We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best I ever been” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shelter City

Save Saved
You added The Shelter City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Shelter City
Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 171 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Santa Cruz do Sul, RS
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“The best I ever been”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

I was at Shelter for 3 nights on january. Was very nice. I was at a suite for 4, very good. The bathroom on the room was very good, the beds too. The hostel is in a very good location, in the center of Red Light District. Was a crazy location, but don´t worry, there´s security. The staff was very nice and helpfull. Was any noise, very confortable. The hostel offer small dinner and other things to eat, and is very cheap. I recommend.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    70
    36
    12
    13
See reviews for
1
3
46
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

The place is well located, clean, the saff is helpfull and it seems very safe. But is not a place for fun. However, since is so close to everything I didn´t missed that.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

Great Place to stay! Talking to other travelers who went to Amsterdam they really enjoyed a hostel called the "Flying Pig", which I am sure had a bunch of wild and cool travelers and the gang of pot smoking fanatics. But don't pass on Shelter City just because it is a Christian hostel. Maybe it is just my personality, but this place was cute, clean and the staff made the stay even better. the courtyard outside is real nice to relax in after a day trekking around. Hostel does have a breakfast, but it is to order. They have a little cafe where you can order meals and snacks. Sheets for the bunk beds are provided. Free use of internet. Great location (right in the middle of red light district tho, so be aware) ! Everything is within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praga
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

I stayed at this hostel for a weekend early in December 2010.
The position is great, the room (4 beds room, women only) was ok , with a small sink in the room. For the showers, bring with you slippers and soap etc, because there is none available. And as you are packing, bring along as well a locker: I forgot mine and had to buy one.... The breakfast is great: each day a choice of a warm meal that changes every day and various alternatives. The other guests, were very nice as well.

ALL IN ALL... IT WAS GREAT!!!

BUT... on the way back, I found a couple of bites: Hands and face. And after 48 h it was quite a few bits. So the bad news is: bed bus ate me alive. They didn't bite my friend sleeping in the bad above mine, but I was one lucky girl... and a juicy dinner :D

I emailed the hostel to tell them about it when the doctor confirmed the cause, but had no feedback.

SO yes. Do go sleep there. But take the higher bed, bring slippers for the shower and be aware that you might be someones dinner. And you do not want to bring bed bugs home with you: had a few sleepless nights when I came back, thinking that I might have takesn guests back with me!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

Stayed at the hostel for one night in a 10-bed male dorm. The bathroom was conveniently located outside the dorm with plenty of showers and toilets. The beds were comfortable enough, grouped in 2 or 4 separated by a wall, so it felt more cozy with more added privacy. The staffs were friendly and helpful. The hostel was secure with 24 hour reception and lockers for rent. It provided breakfast (takeaway if you have to leave early before breakfast service started). The central location was convenient, close to Chinatown, but also red light district. It's a non-smoking (good for those allergic to smoke) and non-party hostel (good if sleep is important). It definitely distinguished itself from other hostels in the city in its policy and PERFECT for those looking for a safe, quiet place to stay and party elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

We stayed two nights here. It's walking distance from the central station, but get a map, otherwise the streets can be confusing. A map will also help you avoid the red light district, if you prefer. The staff can help with recommendations and you can book tours and bike rentals at the desk. This was definitely the cheapest hostel we could find, but it's clean and provides several breakfast options (I love Dutch pancakes and yogurt with muesli). We knew we were staying in a big dorm room, but it was quiet enough for us to sleep, even though it was not far from the lobby and the courtyard. The light in the hallway outside was the most annoying part, but it was turned off at midnight. You don't have to rent sheets, which is another added value.

Cons: The knowledge and friendliness of the desk attendant totally depends on who is working at the time. (Some seem to get overwhelmed, but most were very friendly.) The internet is annoying to use. You have to walk down the hallway from the dorms to get to the showers.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manaus
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

I want thanks the whole TEAM from shelter city hostel great place and everyone treat me pritty good,i will be back!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Shelter City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelter City

Address: Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 171 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, clean hostel in the centre of Amsterdam. Single-sex dormitories and rooms with 4-8 beds, some with en-suite bathrooms. 24 hour reception, cafe with cheap food and drinks, free use of lockers, great garden to hang out in with giant fish-pond! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Shelter City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shelter City Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shelter City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.