We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT BOOK HERE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Waterfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Amsterdam Waterfront Hotel to your Saves list
Amsterdam Waterfront Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 458, 1017 AW Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #318 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“DO NOT BOOK HERE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We made the reservation on Booking.com in March, after looking at various hotels... We decided on this one because of location and price! However, the room wasn't quite like the pictures on the website.

Once we had made the reservation, our card was charged (on the website, we were informed that no money would be taken until we arrived), the following day I rung the hotel directly and they told me that it had been taken in error, they apologised immensely and said they would upgrade us to a larger room with a balcony and a view over the canal.

We arrived, it was a great location and the staff were very friendly and helpful with our initial questions we had about what was around the hotel.

Once in the room, which could only be described as a average size double room with an extra single bed crammed in, which wasn't a problem but if I had booked a triple.. I wouldn't have been very happy!

The balcony which we were expecting wasn't there! One of the windows was broken (this was obviously the "Canal View"). The window frame was coming away from the wall which meant it wouldn't close.

The room was also dirty and could do with a clean and a refurb and half of the plug sockets didn't work.

The bathroom was also dirty, mainly the shower curtain and also the tiles. The shower head holder was also broken so would continuously slip down.

The beds were comfy (which some people would say is enough, but when you pay £150 for a nice hotel, I would disagree.)

Overall, good location but wouldn't recommend to anyone and wouldn't stay here again. Floor 4, Room 10.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    20
    25
    30
    42
See reviews for
8
41
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

We booked a room in this hotel as it was inexpensive and we had a tight budget. We would be spending little time there it was really just somewhere to sleep. We arrived later in the evening and the door was locked so we had to use the intercom. We were given instructions to collect our room key from a box inside using a code. It took a few attempts to get the key. We then made our way up the stairs which were typical of traditional Amsterdam buildings steep winding and narrow. We finally reached the fourth floor with our luggage and we wanted to have a shower but there were no towels. We had to go back downstairs and use the intercom and were told there was no staff on site until the morning and could not get towels until then. So we had to go out to meet friends without a proper wash.
The room was basic and shabby with no view but the bedding was clean and the bed was comfortable and there was no noise. We had a shared bathroom but there did not appear to be any guests in the other room so we had it to ourselves. The bathroom itself was clean enough.
Overall I would not recommend this hotel unless you are young, fit and don't mind basic hotels. It was in a decent location beside a canal and not far from main attractions.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floors if you have heavier luggage or health issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

I must admit I'm very disappointed with this hotel. Actually the only positive fact we had is that the hotel is in the very city centre.
A part of that, cleaning leaves a lot to desire.
Room was very small and the main door was almost hitting the bed in such a way that it's very close to jump on the bed in order to open the door and get out.
The bathroom's door could not even been shut leaving us with the only option to use a bag to keep the door in close position.
Pillows under the pillow cases were spotted and on top of that we asked to get the towels changed and this has not been attended.
Last but not the least, and this is not a managing fault, the access to the floors is almost a climbing operation which could be really a challenge with a baby

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

What a terrible hotel!
We arrived to friendly staff who gave us a warm welcome however, informed us that they wasnt there during 8pm and 8am - you are given a door key to let yourself in.
We had 2 rooms on the first floor- both bathrooms needed major revamping & had mould growing in the showers. The carpets looked as if they hadnt been hoovered, one radiator covered in dust & the curtains were falling off.
One room, which we had asked for a double & single but recieved 2 twins had no heating-not even a radiator.
The other room smelt of cigarette smoke.
After arriving back to the hotel at around 10.30pm- the vibrations from the nightclub next door kept me awake for the entire duration that it was on.
Luckily i had packed my own blankets as the room- which all 4 croweded into due to the various issues- was freezing! With below freezing temperatures- the least you expect is a radiator.

There was no tea, coffee or even cups in the room- only a kettle which wasnt helpful the slightest.

I feel that this hotel doesnt even cater for the basic requirements of even one nights stay.
After a long day of travelling I expect a good night sleep but this was nothing of which the hotel offers.

We requested ear plugs from reception yet feel this is ridiculous that you have to result to that!

Never again.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

there is no elevator and the stairs are narrow and steep. if you have heavy bags and a bad back. take the rooms located on ground floor. the reception is eager to help you carry your bags but if he is busy he wont be able to bring your bags up immediately.

internet does not reach the higher floors

the hotel is near to all tourist places, restaurants, grocery store, branded stores. you can walk all day and go back to the hotel if you feel tired to rest or just to use the toilet. The rooms are decent and clean

Room Tip: choose the rooms located on the ground it can be reached by the wifi and no stairs to hurdle
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

Just come back from staying 3 nights here. The location is brilliant and I think that and the cheap price is what sells it. This is a very budget hotel and should be used as a base. The room was pretty basic but we did have our own bathroom which was a plus. The beds were very comfy and clean and towels were provided. Plenty of hot water in the shower, just don't look at the tiles! We were on 1st floor, room 3. The stairs are very steep and was glad we didn't have to go up another flight. The window was quite high up and overlooked the courtyard I presume, but u could only look up through the window to the rooms opposite and above you. We had no noise from the club next door. Plenty of restaurants and cafés and bars nearby. A tip if you've never been to Amsterdam before or used the airport. When we landed we thought there would be an information desk to help with directions for a bus or train there was nothing. The airport is massive. Eventually found out you can take the train from the airport to Central station (€5 p&p) and then tram nr 1,2 or 5 to spui which is where waterfront is

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spangdahlem, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

went on a girls trip and 3 of us stayed here. this is definitely a budget hotel... but with that said the location was perfect for what we wanted... a place to sleep. the beds were clean, we had a private bathroom and the staff was awesome!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Waterfront Hotel

Address: Singel 458, 1017 AW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #318 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Amsterdam Waterfront Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Amsterdam Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Waterfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.