We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape the tourist ghetto” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Asterisk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Asterisk to your Saves list
Hotel Asterisk
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Den Texstraat 16, 1017 ZA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #178 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Melbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Escape the tourist ghetto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2006

We were given a small room with a double bed with its side to the wall - it was too small, we tried a room with two single beds instead and they were a lot better. The staff were easy to talk to and helpful. Even if you are a couple, book a twin room to avoid the cramped double. The view onto the street is superb and reflects traditional Amsterdam archetecture. The breakfast facilities are good and as the area is away from the touristy Dam Square, you can get food nearby at reasonale prices. Van Woustraat contains many cheap places to eat. There is a wonderful market nearby on Albert Cuypstraat.

There is only one other hotel on the same street, the rest is residential. There are very few cars at night. Watch out for the stairs - they are the steepest we ever saw. There is a lift in one part of the hotel but not in the other.

Near Rijks and van Gogh museums. Easy to catch trams from or walk if you are half fit.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    134
    68
    17
    13
See reviews for
32
75
49
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2005

We stayed here on a one-night lay-over in Amsterdam. Since we wouldn't be spending much time in the room, we looked for something not too expensive. We also wanted a room close to the museums so we could go to one before checking out in the morning. Our room was relatively large and clean. There were a few chairs, a table, a desk, and storage furniture to put your clothes away. The windows were large, could be opened, and afforded a view of the courtyard. The room was quiet and equipped with a television and telephone. Ours was called a deluxe, twin room. The "twin" refers to the two twin beds pushed together. The "deluxe" part probably referred to the room's large size and the shower (I think some rooms had only a tub.) The room was basic -- nothing fancy or attractive. The walls were cement-like -- reminiscent of those in dorm rooms. The mattresses were not very firm, but O.K. for one night. The sheets were heavy and smelled fresh. The bathroom was immaculate with well-working fixtures and nice tile. There was complimentary soap, shampoo, and shower gel. There was good security. (A card had to be used for the outside door, a door to the area of our floor that the room was in, and the room's door.) The breakfast room was very attractive. The breakfast was typically Dutch -- nothing special (cereals, breads, cheese, and meats), but the coffee was good. The staff was very helpful and friendly. A plus for this hotel was its use of the Connexxion hotel shuttle service, which is very convenient, and though it seems pricey, saves money and/or aggravation when compared to cab/train or tram/train. The person at the desk booked our return ride when we checked in and printed out a confirmation on the computer printer. Our ride to the hotel was the typical hotel shuttle ride with other travelers stopping at other hotels, but the ride to the airport was a private luxury van ride with a friendly, talkative driver. Another plus was proximity to the museums and the canal bus. My main complaint was that we stayed in the annex, which smelled of smoke, as did our room. I am not sure whether there are designated non-smoking rooms (Amsterdam has many smokers.) For anyone looking for something basic, clean, convenient, safe, and inexpensive, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2005

Paid for a triple room and then hotel staff tried to charge us even more because we used the extra bed. We used the extra bed because the mattress on the double bed was so worn two people couldn't sleep in it without rolling into each other. The breakfast was meagre and the staff stingy. The overall feel of this hotel is cheap with just enough decoration to pass for something like a 1-star hotel. Not recommended.

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2005

This was my second stay at the Asterisk. The first was in 2001. It appears that they have updated the rooms since the last stay. We were in a room with a shared bathroom. This means that the toilet and shower are in the hall and shared with one other room. The rooms that share the bathroom still have a sink in the room. The rooms are on the small side, but this is fairly common in Amsterdam. Even with the small size they had ample closet space, and good table/shelf space. If you pay with cash breakfast is included. Breakfast is mainly breads and rolls, butter, cheese, lunch meat, coffee and juice. It wasn't the best breakfast and we started skipping the hotel food and going out into the city after the second or third day.

This hotel has a friendly staff, an elevator which is great for getting your bags up to your room, and is in a great location. The hotel is close to several tram lines, is in a quiet residential neighborhood, and is within a pleasent walking distance of the museum quarter.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daytona beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2005

Have been going to this hotel for 10 years now. It is very quiet and on a neighborhood street where you will find other city dwellers. Convenient and close to everything a five minute tram ride to dam square and the RLD. A great budget hotel with a nice staff ask for a room in the annex a little more private as it is adjacent to the hotel. Also a good breakfast to get you going in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2005

Quiet and close to the famous museums (Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum)

Stay from April 20 to April 23, 2005: the hotel is located close to the famous museums at approximately 35 minutes at foot of the rail station, in a street quiet and attended well. Our room was located in the annexe on the 2nd floor (very stiff staircase). We divided the shower and the WC with another room but apparently it was free thus no problem to reach it. We had two simple beds and a washbasin in the room. Good bedding and clean room with simple but neat decoration. Breakfast included in the price if cash payment. Large choice for breakfast. Welcoming and helpful staff. In conclusion : An hotel at an accessible price (65 euros per night), quiet and clean. We are delighted by our stay.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2005

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Asterisk. They were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great. Very small, but clean and comfortable room. We shared a clean bathroom with one other room, and we never even had to see or wait for the other people. We would return in a heartbeat. Great for the budget traveler who enjoys quality and doesn't want a party atmosphere.
Ask for a first floor room if you have trouble with stairs.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Kap
Hotel Kap
#267 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#76 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#140 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Hotel V Frederiksplein
#136 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 864 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#99 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,338 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#252 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Asterisk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asterisk

Address: Den Texstraat 16, 1017 ZA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Asterisk 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm welcoming hotel, frienly and helpfull reception, located in a quiet street in the center of Amsterdam. Rooms for all budgets, small and large rooms, with and without private facilities. Close to the booming "Pijp" area. At walking distance to nightlife and museumarea. Free Wifi, good buffet breakfast. Main building has an elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Asterisk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asterisk Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Asterisk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.