We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel My Home

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel My Home to your Saves list
Hotel My Home
Haarlemmerstraat 82, 1013 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great value hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. Rooms were basic but clean, toilets and showers were also clean. The hosts were helpful. Breakfast was included which was a nice surprise and there was eggs, cheese, toast etc. Location was incredible but considering how central it is, we couldn't hear any street noise in the room. There is also 24-hour access so you could always come back for an afternoon nap! We were also slightly late checking out and they didn't seem to mind, which was appreciated!

The stairs on the way in are quite steep but didn't cause any problems for us.

Would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Our room was good in terms of less night noise (think we were room 4)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    20
    20
    5
    1
See reviews for
4
14
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Had to check in somewhere else, it didn't smell great and was really noisy. Hostel allows smoking which wasn't stated on the site I used to book it (smoking is not allowed in UK hostels, bars etc at all) all my stuff reeked for a few days afterwards. I've stayed in cheaper but nicer hostels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

If you are after excellent location, and just the basics, here you go. Nothing fancy or to brag about. Michelle, the receptionist is a friendly guy, who acts like he has known you for years. Yes, the rooms are small and the stairs will give you a workout, but Amsterdam is what you came for. Awesome cafes, shops, canals right outside the hotel make it a perfect location. If your looking for luxury, look somewhere else. If you just want a place to crash with everything in walking distance for a reasonable price, this is it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Our friends stayed in this hostel where we spent most of our time (so did everything there apart from actually sleep!)
- Rooms were very standard, a sink in them with bunk beds which were comfy, small balcony in the room overlooking the street shared bathroom and shower but not a bother really they have toilets and showers on each floor.
- Breakfast in the morning is standard cereals, bread, eggs, ham, tea, coffee etc. no fuss from about eight 20 year olds :)
- Really good location, lots of restaurants about at the local albert heijn which is like a tesco haha cheap food. Also right near the infamous barneys cafe's and popeyes cafe, just down there road there is a sweet shop and they make fresh waffles too!

Nice people who own the place, basically you get what your paying for i think its about £100 for 3 nights fine place to be and sleep and as its such an amazing city there wont be much sleeping!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 6 nights for a holiday. My first pertinence of European Hostels. I feel next time I will get a hotel. Not a bad place clean and comfortable. Breakfast every morning was nice and the staff very friendly. Shared bathrooms on each floor are kept clean nd tidy.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

A friend and I stayed here for 2 nights in March 2013.

LOCATION
The location is very good. It's about a 10-minute walk from the Amsterdam Central train station. It's on a street lined with stores, cafes, and restaurants. You can reach far just on foot - to the canals, city center, Dam square, Red Light District, etc. There's much to do just outside the door. However, finding this place can be a bit tricky - the entrance isn't very obvious. It is a single door that leads to a very, very steep staircase, and the office is on the 1st floor above the ground. You'll have to keep your eyes peeled for the sign!

FACILITIES

Lobby
The stairs are steep. Very steep. Be careful going up, or you'll lose your balance! The first staircase, as mentioned before, goes from the street level to the lobby. The following staircases go to the rooms. The lobby looks a bit sketchy - there's old couches, torn posters on the walls, and pets running around - it looks a bit grungy.

Room
We stayed in a double-room, which means just a single twin size bed in a very small room! We had thought that meant there were two beds in a room, so don't be tricked. The room is definitely meant for a single person - the bed takes up about 70% of the floor space! There is a wall cubby where you can put small stuff (small bags, chargers, light clothing), a small sink with a mirror, and a coat hook on the back of the door. There wasn't any good place to put our stuff. There is one outlet by the bed, and one outlet by the sink. In addition, the window didn't close all the way, so we could hear people on the streets. The good thing is that there didn't seem to be any motor vehicles on the street we were on (or very few), so the noise was limited to just outside voices. I'd say this is ideal for a single person, so it's just the fact that there were two to a single room that it felt so cramped.

Bathroom
There were two showers and one toilet on our level. They're both kept quite clean, and of course, quite small. I did enjoy the showers - the very warm water was running strong, so it felt like a back massage when I took a shower. There was a generous supply of fresh towels outside the showers with a big laundry basket, so towels were not a problem.

STAFF
The staff members were a little cold, but they were willing to answer our questions and provide help. We didn't interact with them too much, but I'd say they were alright.

PRICE
Too expensive, for the kind of stay that we had. Not really worth the money - even the two of us splitting a room meant for one hit our wallets pretty hard.

Room Tip: Double room means a single bed! If you are travelling with another person/others, get a dorm room, u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This place is ok. Its cheap. Its close to everything. The staff and patrons are friendy. They have smoking and drinking. Coffee and breakfast is nice. Spend the day in the city, when you cant do anymore. Go and sleep. Wake up and do as much as you can. When I arrived in Amsterdam, and got off the train, i met the owner of 'hotel my home'. He asked if we were staying anywhere yet. I said no, and he offered to give us a ride to check it out. It was a free ride. Being on a budget, his place was cheap and everythng was easy. This was a quite few years back. Be prepared for some almost vertical steps. Its an older place. You can tell, gives it character.

Room Tip: email in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel My Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel My Home

Address: Haarlemmerstraat 82, 1013 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel My Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel My Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.