We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the best i've been to” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Shelter City

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Shelter City
Save Saved
You added The Shelter City to your Saves list
Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“not the best i've been to”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

sure, the location is great (the RLD is LITERALLY, around the corner), supermarket just on the other side of the building, ice cream store nearby etc etc. But I wouldn't stay here again given a choice. the first night we stayed in a 4 bed private room, which i'm pretty sure was only meant for two people to stay in. IT WAS SO TINY. we had to literally walk sideways between the bunk beds and the door was so close to the bed that there wasn't any space to stand while opening the door. PLUS: THE HEATER WASN'T WORKING. in fact I think none of them on our floor was. imagine walking the long corridor back with wet hair after showering in a temperature that felt like outdoors. not very fun. didn't sleep well either because the room was freezing.

second night, we had to move to a shared dorm as there wasn't any more space for private rooms. thankfully, the heaters worked in there. there weren't many people in the 16 bed room; just three more girls besides us. it was bigger (duh) so I had a more comfortable sleep that night. oh, but the showers on that floor were...not that great. Since it was on the ground floor as all the shared dorms were, you can imagine the number of people using them everyday, especially in the morning. yup. not very nice.

but it's not all bad. the security was good, which we appreciated given its proximity to RLD and all the coffeeshops around. it was also the first hostel we went to that provided hot breakfast (inclusive in the price we paid). Nice to have something warm in the morning, although it wasn't particularly filling, there was still free flow of bread and jam around to fill you up. Their breakfast is also really healthy. Maybe too healthy. So healthy we felt everything was tasteless except the jam.

Room Tip: privacy is nice, but the private rooms turned out worse than the share dorms. so if you don't mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    81
    44
    13
    16
See reviews for
1
3
60
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The good:
-beds are clean and comfy
-there are lots of showers/toilets and they're cleaned daily
-awesome location, walking distance to everything
-yummy, free breakfast everyday
-no smoking in the rooms
-only guests are allowed in
-cheaper than a lot of the other places that are close by

The not so good:
-it's a bit too big for my liking, makes it harder to meet people
-a few things have been stolen although it's not really the owner's fault I guess

It's a Christian place but if you're not interested in religion (like me) then it's easy to avoid. It's not like they force bibles in your face.

I'd stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pully, Vaud, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

If you are looking for an inexpensive and safe place to stay in Amsterdam, go to the Shelter City. I went there with a group of students and we were on a rather tight budget which was fine. I wouldn't spend a romantic weekend at the Shelter City though. The rooms are quite old and need to be given a fresh coat of paint. Breakfast is quite yummy and the staff is very friendly and caring, most of whom are volunteers. Being situated in the Red Light District, they will check your identity whenever you get in, preventing intruders to enter the hostel. Close to Amsterdam Centraal and the Dam area. Ideal for backpackers or students.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Sept2-6th
Good.Clean.Friendly.Helpful.Afforable.SAFE.GreatBreakfast.Close to the train station. free wifi but it was spotty.
it might be in the heart of the red light district but its safe and clean. its not a crazy party hostel. so if thats what you are looking for this not a place for you. it is a christian hostel so they do have like a prayer session but you do not need to be apart of it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a conference. Having stayed here previous I was intrigued about its present condition.
It's still lovely. Good central location - friendly & helpful staff - good breakfast.
Bit of a faff having to show a piece of paper to gain entry. That's the only comment regarding improvements.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

I had a generally nice stay here for 4 nights. I particularly chose this hostel because it's not a party hostel and didn't want to worry about stoned and drunk people at bedtime. It's also within walking distance the Dam Square, metro, Central station, red light district and red light district.

The 4-bed female dorm I stayed in was clean and had comfortable beds. The ensuite bathroom, although small, had a really nice hot shower. The bathroom looked clean but smelled of pee (must be the pipe system?). Every morning, there are breakfast options (toast, muesli,or hot -pancakes, French toast), and coffee, tea and juice.

Although a Christian hostel, they don't push you to attend the bible discussions. I also really enjoyed the open mic night with free food.

For improvement: strengthen wi-fi (sketchy wi-fi in the room), a lobby perhaps for a mingling atmosphere, access cards instead of the paper you have to present every entry, help with luggage for the long flight of stairs

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Great place stop..could not fault the place its in a great location and cheap. We had a group of 12 and we only need a place to sleep at night which this place was great for doing, as soon as we booked up the staff was very helpful, emailed all the time with information and when we got there the guys on reception were also brilliant very helpful and friendly both checking in and checking out. Would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Shelter City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelter City

Address: Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, clean hostel in the centre of Amsterdam. Single-sex dormitories and rooms with 4-8 beds, some with en-suite bathrooms. 24 hour reception, cafe with cheap food and drinks, free use of lockers, great garden to hang out in with giant fish-pond! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Shelter City Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shelter City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.