We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair price fo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Asterisk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Asterisk to your Saves list
Hotel Asterisk
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Den Texstraat 16, 1017 ZA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #198 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    118
    61
    16
    12
See reviews for
28
65
41
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fauske
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

We had a long stay here this month, a whole 9 nights, and we had a small room with a small toilet and shower, but we didn't spend much time at the hotel, so it didn't matter that the size was small. The breakfast was good, but also there a very small selection of food, so it got kinda boring quickly :p I think they should have changed on the beds more often, cause they said they only did it every 4th day, and that's not so good I think :p the staff was friendly, the helped us with everything, tram tickets, taxi, booking tours for us and everything :) I would recommend this hotel for my friends, especially if the want to save some money on accommodations.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

reception really helpful, basic breakfast, not enough tea/coffee facilities when 3 sharing. Quiet area, close to everything you need without being too expensive. I guess I'm slightly harsh in any criticism of this hotel, as when you compare it to other hotles in Amsterdam, you could do a hell of a lot worse... no smoking.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochabamba
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Location is great on a quiet street close to museumplein and a nice walk from central station.the staff were very friendly and helpful.breakfast was ample.price represents good value for money.rooms are however very small and can get warm and stuffy in summer as no ac.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The desk staff were very helpful and gave recommendations for where to eat and places to see. There are brochures and discount cards available at the reception if you would like to join the local tours. You can also buy the museum tickets or a tram day pass from them.
The buffet breakfast spread was good. Location wise, it is a few tram stops from city center, but near to the Albertcuyp Market.
The room is quite small and sometimes we can hear noise from outside the room when the next door neighbour is back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This is a great hotel on a side street across the canal from the Heineken experience. Victor at the front desk is a life saver. He took great care of our family in a near emergency situation. He certainly sold us on this hotel. Never been treated better anywhere else in the world. Great clean rooms and great clean bathrooms. Great value.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The hotel supplied everything we needed of it . It was clean and tidy. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was of a reasonable size and was quiet. The good quality curtains shut out any outside light. Breakfasts were good , help youself, contitinental breakfasts with sufficient choice . Quanitity no problem. Nothing prestigious about the hotel but it was very functional.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Asterisk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asterisk

Address: Den Texstraat 16, 1017 ZA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Asterisk 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm welcoming hotel, frienly and helpfull reception, located in a quiet street in the center of Amsterdam. Rooms for all budgets, small and large rooms, with and without private facilities. Close to the booming "Pijp" area. At walking distance to nightlife and museumarea. Free Wifi, good buffet breakfast. Main building has an elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Asterisk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asterisk Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Asterisk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.