We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wuentin arrive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quentin Arrive Hotel

Save Saved
You added Quentin Arrive Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Quentin Arrive Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Haarlemmerstraat 65, 1013 EL Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #237 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“wuentin arrive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

no lift and room on top floor was a struggle but staff very pleasant and informative the hotel is very central though. nice deli over road called vinys. towels a bit small. enjoyed amstedam. good tibetan meal at snow lion



  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    100
    110
    50
    59
See reviews for
26
82
37
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I was impressed with the room's cleanliness. It's location is brilliant as it is right in the heart of amsterdam and about 15 mins walk from dam square. Coffee was 2.50Euro but I think it should have been free with room. Not recommended to stay here if you are a light sleeper as there are bikes and cars going up and down the street right through the night and no double glazing to keep the din out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed there for 4 nights, and here is the review:
Pros:
* Central Location
* Cheap Price
* Decent sized rooms
* Within walking distance to everything in town
* lots of both English and Dutch tv channels

Cons:
* Very rude staff
* Dirty Rooms
* No TV remote, no towels, no soap, no hair dryer, no clock,
* no elevator, dragged luggage 3 stories up
* narrow stairs
* Loud and noisy
* Paper thin walls, next door could hear our tv and we could hear theirs

We (3 people) stayed here end of April 2013. Upon arriving at 9:30am from our train, we were told we were too early. We tried to tell her we were just planning to leave our bags and come back. She then proceed to tell us she is busy. We stood around waited, then she very angrily said, what do you want? We told her we just wanted to leave our bags, again. She then said, can't you wait? I am by myself and I am busy. She then helped someone with their breakfast, the person said something to her in Dutch, which we did not understand. After she was done, suddenly her attitude change. Anyway, we were able to leave our bags and came back later in the day.

We came back about 7pm, and were told by a different staff that she can't find our reservation. We were very confused, but she let's us check in anyway (??), and then said maybe someone had checked us in. After checking her computer again, she said, oh, someone else had checked us in, but the forms are not filled and questioned why we did not fill the forms. We asked if the forms not filled, how can anyone check us in? She then proceed to give long excuses about how difficult their system is, and we won't get it. I then told her, maybe in the future, if another staff checks people in without their signature, just write a sticky note so other staff would know. She then goes into another long excuses about how their system is very difficult to work with, how it does not help, and how she didn't understand why this is the case. We were very concerned at that point, but just wanted to check in after a long day. We asked her for the key to the luggage room, which she gaves and then still kept talking about how difficult it is to work with their system. Honestly, by that point, I didn't want to hear any more excuses. After getting our room key first, we went to the basement area to get our luggage. We proceeded to walk up to the room with our luggage and she stopped us midway, and said we need to show ALL of our passports first before going up to the room. I asked her since we already half way up, can't we come back down immediately? She said no, since she can't let us go into the room without seeing ALL of our passports. Again, I don't understand why she gaves the room key without seeing all of our passports first. After checking our passport, I told her maybe would be best in the future, she tells clients what she needed first. She then gave another long excuse about she didn't know we would go straight to our room after getting our luggage and key (??), and she thought we would ALL came back to return the luggage room key first. She also said, if any concerns we should come to her.

There was no towel, very little soap left in the dispenser, and no tv remote in the room. We went downstairs to ask for towels, the desk staff assured us there are towels, but we said there are none. She tried to argue, which we really didn't get. We asked if we need to come back down to get it or if she will deliver. She promised they will deliver. 1 hour passed, still no towel. We went down to retrieve it, and the towel room was next to the desk area! By the way, the red carpet in the room still has crumbs from the last guest, so I guess they don't vacuum once a day. You can ask to borrow hair dryer from the front desk, which we did.

Overall, the hotel is in very central location. There are 2 grocery stores within 5 minutes walking distance, train/bus station is 5 minutes the other way, and the tourist area is within 8 minutes. The room is decent size for 3 people, although the beds were extremely soft. The area is loud though, trash pick up in the middle of the night and people still out partying across the street very late into the evening.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Hotel was ok for the price the manager was like basil faulty but a very good location as you had all the coffee shops near by and the train station not far, right across the road from barneys and dampkring and also next door to pop-eyes, Prime location to all the amenities and red light district just down road if you fancy a bit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

It's a great hotel right at the top of the city, 5 min walk from central station. The stuff is friendly and efficient. The hotel gets cleaned 3 times a day, so no stinky smells. It is Amsterdam and everyone smokes weed, so don't be surprised to smell it in the hotel as the smell comes from the streets and other rooms. Only minus is that some tobacco smokers smoked in the toilet, not cool. As the hotel located on the busy street, don't expect to have a quiet sleep, we could sleep thanks to loads of weed and space cakes, after all we came in Amsterdam to smoke da herb :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Hotel was fine, cheap and cheerful, BUT I ended up paying a different price to the one stated on the website when I arrived! Please can u clarify this as on the website it said £62 and then when I arrived I paid £74.05p!

It's not the money it's the point that the online price was different!

Overall the hotel was exactly as I expected and in a good location no more than 5/10 min walk to central
Station.

Can someone from customer service please respond and find out what happend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quentin Arrive Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quentin Arrive Hotel

Address: Haarlemmerstraat 65, 1013 EL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Quentin Arrive Hotel 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is housed in a beautiful 19th century building, in the middle of a 650-year-old street. The rooms are well equipped with modern facilities to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible.The hotel is located close to the Central Station, near to all Amsterdam’s highlights such as the Royal Palace, Dam square, Red Light District, shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. You will have a variety of restaurants, bars and cafés right outside the hotel door.The hotel offers many services and facilities such as free wireless internet throughout the building, tickets to various museums and activities, a continental breakfast and free city maps. Our reception is always open (24/7) and we will be happy to help you if you will need any additional services, facilities or information.The location is perfect to explore the city and our staff will make sure your stay in Amsterdam is one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Otel and Venere so you can book your Quentin Arrive Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quentin Arrive Amsterdam
Quentin Arrive Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quentin Arrive Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.