We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was a pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark

Save Saved
You added Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Zandpad 5, 1054 GA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Was a pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I was visiting Amsterdam for the first time and traveling in my own... Found the hostel online which was nice and cheap and fairly close to the centre. Nothing to complain about as i used it just to test my head during the night, would willingly use the hostel again... Thanks for the stay

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for your great review and ratings! We are happy to hear that you loved your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    313
    126
    26
    22
See reviews for
40
59
157
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I was few months ago in this hostel with friend.
The room was clean, but furnished in really minimal way. The bed are not very confortable and big, anyway the price and the good position of the hostel make Stayok a good solution for the travellers.

Common space are very nice, but maybe the staff should help you more to plan in best way your tripo in amsterdam. The entourage is not always kind with guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for your review and ratings. We are glad to hear that you liked your stay here. We are aware of the furnishing in some rooms, and therefore we planned a big renovation after the summer. We also try to give our guests the best advice on what to do during their stay, but this can always be improved. We will definitely look into this! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I've stayed at the Stayokay recently with my friends for 3 days, located in a quiet area of Amsterdam, near Vondelpark but basically a few minutes from the city centre, this hostel inside is modern, clean and nice. The staff are very helpful giving you any advise about the city. Only little cons is the price but if you are looking for a modern hostel you have find it!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thanks for your review and ratings! We are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us! We really appreciate all the kind words. Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The good things were the free buffet breakfast (bread, cheese, boiled eggs, beverages), the location (Near Leidseplein, the museums and of course Vondelpark), the large lockers for your travel backpack..

The thing that annoyed me the most was that there were no power points in the bedrooms. You can have your phone safely charged overnight at reception, but if you use your phone as an alarm in the morning like I do it causes an inconvenience. I was always on the lookout for a power plug throughout the day to charge my phone a little when I could.

The bin in the toilet cubicle was overflowing for a few days, and it takes a bit of effort to bring your fresh clothes into the shower cubicle without them getting wet, but these were just small things.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for your review and ratings. We are happy to hear liked your stay with us and the facilities we offer. We understand that it causes an inconvenience to charge your phone during the night. You can charge you phone at any given time during the day as well, and we have alarm clocks which you can borrow. Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This hostel is very big and organized, though this place can be packed in holidays. the rooms are big for amsterdam standards, and there are lockers. Cleaning was nice, and breakfast one of the best i have ever seen in a hostel. Location is king here, very close to vondelpark, museums. Easy to reach at night too. price is good, amsterdam hostels are expensive. Staff is ok, could be better, but nothing can be perfect.

Room Tip: reserve in advance, this place is always full on holidays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for your great review and ratings. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and liked our facilities and location! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I think the most problem it was that the wifi signal just has on the lobby! The rooms was great! The breakfast was great too! The localization is perfect! The reception was very friendly and helpful! The hostel is very clean and organized!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thanks for your great review and ratings. We are very glad to hear you loved your stay with us and the facilities we offer. Wifi is indeed only available in the lobby. This is to encourage people to come downstairs and meet fellow travelers to share experiences and stories. Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

The Stayokay Hostel/Hotel is a great base at an affordable price, right in the heart of Amsterdam, this will be a place id return to for a short trip to a great city.
The beauty of this Hostel is its great location but away from the hustle and bustle to feel your in a relaxed area, next to a park.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your review and ratings. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved our location. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark

Address: Zandpad 5, 1054 GA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique location offers everything for a perfect stay in Amsterdam. We are situated in the beautiful Vondelpark near the Leidseplein entertainment area. The three major and best known museums in Amsterdam (the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum & Stedelijk Museum) are within 5 minutes walking distance. We offer plenty of activities for exploring the city. A free daily walking tour which is great to meet others travelers and to get inside information about Amsterdam. Or rent a Stayokay City bike and discover Amsterdam by yourself. The famous Canal Belt is best to be explored during a canal cruise. Enjoy great food & drinks offers in our bar dur one of the themed bar nights. We look forward to seeing you soon; Welcome in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Expedia, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.