We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd happily stay here again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Asterisk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Asterisk to your Saves list
Hotel Asterisk
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Den Texstraat 16, 1017 ZA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #186 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
pepperland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“I'd happily stay here again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The hotel is ideally situated re: the tram lines (it's about 1 min walk from the intersection of the north south and the east west line) It's 5 tram stops from central station/2 stops from Leidseplien/1 stop from the Museum district).
The hotel is on a quiet residential street so, even with the widows wide open at night in a room at the front of the hotel, we were not disturbed.
The staff couldn't have been friendlier and more helpful (HI Kimo. Hi Jay)
I've seen criticisms of the "basic breakfast' that is available. I can't understand this! The breakfast buffet was great! Coffee is always freshly made and the jugs are always topped up. Other hot drinks are available. Bolied eggs. Fruit juices. Apples. Cereal (including Sugar Puffs!). Yoghurt. Cheese, Cold meat. Hot milk. Cold meat. Cheese. Lots of different breads. Raisin bread. Honey. Jam. A toaster would have been nice though.
Hotel is really clean. Beds are made up daily.
The bed rooms are a *little* bit tired looking but this isn't a huge criticism at all. They were fine. Comfy beds. The room we had was a triple so it was big enough. This is central-ish Amsterdam so the rooms are going to be huge anyway!
Really steep stairs (but, again, this is central Amsterdam. I wouldn't like to get a pram or a sofa up and down them but .... a suitcase and a backpack and myself was a breeze.
Shower was great. Hot water every time.
There's free WiFi in the rooms and a free internet terminal at reception.
If you pay by Visa Debit card, you'll still get stung for the 4% surcharge that you'd expect for paying with a credit card. Sneaky!!
I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irma B, Owner at Hotel Asterisk, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words. They are very inspiring, so we bought a toaster!
Hope to welcome you again,

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    126
    65
    17
    13
See reviews for
31
70
46
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This hotel was a perfect location for us. Within a very easy walk of the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum on a quiet side street. It is also in the shadow of the Heineken brewery. We walked or took trams everywhere.

Three members of our family stayed here for five days. Mum, dad and 18 year old son. We stayed in a triple room. The room size was good - I have had tighter squeezes in much fancier and more expensive hotels. No tea making facilities in the room - but we survived. There is no air conditioning but we were fine with the windows opened. (middle of August) There really was no noise from the street to keep us awake.

The stairs ARE steep and if that freaks you out - take the lift. This is an old and traditional Amsterdam residence that has been converted into a hotel so steep stairs are normal to residents of the city.

The reception staff were all delightful and charming. They were keen to help us in any way they could and really wanted us to enjoy our stay in Amsterdam. Good coupons for tourist attractions at reception. We booked a museum ticket at the front desk which allowed us to jump a HUGE queue at the Van Gogh Museum.

Nice breakfast room with plenty of variety. No cooked breakfasts for the fans of a fry up. Everything was spotlessly clean. Other hotel guests were so quiet it felt as if we were the only ones there. It was startling to see other people at breakfast because we never heard them.

The hotel is in such a prime location, is good value for money and the staff are so charming that it is firmly our hotel of choice when making any return visits.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irma B, Owner at Hotel Asterisk, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review, it helps us to improve our service. Unfortunately that you did not mention that you missed tea facilities, they are on demand and we would have been able to get them to your room, as well as for instance a hairdryer.
We hope to welcome you some other time,

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fauske
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

We had a long stay here this month, a whole 9 nights, and we had a small room with a small toilet and shower, but we didn't spend much time at the hotel, so it didn't matter that the size was small. The breakfast was good, but also there a very small selection of food, so it got kinda boring quickly :p I think they should have changed on the beds more often, cause they said they only did it every 4th day, and that's not so good I think :p the staff was friendly, the helped us with everything, tram tickets, taxi, booking tours for us and everything :) I would recommend this hotel for my friends, especially if the want to save some money on accommodations.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

reception really helpful, basic breakfast, not enough tea/coffee facilities when 3 sharing. Quiet area, close to everything you need without being too expensive. I guess I'm slightly harsh in any criticism of this hotel, as when you compare it to other hotles in Amsterdam, you could do a hell of a lot worse... no smoking.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochabamba
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Location is great on a quiet street close to museumplein and a nice walk from central station.the staff were very friendly and helpful.breakfast was ample.price represents good value for money.rooms are however very small and can get warm and stuffy in summer as no ac.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The desk staff were very helpful and gave recommendations for where to eat and places to see. There are brochures and discount cards available at the reception if you would like to join the local tours. You can also buy the museum tickets or a tram day pass from them.
The buffet breakfast spread was good. Location wise, it is a few tram stops from city center, but near to the Albertcuyp Market.
The room is quite small and sometimes we can hear noise from outside the room when the next door neighbour is back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Asterisk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asterisk

Address: Den Texstraat 16, 1017 ZA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Asterisk 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm welcoming hotel, frienly and helpfull reception, located in a quiet street in the center of Amsterdam. Rooms for all budgets, small and large rooms, with and without private facilities. Close to the booming "Pijp" area. At walking distance to nightlife and museumarea. Free Wifi, good buffet breakfast. Main building has an elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Asterisk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asterisk Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Asterisk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.