We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amsterdam house” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Asterisk

Save Saved
You added Hotel Asterisk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Asterisk
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Den Texstraat 16, 1017 ZA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
winnipeg
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Amsterdam house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Nice Amsterdam house with gorgeous eating area. If you want a Holiday Inn suite go to the holiday inn. My room was tiny but I loved it. It had what I needed. I booked a room with a shared toilet, upon arrival they said it was double booked and gave me a room with a full bathroom. Even better! Staff were kind. Cleaning lady and I chatted one day before I was going to nap and she went above and beyond to get me fresh towels and another blanket before I lay down. The location is walking distance to the Red Light, Anne Frank and lots of other stuff but tucked away to be very quiet and mellow at night. I would go back to this hotel again.

Only issue: no idea how to get consistent heat from heater... it was very finicky...

Room Tip: The website includes the size of the room. If you don't want a small room, ensure you book a la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    120
    61
    16
    11
See reviews for
22
60
35
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Stayed here for a recent weekend break, the hotel was clean, the staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was okay, not too much choice but to be expected with continental. Great value for money overall, the shared bathrooms were not an issue as we didn't have to queue and were able to use them freely when we needed to. This was one thing we were worried about! The hotel is in an ideal location also, only 15/20 minute walk from centre and less than 10 mins on the tram. Would stay again but only again for a short break.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Horel is very nice and clean and breakfast is realy good. But check the officil site before booking! we booked at hotels.com and thought that everuthing would be ok. But we got shared bathroom and extremly small room (the bed for 2 was 1.3 meter width). Luckily the hotel staff was very helpful and helped us to upgrate our room

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed with 2 girlfriends got 50th birthday. In quiet street, hotel had nice staff, clean good size room, excellent continental breakfast only thing missing was a toaster. Near to carlsburg experience . Would go again

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

If you're a museum buff and plan on spending time in the Rijsmuseum or the Van Gogh, this is ideally located. It is a short walk from Vondelspark and Leidesplein.

The rooms are quite basic and small. The price reflects what is offered so it is worth it if you will be out seeing the sites and do not intend on spending any time in your room except to sleep.

The staff is young and helpful. The breakfast is decent.

Ideal for the budget traveller.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Room small but clean, staff very friendly and helpful...went for English speaking driving lessons with Driveright who collected me at the door.After a weekend of driving around Amsterdam(opposite side of the road) I was only too glad to return to my comfy space and chill with TV.Don't forget to help yourself to discount cards in reception and buy your tram ticket there too....it saves time and money.I loved my weekend and felt safe alone at all times.This hotel is near enough to everything, but far enough from things you might not want to do.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Basic hotel room but nice, clean and quiet! Very friendly service. Perfect if you, like me, spend the whole of the day in the city and only just need a place to sleep and have breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Independent Hot...
Show More
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Kap
Hotel Kap
#255 of 343 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
1-star, Museump...
Show More
Museumplein
Hotel Museumzicht
Hotel Museumzicht
#184 of 343 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
Stadsdeel Zuid
Bema Rentals
Bema Rentals
#160 of 343 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charming, Quiet...
Show More
Museumplein
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#194 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 325 reviews
City Center, Mi...
Show More
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#81 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Independent Hot...
Show More
Rembrandtplein
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#150 of 343 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Asterisk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asterisk

Address: Den Texstraat 16, 1017 ZA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Asterisk 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm welcoming hotel, frienly and helpfull reception, located in a quiet street in the center of Amsterdam. Rooms for all budgets, small and large rooms, with and without private facilities. Close to the booming "Pijp" area. At walking distance to nightlife and museumarea. Free Wifi, good buffet breakfast. Main building has an elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, HotelsNL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Asterisk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asterisk Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Asterisk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.