We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark to your Saves list
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Zandpad 5, 1054 GA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed 3 nights, 3 people in a 4 person ensuite
Pros
Room is spacious; shower & toilet are separate
Wide selection of cheese, cold meat, fruits etc. for breakfast
Staff were very friendly & helpful (I had an online interview one night and they offered me a quiet space to have the interview, plus internet was smooth!). Also allowed us to leave our larger luggage for 2 nights when we went to Belgium.
Good location -if you like walking, locations are within easy walking distances (especially since Holland's so flat).

Cons
Internet only available in public areas, not in rooms (but the public areas were nice and comfy)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for your great review and ratings. We are glad to hear that you liked your stay with us, and we hope you got the job! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    349
    137
    29
    23
See reviews for
43
65
171
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed here with a friend at the end of January in a 4 bed mixed dorm. Reception staff were friendly enough. The room was actually slightly bigger than I thought it would be, judging by the pictures and the shower/toilet/sink were all very clean. Not having wifi in the room was a litlle annoying but didn't really matter. Tried the breakfast once, wasn't great to be honest.

Didn't really spend much time in the hostel but it was a nice place to be based. It was handy how the free walking tour started from the reception.

Would definitely stay here again if returning to Amsterdam however I would probably get a private room as sharing with two random people was a very slight inconveniencenat times.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for your review and ratings. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. And of course we would like to welcome you back soon too! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I traveled with my friends to Amsterdam mid January 2014. They had already booked their rooms and I decided at a later point to join them. We tried to contact the hostel to get us in the same room but we got no response from them so when I booked my room we added this to the notes instead. In the end they were not able to arrange this for us so we ended up with 2 4 bed rooms between 3 people. So we were paying an excess which was quite annoying.

Aside from that the rooms themselves were pretty good. Bunk beds in each and reasonable en suite bathrooms which was nice as we didn't have to leave the room to find a bathroom. They give you a pack of bed linen to make your own bed.

The breakfast included was okay, although not a huge selection but enough to keep you going and teas and juices as well. We ate at the restaurant but I wouldn't recommend that.

Some of the staff were a bit funny with us, but some were very helpful so it was a bit hit and miss.

No wifi in the rooms which was really annoying and also one powerpoint in each room so it's difficult to charge your electronics!

You can't hire bikes once you've checked out, even though we left our bags in the lockers which is also a pain.

The location is amazing with all the attractions a short walk or tram ride away, and it feels safe here. Amsterdam in general is a fantastic place to visit and this works really well as a base. It was also really easy to find as they had lots of signs posting you the right way.

For what you pay (if you don't get the problem we had) it's value for money, as it is a hostel after all and works well as a place to crash but there are changes to be made...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for your review and ratings. We are happy to hear you had a good time staying with us. We also appreciate your feedback. We are aware of the limited outlets in the rooms. Therefore, you can charge your electronic devices at the reception. WiFi is only available in the common area, as we want to encourage people to come downstairs and meet fellow travelers. We will look into what happened with renting bikes after check out, as you should be able to just rent them. As for the room allocation, sorry for the inconvenience. We will make sure that this doesn't happen in the future. We hope you had a great time in Amsterdam! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I was visiting Amsterdam for the first time and traveling in my own... Found the hostel online which was nice and cheap and fairly close to the centre. Nothing to complain about as i used it just to test my head during the night, would willingly use the hostel again... Thanks for the stay

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for your great review and ratings! We are happy to hear that you loved your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I was few months ago in this hostel with friend.
The room was clean, but furnished in really minimal way. The bed are not very confortable and big, anyway the price and the good position of the hostel make Stayok a good solution for the travellers.

Common space are very nice, but maybe the staff should help you more to plan in best way your tripo in amsterdam. The entourage is not always kind with guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for your review and ratings. We are glad to hear that you liked your stay here. We are aware of the furnishing in some rooms, and therefore we planned a big renovation after the summer. We also try to give our guests the best advice on what to do during their stay, but this can always be improved. We will definitely look into this! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I've stayed at the Stayokay recently with my friends for 3 days, located in a quiet area of Amsterdam, near Vondelpark but basically a few minutes from the city centre, this hostel inside is modern, clean and nice. The staff are very helpful giving you any advise about the city. Only little cons is the price but if you are looking for a modern hostel you have find it!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thanks for your review and ratings! We are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us! We really appreciate all the kind words. Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The good things were the free buffet breakfast (bread, cheese, boiled eggs, beverages), the location (Near Leidseplein, the museums and of course Vondelpark), the large lockers for your travel backpack..

The thing that annoyed me the most was that there were no power points in the bedrooms. You can have your phone safely charged overnight at reception, but if you use your phone as an alarm in the morning like I do it causes an inconvenience. I was always on the lookout for a power plug throughout the day to charge my phone a little when I could.

The bin in the toilet cubicle was overflowing for a few days, and it takes a bit of effort to bring your fresh clothes into the shower cubicle without them getting wet, but these were just small things.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for your review and ratings. We are happy to hear liked your stay with us and the facilities we offer. We understand that it causes an inconvenience to charge your phone during the night. You can charge you phone at any given time during the day as well, and we have alarm clocks which you can borrow. Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark

Address: Zandpad 5, 1054 GA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique location offers everything for a perfect stay in Amsterdam. We are situated in the beautiful Vondelpark near the Leidseplein entertainment area. The three major and best known museums in Amsterdam (the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum & Stedelijk Museum) are within 5 minutes walking distance. We offer plenty of activities for exploring the city. A free daily walking tour which is great to meet others travelers and to get inside information about Amsterdam. Or rent a Stayokay City bike and discover Amsterdam by yourself. The famous Canal Belt is best to be explored during a canal cruise. Enjoy great food & drinks offers in our bar dur one of the themed bar nights. We look forward to seeing you soon; Welcome in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.