We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel at home at the heart of the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Boheme

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Boheme to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Boheme
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marnixstraat 415, 1017 PK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% discount per room
Ranked #41 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Lisbon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Feel at home at the heart of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

If you're looking for a nice hotel with an excellent location, access to the main transports, near one of the main centres of the city and where everybody makes you feel at home, stop looking and book at HOTEL LA BOHEME!

I was travelling alone so I was looking for an hotel where I could feel safe and confortable. La Boheme is just the perfect choice! Everybody at the hotel were so kind and helpful, the hotel is cozy and everything was made so that I felt perfectly at home. The hotel is extremely well located on a quiet street that is just one minute walk from one lively square with pubs, theaters and restaurants and direct transport from the airport.
The hotel is very clean and with a warm atmosphere, I was very well treated and welcomed with helpful information about the city and main events. I was in a single room with access to a lovely terrace. Although the wc and the toilet are shared they're only shared with 3 single rooms so everything was always very clean and I never had to wait to use any of them. I had perfect sleep because there was no noise from the outside or from the other rooms, although the hotel was full. My room was always warm, tidy and decorated in a very cozy way, with warm colours and nice designs, it doesn't have the cool look of an hotel room , but it is rather like a familiar home.

The breakfast was absolutely delicious and everybody at the hotel were so friendly there was always a lively chat at breakfast. There's a delightful detail about La Boheme: Mimi, the cat, is like a mascot but if you're not really fond about animals don't worry because it won't disturb you for it is only allowed to the main areas during the meal time. She is really sweet and funny.

The hotel was not expensive and I think that for the quality of everything my money was really well spent. I'll surely come back and strongly recommend La Boheme for all my friends visiting Amsterdam.

Room Tip: My room, single room nr. 3, was absolutely adorable, with private access to the terrace and next doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    262
    264
    60
    10
    1
See reviews for
88
180
69
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

It has everything you could possibly want, excellent links for all areas bus from airport to hetel 30mins 4 euro, 200 yards from hotel tram service excellent to majority of places.20 mins walk straight to dam square with shops all the way to dam square to look in. Leidseplein is busy square which is 200 yards from hotel good for bars and meals and coffe shops everything you could want from a city break. Value for money was absolutely perfect very clean and tidy rooms had everything you needed only thing missing was a kettle, breakfast was very nice and until 11am very good. Marriot was about 300 yards away and possibly 4 times the price would recommend anyone go here it is fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagnes-sur-Mer, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

It is so easy to reach there from Schipol airport! The welcome is warmly and all the staff so smilling and nice, ready to help you wathever your question is. To climb into you room, you'll find the stairs steep, for sure, but it's not such a problem. The room is simple, as the bathroom, but cleaned up. Having a room on the main street side, I can say it's quiet.
Breakfast is simple, not big as a German breakfast buffet, but tastefull enough.
From Leidseplein, it's oh so easy to catch a bus, tram or hop-on/hop-off boat, and the reception office is loaded with tourist information.
When back in next April, for sure, will come back there and will recommend it to my friends!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Friendly staff and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The location could not be much better. It is one half block to Leidseplein. Lots of great restaurants, coffee shops, cafe's and bars within a few minutes walk. My room was quiet and clean and the bed was very comfortable. Like many hotels in Amsterdam the stairs are narrow and there is no lift. The water pressure in the shower is less than adequate but neither of these small issues would stop me from staying there again. I have stayed at other hotels in this part of Amsterdam and this is a much better choice than The Quentin, King or Hotel Uptown by far.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Pro's
Location – Perfect just around the corner from Leidesplein Square
Staff – Very friendly and helpful
Cheap and great value for money, breakfast even included in the price!

Con's
Really steep stairs - no lift, hard work with suitcases.
Bathroom – Smallest I have ever come across in a hotel - could barely move in there!
Overall we really enjoyed the hotel and will return to it if we come again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is a lovely, comfortable, clean and friendly hotel in a good location. The staff go out of their way to make a good impression, and Mimi the hotel cat is adorable. The breakfast is great and the little pancakes served as afternoon tea are fantastic. All in all I had a great, great stay. I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My sister, sister in law and I stayed for 3 nights in a triple room in Hotel La Boheme. The location in Leidesplein is very convenient in many ways. The bus from the airport stops less than 1 minute away, it is a hub for trams, and much of Amsterdam (including the museums, Anne Franks House, the Vondelpark and the different markets) is walkable. The staff are very friendly here and we had a warm welcome. We were on the 4th floor and 3 flights of steep dutch stairs were a bit of a shock to begin with. They were worth it though as the room and en-suite was compact, clean and comfortable. I couldn't have asked for anything more. Although the hotel is near a busy square with a bustling night life, the room was quiet.The breakfast was tasty and available till 11am. The staff were friendly and very very helpful. When asked a question they endeavoured to answer it as clearly and fully as possible, which was greatly appreciated. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel La Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Boheme

Address: Marnixstraat 415, 1017 PK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Boheme 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cosy 2-star hotel has been a popular venue already for many years thanks to its ideal location (near Leidseplein), friendly atmosphere and helpful multi-lingual staff. We have the Greenkey Gold certificate, that means we are an ecological friendly hotel. Conveniently situated in the centre of town, all the main attractions (van Gogh museum, Stedelijkmuseum, Rijksmuseum, Melkweg, Paradiso, Theater DeLaMar) are within walking distance. We always do our best to make you feel welcome. Our rooms range in size from singles to triples and provide you with a simple but comfortable place to rest. Our stairs might be steep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel La Boheme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Boheme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.