We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frustrating, disappointing experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sara's Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sara's Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Sara's Boutique Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tweede Helmersstraat 6, 1054 CH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Crystal) (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #303 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Seattle, WA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Frustrating, disappointing experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stay away. Rooms are tiny, dirty, hot in summer and (we've been told) often without warm water in winter. Absentee manager leaves the staff to deal with his neglect of the building and his indifference to guests' questions and requests. One staff member told us he was embarrassed to work there due to all the things that tend to go wrong. We showed up on a hot summer day and were given a tiny stifling room on the fourth floor whose window opened only a few inches. We asked repeatedly for a fan and were promised one before the evening by the manager, only to return from dinner to find a small plastic SPACE HEATER that screeched when turned on. Breakfast was cheap and disappointing. Go elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    30
    31
    34
    29
See reviews for
21
22
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a weekend break with a group of girlfriends. Although I must admit on first impressions I wasn't that impressed and probably wouldn't have booked it myself! I was really surprised, pleasantly I must add. I slept better than I have done in a long time, the beds were very clean and really comfortable, rooms were basic but clean and adequate . The staff were all very friendly and really helpful. Breakfast was basic but ok. The only fault I had with this hotel is that the stairs were very steep ( very common in Amsterdam as I found out in almost every bar I went into) and that the carpets were quite worn and stained! I would definitely return to the hotel Crystal as it was a short walk from most bars and restaurants A very enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Arrived in what seemed a very pleasant street the outside of hotel looked promising. Unfortunately things went downhill as we checked in. Irrespective of the access to the room (very steep stairs which were not an issue) the carpets in places were threadbare, damaged and stained. The room was just servicable, not really clean and everything in it was broken, in bad repair or required attention. Luckily bedding clean etc. Non ensuite room (which we knew on booking) but the toilet was that small it was unbelievable your knees were tight against wall in front and not particularly clean and the shower we did not even venture into..... Need we say more.......

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Don't expect too much from this hotel, you simply get what you paid for...
The room was basic and small with the bare minimum : a bed, a wardrobe, a TV and handwashing facilities,...well, considering the price there is not much to complain about.
However, there is room for improvement, for example, the main light of the room didn't work, also, the room gets very warm and because you can't open the window after 10pm it is a problem, it was clean as long as you are not a neat freak: there was some dust on the apparent parts of the furniture, the bed was okay but the mattress was very very soft, the wifi was inconsistent: it seemed to only work at certain times of the day.
The rooms are small and the walls are thin, so if you have noisy neighbours it can be a problem and it turned out to be as there were lots of young travellers (remember, this is a budget hotel!) talking or listening to music a little bit too loudly.
Regarding the common areas, the shower was okay but the toilets were tiny, maybe 1 sq. meter, I don't exaggerate, you need contorsionist skills to fit in and move, when sit down my legs touched the wall in front ! Seriously, how is it possible to offer such toilets in a hotel ?!
Beware of the stairs, they are very steep, it can be dangerous, especially for children and older people, but it is typical of lots of buildings in Amsterdam.
Decent breakfast and good location in a very "Dutch" part of the city, located 5 minutes away from Leidseplein - a wonderful place - you feel slightly away from the hustle and bustle of the Dam area but so close at the same time.
All in all, if you are looking for cheap accommodation in a city which is well-known for being expensive and if you are going to be out all day long exploring the city and just need a place to sleep, it is fine, otherwise, try something else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The stairs, room, and bathroom are all a joke. The shared bathroom is so small that you can't even sit down without your feet touching both the toilet and wall in front of you. Other than that, it is a nice clean hotel with a simple breakfast included everyday. The staff is incredibly nice and always willing to answer questions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

It was okay to stay, but stairs are very steep like climbing Everest. Breakfast was good.
I think room prices are a bit higher than this type of hotels. However It was okay to stay for two nights. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sara's Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sara's Boutique Hotel

Address: Tweede Helmersstraat 6, 1054 CH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Crystal)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #303 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sara's Boutique Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sara's Boutique Hotel Situated only 500 metres from the famous Leidseplein, Sara's Boutique Hotel is located in Amsterdam. It offers modern accommodation, housed in a classic canal house. Free WiFi access is available here. Rooms here offer king-size bedding, a 32 inch, flat-screen TV, a desk and a small seating area. The private bathroom comes with a shower and luxurious toiletries. Most of the rooms are also equipped with a balcony. Sara's Boutique Hotel is a 5-minute walk from the bus- and tram stop Raamplein. From here, a direct connection will bring you to the Central Station within 15 minutes. The Museum Quarter can be reached within 10 minutes. Schiphol Airport is 13.6 km away from this property. Oud-West is a great choice for travellers interested in cycling, museums and shopping ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sara's Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sara's Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.