We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phone Charger stolen-- staff didn't do anything about it” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Shelter City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Shelter City to your Saves list
The Shelter City
Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Phone Charger stolen-- staff didn't do anything about it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in a four person suite which has a lock on it (the 12 and 20 person rooms are just doors anyone can open and close). My room door was locked and one day after coming back, my phone charger was stolen by housekeeping or someone somehow broke into my room. My other roommates didn't have my charger (they had different phones plus they showed me their bags to verify this). I told the front desk, and all they said was that they would ask the cleaners and to come back the next day to see if anyone would give it back. Well guess what! No one will give it back when they stole it! Of course, it never showed up and the cleaners claimed they didn't have it. When I requested they look back at the security tapes to see of anyone broke into our room, they said they would, except when I ask the next day, they said they hadn't. On top of that, they didn't even offer to replace my charger (they had like 20 themselves) or give me some money to buy another one (even though I strongly hinted at it). I bought a new one and it frickin cost me 38 euros. So unprofessional. Plus everyone who works here is like 23.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    88
    48
    13
    16
See reviews for
1
3
65
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

If you can stomach the god stuff (and there is a lot of god stuff), you will LOVE this hostel.
In the middle of the Red Light District, 5 mins from the train station on foot, location is amazing.
The hostel has a deal with a local bike rental company which is by far the cheapest option for renting a bike and getting around the city (bring your own helmet as the Dutch don't usually wear them).
Clean, comfy bed, helpful staff and a good breakfast. The Wi-Fi works well and there is a 24hr doorman so you are very safe. Occasionally the hot water on the top floor runs dry and they may not be able to handle your dietary requirements.

Room Tip: If you book the 4 bed room be aware it is on the top floor and there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Budget hostel, located at the red light district. Staff speak English, and very friendly. I stayed in the room with 4 beds, sufficient space, but only 1 plug available. Anywhere, the reception do offer free charging service. Locker available but remember to bring your own lock. Importantly, they serve hot breakfast. Love it so much.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We booked a 8-beds room, we were in 6. It was clean and quite small, but in 6 was perfect.
Even if it's located in the red lights district, it it's a peaceful place. There's a pub close by, a coffee shop and many more..
Yeah the bathroom is one, and must be shared with the other guests, but it's a hostel, it's not a hotel, so if you pick a hostel for your travels, think about it! Bring your slipper and avoid the toilet in the morning (if you can)! However there's a sink in the bedroom.
Some of my friends told me that the breakfast was very good, I missed it all the times as we always came back at hostel in the morning lights (wasted)!
All of the hostel's crew was kind and friendly with everyone, I still don't know how this guys can bear some people and situations,, they must saints! LoL

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agia Pelagia, Greece
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Not bad at all. safe enough and pretty clean. Very friendly atmosphere & staff. Location is simply one of the best. Overall one the best hostels. Tip for the city: don't let anyone tell you that something is far away. All places worth visiting are within walkable distance. Enjoy this unique city!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed here two nights when I was in college with my flatmate from london and my boyfriend. I liked that they were single sex areas but then we requested a wake up call so we could leave in time for our flight and it was a guy who woke us. I had to book everything for our trip and I picked this place for the price and feeling of relative safety in a christian hostel. I'd say if you need to save money this is a good choice, we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go and even walked to the airport. I wouldn't recommend this for families or couples or really anyone over young adult age. If you have never stayed in a hostel before maybe you don't want to start in a foreign country but it was what I expected and worth the bargain at the time

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

i was there with few of my friends for 3 nights.we took the en suite with 4 beds with private bath room.nice clean accommodation,up to the standard of good youth hostel.Room was bit tight for us but great place for those travel with low budget or look for different type of accommodation than star category hotels for a change.Honestly good place for those who looks for safe/clean accommodation which located in a place easy access to many tourist attractions for an amassing price.just 10-15 minutes walking distance to central station/city center/boat rides starting points/etc.just 1 minute from famous red light street canals in Amsterdam. we felt safe as there is good security check to verify identity of those who enter specially in the night. staff are very friendly(specially reception),just felt like knowing them before.They are rich with information about the city.Public area inside is a good place to chat with many travelers and meet new people.Good breakfast in the morning for the kind of price we paid.they also arrange many social activities for residence guest.Also available some discount coupons for tourist attractions from there.Nice concept of accommodation to travel with friends out of regular star category accommodations while paying a reasonable price for clean and safe accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Shelter City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelter City

Address: Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, clean hostel in the centre of Amsterdam. Single-sex dormitories and rooms with 4-8 beds, some with en-suite bathrooms. 24 hour reception, cafe with cheap food and drinks, free use of lockers, great garden to hang out in with giant fish-pond! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Shelter City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shelter City Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shelter City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.