We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely helpful people with a really comfy placce” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shelter City

Save Saved
You added The Shelter City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Shelter City
Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 173 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Extremely helpful people with a really comfy placce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

I cant say enough about this place. I came in on a saturday and they offered us a free tour of the city!!! It was so much fun. Then we came back to the hostel and talked over free hot chocolate and coffee! The staff is extremely helpful and kind. I was travelling alone and they made all the difference. They let me keep my keep at the hostel so i didnt have to deag it around all day!!they offer a free breakfast in the morning and the dinner prices are reasonable for amsterdam.
I would def come back and stay here and would recommend it to anyone looking for a decent place with a clean bed with a friendly and helpful and POLITE staff!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    73
    37
    12
    14
See reviews for
1
3
47
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I'm not religious so I wouldn't have normally picked this hostel but I booked 4 days before coming so I got "stuck" with this hostel. I have to say - GREAT location. Can't beat it. Took about 10 minutes walk from the train station so even if you have luggage its an easy walk. The people are nice and they let you leave your stuff since the rooms aren't ready till 1:30. Not the best place to meet people since most people that stay there are too busy reading their bibles but a good place to stay if you just need a bed. The mattress was pretty comfortable and the bathrooms were sort of clean. I think the best part was that it was very quiet even though its really near to a busy street.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are the best - very quiet. Try and get a room with 4 people since the rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

When my son had his first big international trip this Spring break he was doing about 6 major European cities in 10 days. With some advanced planning he located this Christian hostel in the heart of Amsterdam.
The room configurations are very versatile from bunk rooms to 4 and 6-person suites w/bath.
I was able to maintain email contact with Shelter City's reception (Jacoline was GREAT) when my son couldn't get a train reservation and would end up arriving a day late.
They pushed his reservation back a day and he & his travel mates actually did better getting a 4-person room to themselves. As a father trying to work these "minor" details from afar Jacoline's rapid and effective email contact made all the difference.
My son also liked the clean, safe &serious nature of this budget property/ hostel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiruna, Sverige
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

A hostel with a great location, located in red light district and about 10min walk from the central staition. Lots of shops, cafes and stores in the area. Clean rooms with sturdy beds and lockers just outside the rooms. Very secure hostel, allways locked and you need to show your pass to enter.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

It's near to or rather located in the Red Light District but it's very safe. They lock the door all the time and you will need to show the paper that they gave you on check-in before entering the hostel. It's close to restaurants and supermarket so we have no problem with food. They provide a free city map and the staffs are very kind and helpful. The breakfast is good but you may need to wait for 10-15 minutes if you are late as people wake up quite early to have their breakfast. Overall, it's a nice hostel with good location and clean room. The only thing that I am not happy with is that you can listen clearly to the noise of people walking in the corridor and this may disturb your sleep.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hostel feels like a remodeled convent with all the Christian sayings and crucifixes on the wall.. The rooms are pretty basic but they are very clean.. They are pretty strict with security and that's a great thing.. Location is amazing, breakfast is made to order.. It's not a party hostel, but it's a nice refuge from the craziness of the city

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location!! Close to everything. Don't come here hoping to meet a new travelling partner or someone to hold a decent conversation with. Unless you are Christian then you might get accepted. Friday nights are good, either a open mic night or free dinner and games. Although playing "I've never ever" in a Christian hostel isn't the most exciting way to spend a fri night. Rooms are fine, clean and not stuffy. Lockers are a tad small, had to take the front off of my 70l bag to get it in. Staff are helpful, they don't push the Whole Christian thing, just a quick mention on check in. If your looking for a party hostel this is not for you! It's nice to get away from the smell of cigarettes and marijuana, it's a little break from amsterdam! Breakfasts are good, as they are included. All in all a safe, quiet and relaxing hostel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Shelter City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelter City

Address: Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 173 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, clean hostel in the centre of Amsterdam. Single-sex dormitories and rooms with 4-8 beds, some with en-suite bathrooms. 24 hour reception, cafe with cheap food and drinks, free use of lockers, great garden to hang out in with giant fish-pond! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Shelter City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shelter City Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shelter City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.