We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Small Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Boheme

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Boheme to your Saves list
Hotel La Boheme
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marnixstraat 415, 1017 PK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #47 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best Small Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We loved this hotel when we stayed in June, 2013. All of the staff were wonderful and helpful. The rooms are super clean. We stayed on the 3rd and 4th floor. The breakfast was very good and had everything you needed with excellent coffee. Beer was available throughout the day as well as other refreshments. It is in an excellent location. We walked everywhere we wanted to go. We stayed for four nights and got used to the very steep staircase. The rooms are small but had a bathroom in the room. Everything we needed was there. Very good price for the stay! And of course, Mimi the cat was always in the lobby to greet you.

Room Tip: Our room was #12 and on the courtyard side and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    295
    66
    11
    1
See reviews for
104
202
74
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Was really a great place to stay. Very comfortable beds with extremely friendly staff that helped make our stay enjoyable. The location is great as it's barely a block from a main square! The breakfast was delicious and they have these tiny pancakes between 4pm-5pm which make for a great snack after long days of sightseeing around the city.

Room Tip: Book early as this place fills up
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The location is walking distance (15 min) to major museums and the inner ring sites. Rooms were clean and the breakfast was great. The afternoon shacks and beer were reasonably priced and a refreshing way to end a busy day of sight seeing. Wireless was great and having the laptop in the reception area was a much appreciated bonus.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This little hotel is centrally located and an easy walk or trolley ride to all major sites in the heart of Amsterdam. Although the rooms are small and the bathroom is tiny, they are clean, well-kept and have all the necessities. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the dining area is good for inexpensive snacks and drinks. There is no elevator and the steps leading up to the rooms are steep and narrow, so it is not a hotel for the elderly or anyone having difficulty climbing, but for the young at heart, the value and location can't be beat. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel is located in a great area. Close to museums, shops, restaurants. The room was smallish, but a great value, compared with other hotels I saw. The staff is terrific, and there is a nice little dining room, where you can get snack, drinks, that are very reasonably priced. if you stay on a higher floor, there are only stairs, which are steep. Free wireless, and incredibly reasonable international long distance. We will for sure stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The location is excellent, with trams direcþto the train station, close to Leidseplein and to the main art museums. The hotel is super-clean. The decor is simple but it's got everything you need: a very comfortable bed, plenty of space, an en suite bathroom with a good shower; also a flat-screen TV, hairdryer, room safe. The breakfast is excellent and is included in the overnight price. The staff are all terrific - really helpful and nice. I wasn't around to sample the free afternoon pancakes, but it's a very nice touch!

Room Tip: I stayed in a twin room, no.11, which was quiet and really nice. The stairs are indeed steep, but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in June 2013. The location of the hotel, just next to the Leidseplein, could not be better. There's a bus (line 197) that takes you from the airport to Leidseplein in about 35 minutes. The Leidseplein is one of the busiest centres for nightlife in the city and you can catch a tram to almost anywhere. The price of the room includes breakfast which is simple, but excellent (try the croissants!). The staff are very friendly and inviting and they even invite you to taste some poffertjes (dutch pancakes) every evening. The room is simple, but very convenient and clean. The only minus is the winding staircase (a common sight in Amsterdam) which is managable if you are healthy, but can be a problem for people with disabilities. To sum it up, unless you are looking for all the amneties of a five star hotel, this is the place to stay in Amsterdam. It's a great kittle hotel which makes you feel almost at home!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Boheme

Address: Marnixstraat 415, 1017 PK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Boheme 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cosy 2-star hotel has been a popular venue already for many years thanks to its ideal location (near Leidseplein), friendly atmosphere and helpful multi-lingual staff. We have the Greenkey Gold certificate, that means we are an ecological friendly hotel. Conveniently situated in the centre of town, all the main attractions (van Gogh museum, Stedelijkmuseum, Rijksmuseum, Melkweg, Paradiso, Theater DeLaMar) are within walking distance. We always do our best to make you feel welcome. Our rooms range in size from singles to triples and provide you with a simple but comfortable place to rest. Our stairs might be steep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Boheme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Boheme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.