We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Staff, Clean & a Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Boheme

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Boheme to your Saves list
Hotel La Boheme
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marnixstraat 415, 1017 PK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Nice Staff, Clean & a Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Been to Amsterdam lots of times & quality of hotel (of the advertised same standard) can differ from terrible to fantastic. This was one of the BEST ive stayed in.. stayed for 2 days April 2013.. LOCATION - excellent, at the back of leidesplien square, everything walkable, 5-10 mins to Vondlepark & museum areas, 15-20in to Dam sq, RLD etc. if not the tram (2 & 5) are 2mins away & very frequent.. VALUE - Great, got a late deal & at £105 incl breakfast was a fair price..STAFF - so friendly & welcoming.. BREAKFAST - continental style, cold buffet, juices, cereals coffee, wouldve liked scrambled eggs option apart from boiled but that is minor point, very tasty & sets you up for the day. ROOM - A single in the basement was adequatetly furnished for my needs with TV. The only negative was that the bed, although comfortable but very soft, didnt have headboard so couldnt really relax upright in bed & watch the TV at same time.. Shared shower down the hall was small but again did the job.. Didnt hear much noise as my room was at the rear so cant comment on the front rooms..HOTEL was very clean all over.. SECURITY - important to me & this felt safe - a keyfob for the locked main door & free safe in the rooms was great..PS Check out the cool toilet on the ground floor - funky wallpaper indeed.. Would i stay here again? - YES!!

Room Tip: ask for a rear room if possible - i had one & it was very peacefull
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    329
    72
    13
    2
See reviews for
124
226
86
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Found this via Tripadvisor and we were more than satisfied to have chosen this place.
Yes, the hotel has no elevator and the steps are rather narrow but who cares if you are still fit.
Triple room was just what we needed for 2 adults and 1 adolescent although the bathroom might have been a bit larger. This hotel is more than o.k. for a short stay in the City (we stayed for 2 nights). We parked our car at the P+R near the World Fashion Centre at 8 euro/day including tickets for public transportation. Hotel is very close to the tram stop on the Leidseplein and a 10-minute walk to the Rijksmuseum.
Continental breakfast was more than o.k.
We had a room at the backside of the hotel on the first floor and we didn't have any street noise at all.
Would definitely choose this hotel again.
Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.
One general remark re Amsterdam: be aware of the many bikes ;-)

Room Tip: Triple room #5 is on the 1st floor and on the backside and is a quiet one..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I couldn't rate this hotel highly enough. We honestly have never encountered such friendly and helpful staff, full of great suggestions and chat. Our room was on the very top floor which was quite a climb but good for us after all our over-indulging! Rooms were clean and extremely comfortable with helpful touches like a safe, hairdryer and clock radio. Breakfast was perfect, continental and with delicious gingerbread. We loved the how environmentally conscious the hotel was and enjoyed some local, organic beer and chocolate in reception.
Location is ideal, once we got off the plane we hopped on a 197 bus which, for 4 euro, got us to 3 mins away from the hotel. We walked everywhere during our visit, absolutely no need to take public transport as the city is so compact and a walk along the canals is so beautiful and interesting. All of the major sights are no further than 20 mins away on foot and I'd highly recommend just wandering along the sidestreets from the canals and discovering some quirky shops and cafes. Finally, Mimi the cat was such a lovely addition to this hotel! We'll definitely be back to this hotel and tell our friends about it, a real gem.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This hotel was just perfect, I stayed her early April 2013 with 2 friends, the room was spacious very comfortable and clean, every day while we were out the cleaners even were nice enough to put our mess ( I'm a very messy person) in a neat pile on our beds. The staff were very friendly which I always a good thing and very helpful. They offer free continental breakfast until 11 and after that the reception area is open to buy drinks, use their Internet and they even offer free mini pancakes in the afternoon. The staff advised us on good places to visit and money off vouchers were even available at the hotel. Lovely location situated just around the corner from Lidesplien a key are for coffee shops/bars and restaurants as well as key buss/ tram routes. Only downside was the safe in our room was broken however this was not a big deal at all and the staff were kind enough to offer the use of their safe in reception. The stairs were also a killer but I can imagine that would be the case in most buildings in Amsterdam. Will definitely be returning and recommending! I fell in love with both the city and this hotel and there is no doubt in my mind that I will be back soon :) thank you for such a lovely stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed here for my birthday in early April with 2 friends. Our triple room was clean and spacious with a powerful (if slightly scary) shower! Beds are the comfiest i've ever had in a hotel!
The staff were fantatsic, they were friendly, knowledgeable and even gave me a card on my birthday! The free mini pancakes and free laptop and printer in reception were also a nice touch!
Location is perfect, down a quiet street near to the lively Leidseplein it is in walking distance of anywhere in the city with good transport links and bars/coffee shops/food outlets just around the corner.
Only issue we had was the safety deposit box in our room didn't work and as the hotel did not have spares and was full there was unfortunately nothing they could do to help. They offered us the use of their personal safe but we locked out valuables in our suitcases where they were just fine :)
If you are on a first time, budget holiday in Amsterdam this is the perfect place to stay, i will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel is situated in a very central area with the bus stop from the airport very close to the hotel. The staff is very friendly, the breakfast is great!! The rooms are very clean. Overall I think it's a great place to stay..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed there for two nights. Very helpful reception staff when looking for point of interests or restaurants. Breakfast was good and sufficient. Small, but nice breakfast area. Steep stairs and small room (No. 7) but clean. Two single beds quiet comfortable to sleep. Shower was not easy to get the right temperature, very fluctuating - water pressure rather low. Overall good value for money. Basic comfort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel La Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Boheme

Address: Marnixstraat 415, 1017 PK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Boheme 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cosy 2-star hotel has been a popular venue already for many years thanks to its ideal location (near Leidseplein), friendly atmosphere and helpful multi-lingual staff. We have the Greenkey Gold certificate, that means we are an ecological friendly hotel. Conveniently situated in the centre of town, all the main attractions (van Gogh museum, Stedelijkmuseum, Rijksmuseum, Melkweg, Paradiso, Theater DeLaMar) are within walking distance. We always do our best to make you feel welcome. Our rooms range in size from singles to triples and provide you with a simple but comfortable place to rest. Our stairs might be steep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Budget Places, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Boheme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Boheme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.