We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location and Good Bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark

Save Saved
You added Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Zandpad 5, 1054 GA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Excellent Location and Good Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

3 of us stayed here while on a football trip to Amsterdam and had booked a room for 4 but we had it to ourselves. The location is ideal for all Amsterdam has to offer with everything being within walking distance and the hostel also rent out bikes if that's up your street. Dam Square is about 15 minutes walk and there are bars and restaurants at the end of the street. The rooms are pretty much what you would expect, bunk beds, lockable wardrobe (you need a padlock), toilet and shower. The hostel supply bedding which you get on arrival and just make up your own bed and I have to say, they are pretty comfy. The bar in the hotel is quite good, it's also really busy and has a good atmosphere. They were selling pints of lager 2 for 1 on the night we arrived which was the cheapest we had paid during the whole trip. Couldn't comment on the breakfast as we ate out but there are vending machines at reception for water, juice and snacks. WiFi is available in the common areas.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thanks for your amazing review. We are happy to hear you had a great time in our hostel and in Amsterdam! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    323
    129
    27
    22
See reviews for
41
59
162
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tolentino, Italia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Expensive rooms, long waits for breakfast, unpleasant staff...once checked out they didn't want to rent us bikes neither they allowed us to wait for the shuttle to the airport inside the building, they litterally threw us out of the hall despite the rain outside...
Definitely not my best experience ever.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your comment. We are sorry to hear about your experiences in our hostel. We will definitely look into these points, as you should be able to rent bikes after check out for example (if available). If you'd like to get back to us about these points, please email us: service@vondelpark.stayokay.com. Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed here with a group of 12 friends for two nights. This is not the type of accommodation I would usually book, but a friend made the reservation and I was so impressed with my stay. Such a great price and included a good continental breakfast. The hostel is very large and busy, however not once did we get disturbed by other guests or have to complain about anything. Check in and out was very efficient, you do have to leave a €25 deposit per person. The room was clean and simple but was perfect for our needs. There was a good mix of people, young, old and families staying here and it seemed to be suitable for everyone. We took the train from the airport and then a tram which was easy and didn't take very long. To return to the airport we took the bus over by the casino and it was cheaper and quicker than the train and tram.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This hostel is great. We found it to be within walking distance of everywhere we wanted to be in Amsterdam. The price was low, the hostel clean, breakfast was provided too! Prices in the bar were reasonable. There was a good atmosphere in the bar & in the rest of the hostel, we felt safe & able to come & go as we pleased. There was always somebody on reception and people can only go upstairs to where the dorms are if they have a key. The outside of the building is very amsterdam! You could purchase locker keys, toiletries & amsterdam passes. There was also a book exchange. There is the possibility to stay in a private room or in a room with guests you don't know. There is also a games room and computers with internet. I would / will use this hostel again if on a budget trip to Amsterdam :) This is a great place for stag do's & holidays with friends, this isn't going to be for you if you're after a couples holiday (bunk beds!) or 5* luxury but if you're just after a base to leave your stuff as you go exploring & a place to sleep this is the place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed here with a stag group last weekend, it was grand, clean tidy and secure. We had a room for six. 3 bunk beds, breakfast was included but I never made it so can't comment. Wifi was ok. Hostel bar was grand, prices were very reasonable. Towels could be bought for 4.5 euro. Toiletries and locker keys also available to purchase. You are only across the road from the Hard Rock Cafe. Great location beside a beautiful park.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

What I liked the most was the location right in front of the stunning vondelpark, the breakfast was amazing, the staff were all very friendly and the atmosphere of the hostel was very nice and comfortable. Just found a bit pricy, don't know if it was because it was queen's day, but the rest was just fine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Nice hostel with great environment, cool bar. games room, OK internet. The room was alright, clean, the staff was also alright. The best things about the Hostel is the location and the breakfast! Great value!

Another thing, dont go far looking for a bike rental, they have nice bikes for a fair price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark

Address: Zandpad 5, 1054 GA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique location offers everything for a perfect stay in Amsterdam. We are situated in the beautiful Vondelpark near the Leidseplein entertainment area. The three major and best known museums in Amsterdam (the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum & Stedelijk Museum) are within 5 minutes walking distance. We offer plenty of activities for exploring the city. A free daily walking tour which is great to meet others travelers and to get inside information about Amsterdam. Or rent a Stayokay City bike and discover Amsterdam by yourself. The famous Canal Belt is best to be explored during a canal cruise. Enjoy great food & drinks offers in our bar dur one of the themed bar nights. We look forward to seeing you soon; Welcome in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.