We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY HERE AT YOUR OWN RISK!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mevlana

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mevlana to your Saves list
Hotel Mevlana
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Mevlana
Nieuwenzijds Voorburgwal 160, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #268 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Bremen, Germany
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“STAY HERE AT YOUR OWN RISK!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Woke up one night at 2:30am to a hand above my face attempting to steal my jacket which was next to my head! This was one of the most scariest life experiences I have ever had. The security allow access for anyone to enter the rooms from the street. I watched as this person moved from bed to bed in the dark as my roommates were sleeping. When I warned the staff about the incident the next day, they actually yelled at my face for making up lies about the security at their hotel. I later found out several people had things stolen that night. Stay away from this hotel please! I wouldnt wish for anyone to go through the experience that I endured here.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    19
    16
    11
    22
See reviews for
4
14
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hostel was located in a very good location almost in the Dam Square. The cafe downstairs was nice with relatively cheap prices. However, one of the receptionists (the morning shift) was very rude and unfriendly. The hostel would be ok if you are willing to use just for a sleep, but I guess you can find some other better places with the same price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

For a hostel, this is a very clean and well run place. The rooms are very small and cramped but it is a hostel (the name is a bit misleading) and the prices do reflect that. We stayed 4 nights in an 8 bed dorm, we pretty much only used the room for sleeping and showering so the limited space was not an issue. The beds were clean and quite comfortable and we were provided with towels which is always good.

The bathroom was kind of a negative, it was very small and not cleaned during our stay. But at least the shower worked well with good pressure and temperature.

Location is perfect, very central and easy to find but not on a noisy street either.

One major complaint is something which cannot really be helped by the hotel management: it is with the other guests who shared our room. This is Amsterdam so you will get young tourists who come just to drink and smoke, our first 3 nights were shared with a group of noisy teenagers who returned drunk at 5am and talked loudly until 6am... they did this 2 nights out of the 3... They also smoked in the room regularly... On the last morning we were actually told we were making too much noise even though it was 10am and we were packing as quietly as possible (checkout is at 11am!). Anyway, keep the risk of bad roommates in mind but since this is not the fault of the Hostel I did not lower my rating for it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

DON'T STAY HERE.The owner of the hostel was completly unreasonable and unfriendly. Two of the people on our trip had rung up several months before and had been quoted the same price for four of us for two nights. When we arrived the price suddenly went up by 50% for no reason. The explanation offered to us was that is was because we were only spending 2 nights and there was a minimum 3 night stay over the weekend, but we had made it completely clear when we booked over the phone that we'd only be there for 2 nights. Despite the misunderstanding the owner did not say sorry, did not offer any discount on the new expensive price and was rude and unfriendly. For the price we paid the place is small and dirty. The stairs are steep and narrow as well. I think the 'nice and helpful' staff that other people have mentioned in their reviews have long gone. Overall: DON'T STAY HERE.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Good location, cheap cafe downstairs that gives out plenty of coupons. Near everything you want to do.

I stayed in a room of 8. There was a room with two beds that had some personal space. My actual bed was in a room of 6 cramped bunk beds. There was no personal space and no room to even walk around or open your bag without being on top of someone else's stuff or bed. Not to mention, the bathrooms were gross. The air vents were full of dust, and I do not think the bathrooms had been cleaned in years.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Hostel great, very nice staff.
The room was clean with high-class bed sheets and comfortable mattresses. The room was quite small (6 people private room/shared bathroom on the floor) but for a short time stay for a sleep over it is ok. The stairs was really narrow and steep. Three nights minimum stay, little bit expensive w/o breakfast. Close to the train station 10 min walk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Hotel Mevlana was a great place for young travelers interested in seeing the main sites in Amsterdam. It could not have been more conveniently located. It was a 2 minute walk from Dam Square and 10 minute walk from the train station. 
The staff was really helpful in helping us with any special requests and was always eager to make our stay pleasant. 
The biggest drawback to the stay was the bathrooms. There is only one toilet and one shower for the floor (10+ people). This was inconvenient but not enough to make me say I wouldn't stay there again. 

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Restaurant, Cit...
Show More
Museumplein
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#121 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
Restaurant, Ind...
Show More
Red Light District
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#240 of 343 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 405 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
Jordaan
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#221 of 343 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quiet, Independ...
Show More
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#244 of 343 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
City Center, Bu...
Show More
Red Light District
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#119 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Independent Hot...
Show More
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#236 of 343 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mevlana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mevlana

Address: Nieuwenzijds Voorburgwal 160, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Budget Places, HostelBookers and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Mevlana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mevlana Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mevlana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.