We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, simple, just what one needs for Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sara's Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sara's Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Sara's Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tweede Helmersstraat 6, 1054 CH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Crystal) (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #292 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome, simple, just what one needs for Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Fist of all, the losers who don't like this place because of the stairs are complete and utter donkeys. The stairs are the best part! Steep, small and hilarious! After a few hours of 'casually' sipping beers in a great city like Amsterdam, figuring out a way to climb those bad boys is an adventure in and of itself.
I love this place. Nice little breakfast, easy to find, friendly little guy at reception, even a couple of channels on the TV in English. Something to watch while I'm changing cloths or waking up, mainly Comedy Central. Plus, there are hardly any commercials on the channel so you can watch three episodes of Frasier in one hour. Never even knew I liked that show until this hotel.
Thank you Hotel Crystal!

Room Tip: This is not some place for high maintenance broads. Simplicity it key when I travel, and this place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    32
    31
    34
    30
See reviews for
22
25
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I booked a triple room for just 1 night for my partner and I and our 8 year old daughter. We were only in need of a base for the night for a short half term break. I am so glad it wasn't for any longer! The hotel itself was pretty grotty, our room had a strange smell, was covered in thick dust around the edges of the carpet and furniture and was home to more than its fair share of mould! One of the 3 beds was broken and the wardrobe door was hanging off.
I'm not particularly concerned about having lots of amenities within a short stay hotel room but this was definitely less than ideal.
In terms of location, as mentioned in other reviews, you can't get much better. It's central but also pretty quiet in the evenings.
The stairs were really very steep but we managed them fine. If this was a childless holiday and more booze had been drunk then there may have been a few more issue's clambering up them of a night!
Given a really good deep clean and bit of a spruce up then this hotel would be absolutely fine and well worth the money. In its current state though you're probably best off looking at other options.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is possibly one of the worst places I've ever stayed in. We paid 500 euros for two nights and found out that our room did not even have a private bathroom, instead we had to share the communal floor bathrooms. The carpets and table tops in our room were stained and the room did not generally look or feel clean. Our TV from the 1980's did not work and the smell of cigarettes was overpowering. We tried to cancel our second night and get a refund, but we were told that was not allowed.

Long story short, the location is great, but this is not a good hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Hotel Crystal has an ideal location and a quiet road but everything is so dated and almost doesn't work well. For a whole day and night our shared toilet had no paper, so we had to go upstairs, the carpets are very badly stained and are ripping on the stairs, our wardrobe was almost falling on top of us had it not been propped up by a piece of wood our window didnt stay open unless we had another piece of wood and the light above our sink didn't work.
Also the breakfast was very poor.
But the bed was comfortable and there was always hot water to shower with and the staff were helpful, with excellent free maps and tour guides. This hotel just needs a bit of love and a revamp to make the stay feel special and enjoyable not a "well, we're only sleeping here" sort of stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Honestly one of the worst place i have ever stayed in... Unprofesional staff, dirty rooms (mold and dust visible everywhere). We spent there two nights in summertime and next time i know we ll find other place to stay at. The only asset of this hotel is without any doubts its position. Location is just perfect. But there are similar hotels in this area where you pay same and get more. To avoid.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Avoid!
Only stay here if you enjoy the fishermen smells
Paid 110euros a night for a room without a toilet and pipes that are sounding like someone is drilling next door
When I asked to be refunded so the second night I got the I only work here and could not do anything as I should have read the small print and that I should not worry as I was sharing the floor only with one other person

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sara's Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sara's Boutique Hotel

Address: Tweede Helmersstraat 6, 1054 CH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Crystal)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #292 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sara's Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sara's Boutique Hotel Situated only 500 metres from the famous Leidseplein, Sara's Boutique Hotel is located in Amsterdam. It offers modern accommodation, housed in a classic canal house. Free WiFi access is available here. Rooms here offer king-size bedding, a 32 inch, flat-screen TV, a desk and a small seating area. The private bathroom comes with a shower and luxurious toiletries. Most of the rooms are also equipped with a balcony. Sara's Boutique Hotel is a 5-minute walk from the bus- and tram stop Raamplein. From here, a direct connection will bring you to the Central Station within 15 minutes. The Museum Quarter can be reached within 10 minutes. Schiphol Airport is 13.6 km away from this property. Oud-West is a great choice for travellers interested in cycling, museums and shopping ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Orbitz and Otel so you can book your Sara's Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sara's Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.