We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and Central but overall brilliant!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quentin Arrive Hotel

Save Saved
You added Quentin Arrive Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Quentin Arrive Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Haarlemmerstraat 65, 1013 EL Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #237 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Basic and Central but overall brilliant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Myself and my partner were slightly worried about the reviews after we had booked this hotel.
Anyway we caught the train from Schiphol Airport, straight to Centraal Station.

It says the hotel is a 15 minute walk from Centraal Station, it's no where near that more like 5 minutes at a slow pace! We arrived early and were met by one of the staff, who at first was dealing with another guest who was a tad difficult but after seeing we were just there to sleep and knew what we had booked, the lady was friendly. She informed housekeeping to clean our room so we could get in A.S.A.P. within an hour we had gone in to our room.

Now I must say people moaning about no lifts and very narrow/steep stairs need to read exactly what buildings in Amsterdam are like they are very tall and thin it's been that way long before you and I had set foot there!

The Australian lady who was then on reception had the same difficult customer and was a tad stressed, when I went to ask if I could borrow a hairdryer. She apologised for huffing which is fine we all have those days.

It's ideally located enough of a distance away from the red light district but close enough. The night porter is a friendly guy and always says hello.

We never waited more than 5 mins for the shower, we didn't watch the tv as were out day and most of the night exploring this city. Do not let the bad reviews put you off!

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    105
    116
    53
    60
See reviews for
24
81
37
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The rooms are very small and not comfortable at all. There´s no elevator and the stairs are extremely risky and carry the baggage to the 4th floor without any problem is almost an Olympic effort. Shared bathrooms are simple and ok but not enough for all hotel guests needs. The location it’s quite good but for that price make a favor to yourself and look for other places.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Very small, noisy, cheap. It's clean enough, very close to the center. Steep Stairs, no safe. It's ok for people, who want to spent their money rather in coffeeshops or window shopping than for the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Our third stay, my brother is asperser/autistic, and finds this hotel reassuring to stay in. Away from the red light district, the door staff keep a close eye on things so no dodgy activity goes on in the hotel; plus the door locks are good, so we both feel very safe there.
We on a tight budget and this hotel is significantly cheaper; therefore we not complaining about the very basic facilities or because it's not so plush; the foyer does look good though and the manageress seems genuinely pleased to welcome us. Corridor doors a bit bangy, but once in their rooms you hear hardly noise from residents.
A city centre location, easy walk from Central Station. Of course you get some urban noise but I don't mind, being a cyclist city, traffic noise is a lot less than you'd expect. At night all goes quiet, except the odd rowdy passerby, compared to other big city noise and smog this location in Amsterdam is a pleasant experience; and you will get to hear some wonderful church bells.
It’s in a popular shopping and ‘coffee shop’ area; my brother loves them... so in the street you do get lots of people coming and going until about midnight, however mornings are surprisingly quiet until about 10am. Coffee shops have security staff and owners keeping a very close eye so this area feels even safer at night.
I keep my room clean and tidy, but the bin was emptied every day; my brother is very messy and his room got a going over every day. Oh yes, heating worked excellently, radiators kept my room very cosy.
We had 3 warm days, and those lovely big windows that open fully giving you a sense of freedom and openness, good for people watching or laying on the bed sky watching.
Yes we definitely were going again next year.

Room Tip: Like many Amsterdam buildings, tall with lots of stairs, so ask for a lower floor room if you find t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed here last week for two days. Arrived a lot earlier than the check in time, but they found us a room that was already cleaned so we could get unpacked and off on our adventure. Shared shower and loo - not too much of a problem, apart from people from other floors coming to ours as theirs was full.
Rooms small and clean, no tea making facilities - in short, if you expect luxury, then pay more and go elsewhere. Personally - we loved it here, so friendly, great breakfast and right in the heart of things.

Room Tip: ask for first floor - the stairs are a nightmare and there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

no lift and room on top floor was a struggle but staff very pleasant and informative the hotel is very central though. nice deli over road called vinys. towels a bit small. enjoyed amstedam. good tibetan meal at snow lion



  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quentin Arrive Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quentin Arrive Hotel

Address: Haarlemmerstraat 65, 1013 EL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Quentin Arrive Hotel 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is housed in a beautiful 19th century building, in the middle of a 650-year-old street. The rooms are well equipped with modern facilities to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible.The hotel is located close to the Central Station, near to all Amsterdam’s highlights such as the Royal Palace, Dam square, Red Light District, shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. You will have a variety of restaurants, bars and cafés right outside the hotel door.The hotel offers many services and facilities such as free wireless internet throughout the building, tickets to various museums and activities, a continental breakfast and free city maps. Our reception is always open (24/7) and we will be happy to help you if you will need any additional services, facilities or information.The location is perfect to explore the city and our staff will make sure your stay in Amsterdam is one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Otel and Venere so you can book your Quentin Arrive Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quentin Arrive Amsterdam
Quentin Arrive Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quentin Arrive Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.