We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel My Home

Save Saved
You added Hotel My Home to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel My Home
Haarlemmerstraat 82, 1013 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 171 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. Its pretty basic and the rooms smell like smoke, but the staff are really friendly and helpful. We shared a bathroom which was not great but okay. Location is great, make sure you go to the pub across the road on the corner.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    15
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
13
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

This was a little hard to find, but once there was okay. Close eateries etc. Included breakfast (continental) and the staff were helpful.

The rooms were tiny. We were located right next to the bathroom so heard it most of the night :(

Room Tip: Room away from toilets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

This is a difficult place to review. Usually I feel you should review somewhere according to how well it achieves what it sets out to do or to be. No-one criticizes an Indian restaurant for not having any Tex-Mex dishes. This hotel aims to provide safe, clean accommodation with a very basic investment in facilities - and it does just that. I stayed for four nights with a friend, in a room that was occupied about 60 percent by a reasonably comfortable twin bed. The breakfast was also very basic but welcome and served pleasantly.
The location is great - Haarlemmerstraat offers a unique Amsterdam combination of "coffeeshops", restaurants and pubs, and interesting shops. Ten minutes from Amsterdam Centraal (very close, but still a pain on a cold, rainy January night...), and also close to the lively and yuppie Jordaan neighborhood.
Having said all that - I can't give this more than two stars over all, simply because it is so very basic. As other reviewers have said, if you know what you're coming to, you shouldn't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

The hotel itself isn't the most stunning to look at by any stretch of the imagination, the decor was quite old but still kept very clean which is a credit to the staff. For the price we paid, the service we got was great. The few staff there were really helpful and friendly, especially when we were asking for recommendations of where to go, they were more than happy to cook us breakfast a little later than advertised when we strolled down the stairs feeling worse for wear! The only stumbling point was the hugely steep stairs leading up to the rooms (excuse the pun), however this actually turned out to be great fun when rolling in at silly o clock in the morning! Location was also brilliant. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Location of the hostel was good. We had a triple room which was quite tight on space, but the beds did the trick. The host was nice - everything was good and value was in line with what we had paid for.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed at this hotel/hostel early Sept. Rooms we're clean but VERY small. We paid for a double room which was 2 single beds.
The bathrooms and showers were also both really small. As a person that is 5'9" it was a tight squeeze! We were on the top floor which is a good 46 stairs to get there.
Locations was amazing! Not a bad value for what we paid 70.00EUR/night with breakfast included!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We stayed at Hostel My Home August 2011 and had a great time. Chris the owner was great, a real friendly and knowledgeable guy. Room was comfortable and as expected for what we paid, Would recommend in fact hope to visit again New Year!

Room Tip: `Beware of the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel My Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel My Home

Address: Haarlemmerstraat 82, 1013 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 171 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel My Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel My Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.