We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Boheme

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Boheme to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel La Boheme
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marnixstraat 415, Amsterdam 1017 PK, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5 euro discount
Ranked #39 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Kempele, Finland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Very nice hotel, good location. Very friendly staff. Nice breakfast. All main tourist actractions are within walking distance. Many nice restaurants in neigborhood, e.g. Klos (great ribs!). Easy to take a bus from airport to Leidseplein (cost 4 €). The room was small but big enough for 2 persons for sleeping. The room was clean, and luckily we got a room from the backside since the street was very noisy during the weekend. Definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Very steep stairs ! Backside rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    247
    263
    54
    9
    1
See reviews for
84
166
63
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

The hotel is situted centrally with all tourist actractions within walking distance. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean. The breakfast is also very good and value for money! Will definately stay her again in future!! The bus to the airport (#197) leaves from the front of the American hotel, a minute walk away and only cost 4 Euro on way.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Hotel is in a very convenient location; Leidseplein is 2 minutes away, Museumplein and Vondelpark very near and Rembrantplein, Dam and Red Light only a fair 15 minutes walk. Stuff was very helpful, we bought tickets for Van Gogh museum and were offered discount coupons for bike rental. Stayed for 4 nights in a single room, but the 2 nights an extra person slept on a mattress in the room for only 15 euros/night. Room was rather small, bed also, but was clean. My room was in the basement and wi-fi signal wasn't good. TV signal was very bad ( but who needs it in Amsterdam?). Nice breakfast open till 11:00. Hotel La Boheme will be my first choice for my next visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011 via mobile

There was a smell of coffeshop in the sheets, hygene is not the best here. In front the rooms are noisy. Service was not so good. It seems that this hotel is going down in quality the last months..

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBohemeMIMI, Manager at Hotel La Boheme, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thanks for your review but we are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay in la Boheme. We wish you had told us during your stay here so we could have done something about it and you would have enjoyed your stay better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

This is a great little hotel in a great location with great staff!!
Travelling around by myself and everything about it is just too easy and not a bit intimidating. Lovely staff (who might perhaps be a little cat obsessed), it's an easy place to hang out at small little cafe/bar by yourself, clean rooms....perfect for a wknd. they say 2 star but its prob a 3.5 and also prob priced similar to a 3.5.

Room Tip: Great spot to stay if you're just looking for somewhere clean with a great location and helpful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We needed a reasonably priced hotel for one night prior to a Baltic Cruise, and the reviews on Tripadvisor guided us in the right direction. I'd emailed ahead that we were a 'mature' couple so a room on a lower floor would be appreciated, and we got a prompt reply back saying it was no problem, and the staff would help us getting the cases up the very steep stairs.
The Hotel is very near to a main bus route from the airport - 197 I think, and as it only costs 4 Euros it's a lot cheaper than a Taxi. It takes about 30 minutes on the bus, and we used this route again at the end of our Cruise so we could get back into Amsterdam for some sightseeing, as our flight back to Manchester was quite late in the afternoon.
The hotel's location is absolutely ideal, being in Leidseplien which has lots of bars, cafe's and shops. Everything of interest to us was within walking distance, and the Hotel has discounted tickets for the museums which allowed you to walk in without queueing, which I would highly reccomend. Both the Reiks Museum and the Van Goch Museum are within easy walking distance, as are canal boat tours and the Vondel Park.
Bearing in mind the two star rating, the hotel was quite compact, however the staff went out of thier way to be helpful and informative.
The room was quite small but had an en-suite (small) bathroom that was absolutely spotless with fresh towels each day. The beds were very comfortable but there is no air conditioning so we slept with the large window slightly ajar as it was extremely warm. Our room overlooked the front of the hotel, and the street outside was quite lively with passing pedestrians, but it was a Friday night so not unexpected.
Breakfast was excellent buffet style so you could eat as much as you wanted. As we weren't due to board the ship till 1p.m., we left out luggage in reception for collection later. They gave us a security ticket to ensure no one else could take them, which I thought was a nice idea.
All in all, not 5 star luxury but ideal for those on a budget who want somewhere ideally located and extremelly clean and secure. I would highly reccomend this Hotel on those criteria.
Martin

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lower floors as the stairs are extremely steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights and it surpassed expectations by miles. Welcoming staff on arrival and very helpful. As it was our first visit to Amsterdam, they recommended what we could do to maximise our Amsterdam experience!
Very relaxed atmosphere from the place. We stayed in a 3 person room with an extra mattress for 4 people in total. Room was a good size, with the extra mattress on the floor it was cosy. Very clean and tidy with all the essentials needed for a great stay. Excellent music choice in the bar/reception area too!

To emphasise how accommodating the staff are, the lock on the door had broken which meant staff had to sleep in the reception area at night so that when people staying arrived at the door, the staff would let them in. EVEN at 5am. Great hospitality, cannot be beaten.

Excellent stay and will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel La Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Boheme

Address: Marnixstraat 415, Amsterdam 1017 PK, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Boheme 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cosy 2-star hotel has been a popular venue already for many years thanks to its ideal location (near Leidseplein), friendly atmosphere and helpful multi-lingual staff. We have the Greenkey Gold certificate, that means we are an ecological friendly hotel. Conveniently situated in the centre of town, all the main attractions (van Gogh museum, Stedelijkmuseum, Rijksmuseum, Melkweg, Paradiso, Theater DeLaMar) are within walking distance. We always do our best to make you feel welcome. Our rooms range in size from singles to triples and provide you with a simple but comfortable place to rest. Our stairs might be steep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, EasyToBook, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel La Boheme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Boheme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.