We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel in very poor condition” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Crystal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Crystal to your Saves list
Hotel Crystal
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2e Helmersstraat 6, 1054 CH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #312 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
237 hotel reviews
Reviews in 179 cities Reviews in 179 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
“hotel in very poor condition”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

first, the good things about the hotel: the location is good. you can take tram 1 from central station and then walk 5 blocks to the hotel. you can also walk very easily to all the tourist sites in the center city. there is a lidl grocery store 2 blocks away which is very cheap. there ares some english tv channels including bbc and cnn. breakfast is from 8-10 and was fine: cols cuts and cheese on bread, cold cereal, milk, juice and coffee. the men at reception were always responsive and helpful and pleasant.
the bad: hotel is in disrepair and i never saw maintenance or cleaning staff. the toilet is in a tiny closet- i can't imagine how a tall or big person could possibly fit in the room. and the toilet seat was broken off completely- too bad if you're a woman!! there was no soap in the liquid soap dispensers in the room, toilet or shower room- bring your own soap and shampoo!! there's no wardrobe, no place to put your suitcase, no in-room safe as advertised- only 3 hooks on the wall, no hangars. no chair or desk in the room- just 2 single beds and a sink. my window was broken as was the handcrank. there was hair on the pillows and trash had not been emptied. there's no daily maid service or change of towel. the rug was filthy, wallpaper peeling, dim lights,thin walls.
the rate was good enough.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    30
    31
    34
    29
See reviews for
21
21
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Do NOT BOOK this hotel. They do not accommodate people according to their booking. I was asked to leave the hotel to find something else. They had 3 people to compete for one room! Scammers!!! Horrible experience for me and three other men. Where we could complain? Never use their web-site to book this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardboardhut
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

No problems with this place. Clean and quiet and a good location, and good price. The stairs are quite steep to get up and down, but this is common in Amsterdam. I spent my last night in the dorm which I wouldn't recommend because it's right next to the lobby and breakfast area so noisy in the early morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I booked this hotel with a fully refundable deal if cancelled ahead of the time. I cancelled my booking a month prior to the check in. What do I see? Charges on my credit card. More shocking was the amount on my credit card. They charged me the double of the whole stay! No contact to my emails.. I am going to sue them. Do not book this hotel. Pile of scammers.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The best thing going for this hotel is the location, right outside the inner canal loop. I was aware and prepared for the steep steps, shared facilities and no lift. The single room I was given on the fifth floor was updated and even roomy by European standards. The bathrooms were clean and the water was hot. When we arrived, however, they were remodeling the lobby, taking out the breakfast room to make more rental rooms. Breakfast was disappointing, and they wanted me to carry a plate with some cookies and a slice of cheese and hot coffee up those 4 flights of very steep stairs to eat in my room, haha. the advertised back patio was closed, and when I went looking for it, the older gentleman at the front desk very rudely told me I was not allowed back there. He was the only rude one though, the younger employees were very awesome and helpful with recommendations and even helped with the bags. It worked for the 2 nights I was there, but just next door was the Jupiter. I'm sure the rooms and situation is very similar, but the owner allowed us to come in and take a look and her property was so much nicer. She had an actual, and very beautiful, breakfast room and patio with gorgeous plants and flowers, and if it wasn't already full, I would have tried to move.

Room Tip: they advertise shared facilities, but really only one person at a time uses the facilities, there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The hotel is small but every hotel in Amsterdam are small. The room was only the bed and an a chair with a small table, no space for baggage. The most horrible thing was the bathroom. the shower was terrible, everytime I got a shower, the whole bathroom was flooded and you could see all the dirt up. We talked about this and no one helped. Breakfast is good. And location as well. But the negative is more than the positive, I wouldn't stayed there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

My best friend and I stayed here for a weekend in Amsterdam, the location is great, just 5 mins from Leiseplein and 10 from Rembrandtplein, the beds were so comfortable, perfect when you need a rest after a hard nights partying! The downside though was the shared toilet, it was a struggle to sit down and my knees were hitting the wall, so tiny, it was clean though! And the steep stairs were interesting! Overall, it was a good hotel, clean towels, clean bed sheets, plenty of TV channels in English and free breakfast and a hot drink! Just what you need for Amsterdam!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crystal

Address: 2e Helmersstraat 6, 1054 CH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #312 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Crystal 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Crystal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Crystal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.