We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but wouldn't stay again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel My Home

Save Saved
You added Hotel My Home to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel My Home
Haarlemmerstraat 82, 1013 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 174 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“OK but wouldn't stay again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed at Hotel My Home for three days at the beginning of July. The hotel itself was pretty dated and as others have noted, it is extremely basic, which having spent most of our time out in the city, wasn't a huge problem for us.

The rooms themselves were quite small and dated and the walls were quite thin; we were situated next to a bathroom (toilet/sink only) and could hear and SMELL everything, if you know what I mean. That was by far the worst part of the hotel. Common bathroom facilities are fine but this place did not have good ventilation in the toilet areas so we had to go out and buy incense to light in our room and keep the smell out. The shower stalls, on the other hand, I have no complaints about.

The location of the hotel was great; very convenient to the central train station. The staff were really nice and cooked a lovely breakfast in the morning (eggs any way you like) and that was much appreciated.

In the end, the hotel was OK (minus the insane stair cases - not just the photos that have already been posted but look through the kitchen area to the "attic" where we stayed our first night before they moved us to a more humane area) but I would not stay here again. The dated rooms and smell from the bathrooms were enough to make me not want to stay here again. Perhaps it wouldn't have been as bad if we were in a different room but we'll never know.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for one AWAY from the shared toilets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    18
    19
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
13
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I chose this hostel as I had stayed here twice before (2003 and 2008) and can honestly say this hostel has only got better each time I have stayed here. Don't be deceived though, amenities are very basic and the rooms are very small but if like me you just want a place to rest your head then I would definately recommend this as place to stay!

I booked this trip for my Partner's birthday as I wanted to take him to the Queens day festival (which is AMAZING and is definately worth going to), so we didn't spend a massive amount of time in the hostel although it was excellent as a base to pop back to and take a breather from all the festivities, the staff are VERY friendly and VERY helpful and breakfast was delicious and a great way to start the day. The resident cat is also adorable but beware of leaving your window open as the cat sneaks in at all hours!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. Its pretty basic and the rooms smell like smoke, but the staff are really friendly and helpful. We shared a bathroom which was not great but okay. Location is great, make sure you go to the pub across the road on the corner.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

This was a little hard to find, but once there was okay. Close eateries etc. Included breakfast (continental) and the staff were helpful.

The rooms were tiny. We were located right next to the bathroom so heard it most of the night :(

Room Tip: Room away from toilets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

This is a difficult place to review. Usually I feel you should review somewhere according to how well it achieves what it sets out to do or to be. No-one criticizes an Indian restaurant for not having any Tex-Mex dishes. This hotel aims to provide safe, clean accommodation with a very basic investment in facilities - and it does just that. I stayed for four nights with a friend, in a room that was occupied about 60 percent by a reasonably comfortable twin bed. The breakfast was also very basic but welcome and served pleasantly.
The location is great - Haarlemmerstraat offers a unique Amsterdam combination of "coffeeshops", restaurants and pubs, and interesting shops. Ten minutes from Amsterdam Centraal (very close, but still a pain on a cold, rainy January night...), and also close to the lively and yuppie Jordaan neighborhood.
Having said all that - I can't give this more than two stars over all, simply because it is so very basic. As other reviewers have said, if you know what you're coming to, you shouldn't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

The hotel itself isn't the most stunning to look at by any stretch of the imagination, the decor was quite old but still kept very clean which is a credit to the staff. For the price we paid, the service we got was great. The few staff there were really helpful and friendly, especially when we were asking for recommendations of where to go, they were more than happy to cook us breakfast a little later than advertised when we strolled down the stairs feeling worse for wear! The only stumbling point was the hugely steep stairs leading up to the rooms (excuse the pun), however this actually turned out to be great fun when rolling in at silly o clock in the morning! Location was also brilliant. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Location of the hostel was good. We had a triple room which was quite tight on space, but the beds did the trick. The host was nice - everything was good and value was in line with what we had paid for.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel My Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel My Home

Address: Haarlemmerstraat 82, 1013 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 174 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel My Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel My Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.