We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Boheme

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Boheme to your Saves list
Hotel La Boheme
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marnixstraat 415, 1017 PK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #45 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Houston
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect for the Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

My family all enjoyed this hotel. We traveled with a 12 and 9 year old. They put down a mattress for an extra fee so that we could stay in one room (it was difficult locating a hotel that could accommodate 4 people). The extra mattress mad the room a bit cramped but we were only there to sleep and when my kids wanted to rest, my husband and I enjoyed a drink in the lobby. The hotel felt extremely safe. You had to be buzzed in or have a key to enter. We had a fun view looking out over the street and watching the mad bikers in business suits every morning. The beds were extremely comfortable. As everyone has mentioned the stairs were steep but my kids thought they were a blast and I felt they kept me from drinking too much! The best part of the stay was the friendly and helpful staff, the location and $2 Heinekens. If we return to Amsterdam, this will be our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    300
    66
    13
    1
See reviews for
111
205
77
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I read the reviews about the location of La Boheme and since I have never stayed in Amsterdam - I did not understand what that meant. The location was perfect - we were able to walk everywhere. Thank you to all the lovely "hostesses" at reception, they were all great... helped us get our large bag up the narrow stairs, suggested the best route and bus lines to get around the city, offered us breakfast for our earlier checkout, etc. etc. Our room was quaint, clean and we requested a room facing away from Marnixstraat which helped with the noise level. The beds are soft - so if you require a firm mattress, you might find it a bit tough to get a comfortable sleep.

Room Tip: The narrow stairs are part of the Dutch experience however, if you feel you will have a tough time b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tawton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights with my 14 year old son in a twin room. Room small as you would expect in a city centre hotel but didn't feel cramped. Just one thing to watch for - very steep stairs and we were on the 3rd floor (no lift) so you do need to be able to manage this. Very friendly staff - excellent English and able to recommend restaurants, places to go etc. Able to leave bags before check in or after check out which was great. Really well located for restaurants and shops and really easy to get to and from the airport by bus. Absolutely loved Amsterdam and will come back for a longer stay with my husband next time and will stay at La Boheme again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Md
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We had an overnight flight from Barcelona to Wash DC so decided to use the time to explore Amsterdam a litle (have been there before) Simple to get there from airport, bus 197, next to last stop ( had a very nasty bus driver, not helpful at all but some nice people assisted ) 4 Euros per person.
The hotel check in was ok. could heve used some of that friedliness others mentioned. Now the bad part, we reserved and were confirmed in a first floor room but ended up on the 4th, no explanation for that. We went to the very nearby restaurant club area. It was very cold and rainy after 12 days in the Mediterrean but we had avery good time. Breakfast is excellent, the croissants warm out of oven to die for.
So overall I would recommend unless you are used to luxury hotels. My son (26) traveling with myself and daughter said he would def return and stay here.

Room Tip: First floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, outstanding location and for a very agreeable price!
I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I stayed in a lower level room, which was probably cooler (hence more to my liking).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

very friendly staff, clean rooms, and huge breakfast selection! Criticisms: no lift and no air conditioning (it gets REALLY warm on the top floors).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Such lovely people, very welcoming and helpful with directions etc. In a really nice part of Amsterdam. rooms cleaned daily, breakfast was amazing!! great value for money, considering we chose one of the cheapest hotels to stay in, would defiantly stay here again! THANK YOU!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Boheme

Address: Marnixstraat 415, 1017 PK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Boheme 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cosy 2-star hotel has been a popular venue already for many years thanks to its ideal location (near Leidseplein), friendly atmosphere and helpful multi-lingual staff. We have the Greenkey Gold certificate, that means we are an ecological friendly hotel. Conveniently situated in the centre of town, all the main attractions (van Gogh museum, Stedelijkmuseum, Rijksmuseum, Melkweg, Paradiso, Theater DeLaMar) are within walking distance. We always do our best to make you feel welcome. Our rooms range in size from singles to triples and provide you with a simple but comfortable place to rest. Our stairs might be steep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel La Boheme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Boheme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.