We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice, very friendly, very good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark to your Saves list
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Zandpad 5, 1054 GA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Brussels
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“very nice, very friendly, very good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

good location, good price, very clean, very friendly, eco, really nice people, very friendly, all you need! We loved it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your amazing review and ratings! We are very happy to hear you loved your stay!! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    344
    136
    29
    22
See reviews for
43
64
170
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, Ca
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

If I was in my 20's, and this was in a category specifically for hostels, it would be excellent.

However, I have stayed in 3-star hotels in Amsterdam which cost only a little more but offered
more value for the money. Location is excellent. Not enough outlets and no wi-fi in rooms.

The response that no wi-fi in rooms encourages socializing in the lobby is lame, as no one
seemed to be socializing outside their own group.

Staff was very good. Breakfast was good for a hostel, but not as good as in other hotels where I have stayed in Amsterdam.

We were a group of 3 50+ and 60+ year olds staying in a 8-person room. I actually enjoy
staying with younger people, but I prefer a higher level of comfort nowadays. Nevertheless,
as a hostel, I would highly recommend this place compared to hostels I stayed in when I WAS
in my 20's.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for your review and ratings. We are happy to hear you like our staff and breakfast. We are aware of the fact that there are not a lot of outlets in the rooms, therefore we offer to charge electronic devices for free at the reception. Like you said, we only offer WiFi in the common area as we want people to meet and share experiences. Although people are on their device in the common area, we do believe that it's easier to meet people in the common area or bar than when they stay in their rooms. We do hope you enjoyed Amsterdam! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Me and a friend stayed here for a long weekend and it was perfect for what we needed. Central location, friendly staff and a nice atmosphere, we felt safe staying here everyone we met was nice. There were lockers to secure belongings and a nice buffet breakfast. There is a bus very close which takes you straight to the airport. Rooms were spacious and clean. Perfect for a short stay to explore amsterdam

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for your great review and ratings! We really appreciate your kind words and are happy to hear you loved your stay at our hostel! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arraiolos, Evora, Portugal
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

In front of the Vondelpark (Beautiful Park!) in a very quiet street is located this great Hostel. I stayed in 4 person dorm with private WC and it was great stay, the staff are nice, is very clean, very nice lounge at the Reception to meet people or just acess to internet (Wifi is free but they only have it there, not in the rooms). This hostel have a nice bar and a Game Room. One thing that i liked a lot was the breakfast, is not usual to have a quality and variety breakfast in hostels and this one is the best i tried so far! The location is perfect because you can walk every where from here, is only 2 minutes to the Van Gogh Museum and the letters IAMSTERDAM, i walk tru the entire city, very cool but who dont like to walk can rent a bike! Will return! :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review and ratings! We are happy to hear you loved your stay at our hostel and we are looking forward to welcoming you again! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

A very nice place to stay. We've stayed in a room for 6 with private facilities. Everything was clean. The staff was fine and the breakfast was very good. The location is suberb, in quiet park near the center (five minutes walking from Van Gogh museum). If you don't like to walk there are several trams nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for your great review and ratings. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our facilities! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed in a private 2 bed dorm and it was just what we needed - the whole hostel was. Breakfast was very fine. We were out most of the day so didn't hang around the hostel that much and as a home base, this hostel was great. I would recommend this hostel to any group of friends.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you so much for you great review and ratings! We are happy to hear that you loved your stay at our hostel! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Nice hostel, actually do not looks like a hostel and more a hotel. Everything is very organized, clean, staff very friendly...breakfest amazing..if someone like to "smoke" must be outside, which is nice, however, if you do not like kids and old people run away there.Overall it is worth!!

Room Tip: To be honest all the rooms is the same!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for your great review and ratings! We are happy to hear you liked our staff and enjoyed our breakfast and other facilities. We work hard to give our guests the best service every day! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark

Address: Zandpad 5, 1054 GA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique location offers everything for a perfect stay in Amsterdam. We are situated in the beautiful Vondelpark near the Leidseplein entertainment area. The three major and best known museums in Amsterdam (the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum & Stedelijk Museum) are within 5 minutes walking distance. We offer plenty of activities for exploring the city. A free daily walking tour which is great to meet others travelers and to get inside information about Amsterdam. Or rent a Stayokay City bike and discover Amsterdam by yourself. The famous Canal Belt is best to be explored during a canal cruise. Enjoy great food & drinks offers in our bar dur one of the themed bar nights. We look forward to seeing you soon; Welcome in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.