We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Id rather sleep in a prison.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Waterfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Amsterdam Waterfront Hotel to your Saves list
Amsterdam Waterfront Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 458, 1017 AW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #307 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Id rather sleep in a prison.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a terrible hotel!
We arrived to friendly staff who gave us a warm welcome however, informed us that they wasnt there during 8pm and 8am - you are given a door key to let yourself in.
We had 2 rooms on the first floor- both bathrooms needed major revamping & had mould growing in the showers. The carpets looked as if they hadnt been hoovered, one radiator covered in dust & the curtains were falling off.
One room, which we had asked for a double & single but recieved 2 twins had no heating-not even a radiator.
The other room smelt of cigarette smoke.
After arriving back to the hotel at around 10.30pm- the vibrations from the nightclub next door kept me awake for the entire duration that it was on.
Luckily i had packed my own blankets as the room- which all 4 croweded into due to the various issues- was freezing! With below freezing temperatures- the least you expect is a radiator.

There was no tea, coffee or even cups in the room- only a kettle which wasnt helpful the slightest.

I feel that this hotel doesnt even cater for the basic requirements of even one nights stay.
After a long day of travelling I expect a good night sleep but this was nothing of which the hotel offers.

We requested ear plugs from reception yet feel this is ridiculous that you have to result to that!

Never again.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    20
    22
    28
    39
See reviews for
8
37
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

there is no elevator and the stairs are narrow and steep. if you have heavy bags and a bad back. take the rooms located on ground floor. the reception is eager to help you carry your bags but if he is busy he wont be able to bring your bags up immediately.

internet does not reach the higher floors

the hotel is near to all tourist places, restaurants, grocery store, branded stores. you can walk all day and go back to the hotel if you feel tired to rest or just to use the toilet. The rooms are decent and clean

Room Tip: choose the rooms located on the ground it can be reached by the wifi and no stairs to hurdle
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

Just come back from staying 3 nights here. The location is brilliant and I think that and the cheap price is what sells it. This is a very budget hotel and should be used as a base. The room was pretty basic but we did have our own bathroom which was a plus. The beds were very comfy and clean and towels were provided. Plenty of hot water in the shower, just don't look at the tiles! We were on 1st floor, room 3. The stairs are very steep and was glad we didn't have to go up another flight. The window was quite high up and overlooked the courtyard I presume, but u could only look up through the window to the rooms opposite and above you. We had no noise from the club next door. Plenty of restaurants and cafés and bars nearby. A tip if you've never been to Amsterdam before or used the airport. When we landed we thought there would be an information desk to help with directions for a bus or train there was nothing. The airport is massive. Eventually found out you can take the train from the airport to Central station (€5 p&p) and then tram nr 1,2 or 5 to spui which is where waterfront is

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spangdahlem, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

went on a girls trip and 3 of us stayed here. this is definitely a budget hotel... but with that said the location was perfect for what we wanted... a place to sleep. the beds were clean, we had a private bathroom and the staff was awesome!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

When we went to Amsterdam our aim was to find a relatively cheap hotel for one night. Waterfront met our requirements, it was not far from the center and very close to the Flower Market and the museums. In the morning it was a bit noisy but the staff was really nice, the room was clean, the view was stunning. Good choice for your stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Exactly what we needed. We were in AMsterdam for 3 days and this hotel was more than enough for us. Perfect if you're planning on seeing so much of the city that you only need a place to sleep and shower. Location couldn't be better. Flower market literally 5 min walk away, along with souvenir shops, supermarkets, tram stops. The club downstairs was only open one of the nights we were there, and did not disturb us at all. We could here music, but definitely could not call it disturbing. Of course we do not know if we had a quiet room. Earplugs are available for free from the hotel.

It could be cleaner, but sheets and bathroom were clean so nothing to raise havoc about. There is no lift, and the stairs are very very narrow, so not recommended for people with mobility trouble.

Very helpful guys at the reception. Recommend it this place with warm memories :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room 1 or 2 as these are on the 1st floor, and so less stair-climbing to do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel. Our room had a fantastic canal view (roughly half of the rooms has this type of view). Our beds were really clean and comfy. The bathroom smelled a bit like drain. The bathroom was quite basic, nothing special, it was clean enough. The carpet probably was a pbit dirty but it wasn't too bad. The hotel has really small, narrow steps, it's quite dangerous however mostly every traditional amsterdam house has the same steps. The location was perfect, only a few steps away from the high streets and the restaurants.
When we booked the hotel, we had to change our dates, the staff was really helpful and they corrected it quickly.
I think this hotel is perfect to stay in Amsterdam. If you book this hotel don't except a luxury styled hotel, they will give you the nice basics.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Waterfront Hotel

Address: Singel 458, 1017 AW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #307 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Amsterdam Waterfront Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Amsterdam Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Waterfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.