We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and ideal for solo travel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Asterisk

Save Saved
You added Hotel Asterisk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Asterisk
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Den Texstraat 16, Amsterdam 1017 ZA, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good value and ideal for solo travel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Room small but clean, staff very friendly and helpful...went for English speaking driving lessons with Driveright who collected me at the door.After a weekend of driving around Amsterdam(opposite side of the road) I was only too glad to return to my comfy space and chill with TV.Don't forget to help yourself to discount cards in reception and buy your tram ticket there too....it saves time and money.I loved my weekend and felt safe alone at all times.This hotel is near enough to everything, but far enough from things you might not want to do.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    120
    61
    16
    11
See reviews for
22
60
35
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Basic hotel room but nice, clean and quiet! Very friendly service. Perfect if you, like me, spend the whole of the day in the city and only just need a place to sleep and have breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Good location, 30 min to central station or 15min by tram. Near to museumplein (15min on feet). The breakfast is really nice!!
It's ok to stay few days but not if you want to be quiet, it's really really noisy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Asterisk. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the location was good. Our room was small, but then we did go for the budget option, but it was clean and we were given lots of towels. The only downside was that the shared bathrooms need updating.
The breakfast buffet consisted of a very full continental-style breakfast. I would recommend this place for a city-break on a budget.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

It was so expensive for the type of the rooms. The location was correct, the service was correct, the breakfast was normal. It was a small room, and not very big, very normal room an without bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irma B, Owner at Hotel Asterisk, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. I understand that you stayed in a budget room with shared facilities. The budget rooms are indeed smaller than the rooms with private facilities. Prices are flexible, and depend on moment of reservation and number of rooms left, just like airplaintickets. When you were in Amsterdam, a major congress was held in RAI, which increased prices just like in high season. It is a pity that you did not like the roomtype, because of the absense of a shower and toilet, where this was the roomtype you reserved. Further, I am thankful that you shared your satisfaction on location, breadfast and service.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Pros
-great location on quiet street yet not faraway from attractions
-deluxe room was big compared to prize
-decent breakfast
-helpful staff

Cons
-bathroom was out of date
-noise from other rooms can be easily heard
-there were some insects in the room, not sure what (we kept windows open whole time, though)

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stay at Asterisk was very pleasant and stress free what is the most important. Also, location is very good as well as you only minutes away from all the night life and if you rent a bike you also minutes away from the main Amsterdam station as well as city center.

Check-in was very smooth and fast. We were also able to leave our bags in the storage and head to city straight away. Staff was really polite and helpful. Also, Emelie added extra mile to suggest any places of interest to visit or any other assistance needed and asked if anything else she can help us with. I am working in London within 4-5* hotels for over 4 years and really would be able to be picky but at The Hotel Asterisk there was nothing to pick up on something.

Free wi-fi, also we needed to check out 30min later, as I was getting my car from car park my fiancee needed to stay in the room so, it did not cause any inconvenience for the hotel.

Definitely, would recommend!

Thanks for all the staff and Emelie. ALL THE BEST FOR YOU!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Asterisk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asterisk

Address: Den Texstraat 16, Amsterdam 1017 ZA, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Asterisk 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm welcoming hotel, frienly and helpfull reception, located in a quiet street in the center of Amsterdam. Rooms for all budgets, small and large rooms, with and without private facilities. Close to the booming "Pijp" area. At walking distance to nightlife and museumarea. Free Wifi, good buffet breakfast. Main building has an elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Asterisk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asterisk Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Asterisk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.