We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No thrills but a good nights kip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quentin Arrive Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Quentin Arrive Hotel to your Saves list
Quentin Arrive Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Haarlemmerstraat 65, 1013 EL Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #240 of 349 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“No thrills but a good nights kip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed here twice on 2 long weekends away to Amsterdam. Having wanted somewhere to crash out after exploring it was perfect, only a 10 minute walk from Centraal station and a 15 minute stroll to Dam square.

The sizeable lobby gives off the feel of somewhere a little more plush, however the rooms were basic but clean. The staff were friendly enough, the Australian sounding lady was lovely and welcoming to all guests. The first time we had the shared bathroom, this wasn't ideal as the loo on the top floor is tiny and sharing the shower room was inconvenient. However, second time round we paid £10 more for a large, clean bathroom which I would recommend doing. Also, note the forth floor is a lot of stairs with no lift. It was good exercise but our larger friend wasn't too impressed ;).

Loads to do nearby, canals, bike rental next door, Subway & McDonalds 5 minutes away & we found the Dampkring coffee shop opposite one of the best! The popular argentinian steaks are also well worth trying!

Perfect hotel for our needs (small group of lads on a budget). However, I probably wouldn't recommend it for a romantic trip away.

Room Tip: Recommend paying extra for bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    130
    133
    59
    69
See reviews for
34
101
46
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

No room service, rooms' conditions not very good (peices falling apart). But nontheless, great location and kind people, but still too little for total price. Shshsjsoshdhdjdjdgdhdiejdidbdidbfifnfjfhh

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Quentin Arrive is well located near the center of Amsterdam, being about a 5-10 minute walk from the train station. The main lobby is well furnished and a good place to chill out before heading into the city.
The staff - in particular the Australian (English?) receptionist - were really friendly and an asset to the hotel. It's well worth asking their advice on places to visit, restaurants, and souvenir choices.
Rooms were basic but clean - as a student, I'd say they were far better than halls - and boast some incredibly comfy beds and HEATING.
To sum things up, I'd have no problem staying here again.

Room Tip: Avoid room near the front if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunboyne, Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is a great basic hotel. Clean, comparatively cheap, great location on Harlemmerstraat. Very friendly and competent staff. Two things to keep in mind:
1) There is no lift(elevator). Dutch stairs can be more like ladders.
2) Shared-facilities means you have to share the loo with the neighbors.

All that said, I've stayed here many times and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iasi, Romania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

The hotel it is located in good position,pretty central.The rooms are ok,nice clean.You cannot eat there but you still can drink a good coffee.Who wants to have a cheap hotel with good staff and reasonable conditions just go!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

The hotel is placed just far enough away from the centre to have a cheap price, but to still within easy walking distance.

There is a large lobby with friendly and helpful staff who were welcoming. The room was very cheap and for a solo traveller on a very limited budget it was ideal. My room was small and slim with no furniture other than the bed, a dressing table and a coffee table. The only clothing storage option was a slatted shelf attached to the wall, but this worked fine for hanging items from it and stacking them on top.

I was there several nights and the bedding was never changed. There was a towel in the room, although this was never changed either - perhaps it was not a part of the deal and had been left by a previous guest(?). After the second night I simply used the travel towel that I had brought in my luggage. The bedding was the same throughout the visit; it was never changed, but it was straightened up daily. There was a basin attached to the wall near the door, but this had no plug, something which made using it a trifle tricky. The tap did however always supply water; this ranged from cold to scalding, which is more than can be said for the shared shower. I only managed to have one, non-cold shower during my stay. The floor of the room was cigarette burnt and dirty; it could certainly have benefited from a good vacuuming.

I was staying on the third floor at the front, and this had a couple of disadvantages: firstly there was something of a climb up the narrow, steep stairs (no lift) - not something I'd like to try while drunk; secondly, the front of the hotel skyline was lit by two arc lights fitted to the building opposite. These shone right into the window and lit up the room as though day-lit even through the curtains. In the end I found a suitable use for the dirty towel attaching it to the curtains (no curtain rail).

I was using the hotel as a base for exploring Amsterdam and surrounding towns so as a place to crash it was fine for my purposes. The only downside was the parties by drugged-up teenagers in the room next door - which must have been much bigger and suitable for six to stay in. These parties started around 11PM and usually ended around 4AM. I suspect this is a problem for hotels in Amsterdam generally, but as this hotel is on the budget end, and the room seemed to have been sub-divided at some point in the past the noise absorbency of the rooms was, essentially, nil.

Overall the room was adequate for the money paid for it, the only issue I had was with the guest next door and this is hardly the fault of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as near to the ground floor as possible and away from the stairs, bathroom and shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I loved this place people talking about shared bathroom obviously booked the cheaper holiday which clearly states that it is shared bathroom! I payed that little bit extra and got private shower and bathroom and breakfast. We will certainly be returning next year! Great location loads of coffee shops local!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Quentin Arrive Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quentin Arrive Hotel

Address: Haarlemmerstraat 65, 1013 EL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 349 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Quentin Arrive Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is housed in a beautiful 19th century building, in the middle of a 650-year-old street. The rooms are well equipped with modern facilities to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible. The hotel is located close to the Central Station, near to all Amsterdam's highlights such as the Royal Palace, Dam square, Red Light District, shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. You will have a variety of restaurants, bars and cafes right outside the hotel door. The hotel offers many services and facilities such as free wireless internet throughout the building, tickets to various museums and activities, a continental breakfast and free city maps. Our reception is always open (24/7) and we will be happy to help you if you will need any additional services, facilities or information. The location is perfect to explore the city and our staff will make sure your stay in Amsterdam is one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Budget Places, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, EasyToBook, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Quentin Arrive Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quentin Arrive Amsterdam
Quentin Arrive Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quentin Arrive Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.