We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rating the Asterisk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Asterisk

Save Saved
You added Hotel Asterisk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Asterisk
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Den Texstraat 16, Amsterdam 1017 ZA, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
“Rating the Asterisk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The hotel had a great location to visit Amsterdam and the desk was very helpful in helping us find different locations, We plan to stay there again on our next visit. Also, the breakfast was good and we will recommend the Asterisk to our friends,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    120
    61
    16
    11
See reviews for
22
60
35
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windermere, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The hotel was in a very good location if you want to go to the Van Gogh museum and Rijks museum. Very close to canal boat trip and bike hire. Hotel receptionist was lovely and very helpful. The room was a decent size. The stairs were ridiculously steep but there is a tiny elevator which helps a great deal. Very clean. Breakfast was adequate. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I booked Asterisk Hotel based on the reviews and the location and that proved a wise decision. Firstly the video directions on the website were brilliant - had no problems finding the place. The room was a single with shower and was larger than expected - VERY CLEAN AND TIDY.
Staff are excellent and very helpful - sure breakfast isn't a full Buffett but its more than adequate. I will recommend the Asterisk to anyone travelling to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We were deciding between staying in a hostel or an affordable hotel for 2 girls, and we finally settled on Hotel Asterisk.

The location was good. It was near to Central by tram, yet far enough in a quiet neighborhood. The Heineken Experience was just a 5min walk away. From the airport, we took Bus 197 and changed to tram 7 or 10 at Leidseplein.

Check-in was a breeze and we were given free maps at the reception. We were early, so we left our luggage in the luggage storage area and went to explore the area before heading back. Our rooms were on the 2nd floor at the next building but that was no issue to us as we traveled light with just cabin bags. The steps were steep, but I understand that this was a common design (and problem) in most buildings in Netherlands.

Our twin rooms were basic and very small. Space was tight if both of us wanted to open up our luggage. There is a sink in the room which was great for us to wash up in the mornings. The shared bathroom was just outside the room and we had no problems having to use the shower. The bed was clean and comfortable enough to give us a good night rest.

Breakfast was at the main building and they serve the same menu every morning. But it was enough to fill us with cereal, juices, assorted toast, boiled eggs, ham and cheese, and coffee/tea.

In conclusion, this hotel fits all our basic requirements. Clean rooms, near amenities and transport, value for money with breakfast. It's definitely a better alternative to hostels for the price we paid for a twin room. Suits anyone with a tight budget and traveling light with small suitcase. :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Asterisk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asterisk

Address: Den Texstraat 16, Amsterdam 1017 ZA, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Asterisk 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm welcoming hotel, frienly and helpfull reception, located in a quiet street in the center of Amsterdam. Rooms for all budgets, small and large rooms, with and without private facilities. Close to the booming "Pijp" area. At walking distance to nightlife and museumarea. Free Wifi, good buffet breakfast. Main building has an elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Asterisk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asterisk Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Asterisk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.