogh museum, Stedelijkmuseum, Rijksmuseum, Melkweg, Paradiso, Theater DeLaMar) are within walking distance. We always do our best to make you feel welcome. Our rooms range in size from singles to triples and provide you with a simple but comfortable place to rest. Our stairs might be steep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel La Boheme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Boheme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.