We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what was advertised” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sara's Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sara's Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Sara's Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tweede Helmersstraat 6, 1054 CH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Crystal) (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #284 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not what was advertised”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The best thing going for this hotel is the location, right outside the inner canal loop. I was aware and prepared for the steep steps, shared facilities and no lift. The single room I was given on the fifth floor was updated and even roomy by European standards. The bathrooms were clean and the water was hot. When we arrived, however, they were remodeling the lobby, taking out the breakfast room to make more rental rooms. Breakfast was disappointing, and they wanted me to carry a plate with some cookies and a slice of cheese and hot coffee up those 4 flights of very steep stairs to eat in my room, haha. the advertised back patio was closed, and when I went looking for it, the older gentleman at the front desk very rudely told me I was not allowed back there. He was the only rude one though, the younger employees were very awesome and helpful with recommendations and even helped with the bags. It worked for the 2 nights I was there, but just next door was the Jupiter. I'm sure the rooms and situation is very similar, but the owner allowed us to come in and take a look and her property was so much nicer. She had an actual, and very beautiful, breakfast room and patio with gorgeous plants and flowers, and if it wasn't already full, I would have tried to move.

Room Tip: they advertise shared facilities, but really only one person at a time uses the facilities, there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    34
    35
    35
    31
See reviews for
22
34
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The hotel is small but every hotel in Amsterdam are small. The room was only the bed and an a chair with a small table, no space for baggage. The most horrible thing was the bathroom. the shower was terrible, everytime I got a shower, the whole bathroom was flooded and you could see all the dirt up. We talked about this and no one helped. Breakfast is good. And location as well. But the negative is more than the positive, I wouldn't stayed there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

My best friend and I stayed here for a weekend in Amsterdam, the location is great, just 5 mins from Leiseplein and 10 from Rembrandtplein, the beds were so comfortable, perfect when you need a rest after a hard nights partying! The downside though was the shared toilet, it was a struggle to sit down and my knees were hitting the wall, so tiny, it was clean though! And the steep stairs were interesting! Overall, it was a good hotel, clean towels, clean bed sheets, plenty of TV channels in English and free breakfast and a hot drink! Just what you need for Amsterdam!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byblos, Lebanon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I stayed there with two friends for three days, it's five minute walk away from leidseplein, and fifteen minute walk from Dam square, and two minute away from Vondelpark and the musuemplein and one minute away from a supermarket.
You get free wifi and free breakfast, new towels everyday, a private case in the room, private bathroom (because we chose the room with it),the room is warm in cold weather, and the reception staff are very nice and very friendly. Plus, the room had the most comfortable bed I ever slept in.
But there is some disturbing noises from other floors in the hotel and they clean your room in your absence without previous notice.
Overall, it's a really nice place to stay, and the receptionist always help with directions and other stuff. I recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlovy Vary, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Last year I was accommodated with friends at Hotel Crystal in Amsterdam. Hotel is set in a prime location in the centre of Amsterdam. Room was very commonly furnished but clean. In hotel is available high-speed wireless connection free of charge. It is a hotel, which is situated in good location and for a good price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We booked it through Expedia as a special offer. Room was very small however we only needed it for sleeping at night. The shower was very clean which we were happy about. About a ten min walk from the centre where all the shops are. We picked the hotel mostly due to the price and location. The breakfast was included eventhough it is very basic. Only complaint I have are the stairs. They're extremely steep however this is a very common thing in Amsterdam. Staff were very friendly and helpful, my bestfriend twisted her ankle and the receptionist helped us get up the stairs which was nice. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
NL Hotel District Leidseplein
#154 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
Vondelpark
Jupiter Hotel
Jupiter Hotel
#209 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#50 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Grand Hotel Downtown
Grand Hotel Downtown
#112 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 581 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#128 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Vondelpark
Alexander Hotel
Alexander Hotel
#153 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sara's Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sara's Boutique Hotel

Address: Tweede Helmersstraat 6, 1054 CH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Crystal)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #284 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sara's Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sara's Boutique Hotel Situated only 500 metres from the famous Leidseplein, Sara's Boutique Hotel is located in Amsterdam. It offers modern accommodation, housed in a classic canal house. Free WiFi access is available here. Rooms here offer king-size bedding, a 32 inch, flat-screen TV, a desk and a small seating area. The private bathroom comes with a shower and luxurious toiletries. Most of the rooms are also equipped with a balcony. Sara's Boutique Hotel is a 5-minute walk from the bus- and tram stop Raamplein. From here, a direct connection will bring you to the Central Station within 15 minutes. The Museum Quarter can be reached within 10 minutes. Schiphol Airport is 13.6 km away from this property. Oud-West is a great choice for travellers interested in cycling, museums and shopping ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Sara's Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sara's Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.