We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark to your Saves list
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Zandpad 5, 1054 GA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 207 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

A very nice place to stay. We've stayed in a room for 6 with private facilities. Everything was clean. The staff was fine and the breakfast was very good. The location is suberb, in quiet park near the center (five minutes walking from Van Gogh museum). If you don't like to walk there are several trams nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for your great review and ratings. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our facilities! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a private 2 bed dorm and it was just what we needed - the whole hostel was. Breakfast was very fine. We were out most of the day so didn't hang around the hostel that much and as a home base, this hostel was great. I would recommend this hostel to any group of friends.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ser_Maximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you so much for you great review and ratings! We are happy to hear that you loved your stay at our hostel! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Nice hostel, actually do not looks like a hostel and more a hotel. Everything is very organized, clean, staff very friendly...breakfest amazing..if someone like to "smoke" must be outside, which is nice, however, if you do not like kids and old people run away there.Overall it is worth!!

Room Tip: To be honest all the rooms is the same!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulianAndrewST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Nice and clean accommodations. Will definitely go back here for my next visit to the Netherlands. Only thing i really missed, was the use of functional WiFi in the common area during my stay. It seems like it was either completely congested or just poor quality as I couldn't send or receive mails / messages. Otherwise, excellent!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Petrus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for your great review and ratings! We are happy to hear you like you stay in our hostel. We are sorry about the WiFi quality. We are aware of the fact that it can be a bit slow when there are a lot of people online. We are working to improve this. We are looking forward to welcoming you again next time! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

2 friends and I stayed in the Stayokay Vondelpark for 2 night while in Amsterdam for a football match.
since we were only in amsterdam for a few days we were only looking for somewhere cheap with a good central location and the Stayokay definitely fits the bill.
we opted to stay in one of the smaller rooms (4 people, 2 bunk beds) which we managed to get to ourselves.
the room was small but cosy and exactly what we were looking for for our purposes.
the room was clean with seperate lockers for each person.
the hostel is only 10 minutes walk into the centre of amsterdam so ideal if you are looking to explore the city.
the bar was great with lots of different people from around the world mingling and having fun. definitely try to catch the happy hour for 2 for 1 drinks!!
ideal for a cheap and cheerful visit to the city when with friends, if i was with my fiancee i would splash out for something more private i.e. hotel

Room Tip: remember and bring a padlock for your personal locker in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mfindlay82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your great review and ratings! We are glad to hear you and your friends enjoyed your stay at our hostel! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

3 of us stayed here while on a football trip to Amsterdam and had booked a room for 4 but we had it to ourselves. The location is ideal for all Amsterdam has to offer with everything being within walking distance and the hostel also rent out bikes if that's up your street. Dam Square is about 15 minutes walk and there are bars and restaurants at the end of the street. The rooms are pretty much what you would expect, bunk beds, lockable wardrobe (you need a padlock), toilet and shower. The hostel supply bedding which you get on arrival and just make up your own bed and I have to say, they are pretty comfy. The bar in the hotel is quite good, it's also really busy and has a good atmosphere. They were selling pints of lager 2 for 1 on the night we arrived which was the cheapest we had paid during the whole trip. Couldn't comment on the breakfast as we ate out but there are vending machines at reception for water, juice and snacks. WiFi is available in the common areas.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thanks for your amazing review. We are happy to hear you had a great time in our hostel and in Amsterdam! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tolentino, Italia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Expensive rooms, long waits for breakfast, unpleasant staff...once checked out they didn't want to rent us bikes neither they allowed us to wait for the shuttle to the airport inside the building, they litterally threw us out of the hall despite the rain outside...
Definitely not my best experience ever.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank sidekick84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your comment. We are sorry to hear about your experiences in our hostel. We will definitely look into these points, as you should be able to rent bikes after check out for example (if available). If you'd like to get back to us about these points, please email us: service@vondelpark.stayokay.com. Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#29 of 207 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 966 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Flying Pig Uptown
Flying Pig Uptown
#32 of 207 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
ClinkNOORD
#52 of 207 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark

Address: Zandpad 5, 1054 GA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 207 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique location offers everything for a perfect stay in Amsterdam. We are situated in the beautiful Vondelpark near the Leidseplein entertainment area. The three major and best known museums in Amsterdam (the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum & Stedelijk Museum) are within 5 minutes walking distance. We offer plenty of activities for exploring the city. A free daily walking tour which is great to meet others travelers and to get inside information about Amsterdam. Or rent a Stayokay City bike and discover Amsterdam by yourself. The famous Canal Belt is best to be explored during a canal cruise. Enjoy great food & drinks offers in our bar dur one of the themed bar nights. We look forward to seeing you soon; Welcome in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing