We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hostel and staff, best in Europe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark

Save Saved
You added Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 9 more sites!
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Zandpad 5, Amsterdam 1054 GA, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing hostel and staff, best in Europe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I have been meaning to do this for along time however my travels have kept me from it, that being said I feel a great hostel deserves some credit. Back in june I was staying in Amsterdam for 5 days, the hostel made my experience, clean, very well located, and very social especially at the bar. However what truly made the trip special were the staff, two in particular. The first was scotty, the maintenance man and self proclaimed bike guru, he was very helpful and just a cool guy, always giving the tips on where to go and what to see. Then there was one of the reception staff, mari or merdi, i can't remember how to spell here name (dutch can be tricky), she was of the nicest people I have every met, always had that cute smile on, and always helped me out with what ever problem I had. Next time i'm in Europe you can be ill stop by this awesome place with awesome people.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your Awsome review!!! We know, our bike-guy/guru Scotty is amazing!! Great that you liked our staff, location and bar!! We hope to see you again some day :) Kind Regards, Anna Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    276
    107
    24
    21
See reviews for
39
53
131
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the weekend. We had a mixed room with 6 beds. It was my second hostel experience and it was much better than my first hostel. However, after traveling more I now know that it is a bit pricey for what you get. You are paying for the location and the cleanliness, in my opinion. The wifi doesn't work in the room but is free downstairs. Breakfast is good but get there early. They have cereal, fruit, bread, cheese and cold cuts plus spreads. The location is great, it's right next to vondelpsrk which is beautiful and is centrally located.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your response! Good to hear that you had a great stay and that your second experience in a hostel is a great one!

We have similar prices in compare to other hostels in Amsterdam. Our prices are flexible, depending on availability and day. Our breakfast is a typical Dutch organic breakfast, a good start of the day. In the weekends it can be a bit busy at the breakfast room, it is wise to be there on time. The Vondelpark is beautiful, especially in the early morning when it is still quiet.

Kind Regards,
Anna Stayokay Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune Beach, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Very good location right next to Vondelpark. The breakfast is included and compared to most hostels has an awesome array of options. Rooms are very clean as well as the showers and toilets. No wifi in rooms though and had trouble accessing it downstairs a few times, overall a good stay and great location

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your response and rating! Great to hear that you found the location Great! Wonderful that you enjoyed our breakfast. Kind Regards, Anna Stayokay Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was average. I shared a 6 bed dorm and there was an ensuite bathroom, except that was the only facility available to us and between 6 girls, it was a fight for the bathroom in the mornings. The room only had 1 power socket so charging of phones was downstairs in the foyer, with everybody else who owned a phone! The WiFi was free of charge and really fast. The hostel is in a good area but the staff were very slow!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your response! Good to know that the Wifi is to your liking. Sorry to hear that the private bathroom was to busy. We estimated that one shower for 6 people would be sufficient. We also have private or 4 bedded rooms ensuite. The larger dorms (8 - 20) has more showers and toilets in the room. Did you mention to reception that there was not enough plugs in the room. We can charge your phone secure and for free at the reception. Sorry to hear that you found the staff slow. In the high season the waiting lines at reception can be a bit longer, we appologize for this! Kind Regards, Anna Stayokay Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in summer 2013. We were in a 6 bed dorm... Which wasnt exactly spacious. Each occupant had a full size locker though, which came in handy. The ensuite was a disaster - one shower and 1 toilet between 6 girls didn't work. There weren\t even any extras on the landing - odd!! The shower also sprays all over the floor... so make sure your things are hung up!

There was only 1 plug socket in our room, located next to the sink. Clearly this was the case in other rooms too... As the foyer area was always full of people sat next to plug sockets.

The beds were not very comfortable - made of plastic, and a leather-esque material for the pillows. You also were greeted with a pile of linen, and instructions to make you're own bed. Lovely.

Breakfast was average. Bread, meats, and cereals.

Only stay here if youre really on a budget... Otherwise.. Go for something more central.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your response and rating!

Good to hear that the lockers were to your liking.
Sorry to hear that you found your stay oke-ish. We are suprised to receive the comment about the private shower and toilet. Our experience tells us that the guests prefer a private shower in the room. The four bedded rooms and six bedden rooms have one shower, the dorms for 10 or more guests have more showers. We will look into the drain of the shower in the room.

We are aware of the few sockets in the room. Did you know you can charge your electronics at the reception for free?

Sorry to hear that the bed was not comfortable, did you let our staff know? We could have provided a different pillow. On all our beds are packed bedlinnen in plastic. To use them is better for your health and cleanliness.

We serve a typical Dutch breakfast. Bread that you can toast, buns, cheese, ham, fruits, yogurt, cereal, coffee, thea, orange or apple juice. In the weekends we also have a late breakfast in our bar with bacon and eggs (for 5,- euro)

We do hope you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam!
Kind Regards,

Anna, Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hostel is huge and really corporate unlike other european hostels, but it is a chain.

WiFi doesnt work upstairs and there was 3 charging sockets for in a 4 bed dorm
You have to pay to use the computers downstairs
Bed mattresses and pillows are really thin and you have to make your own bed!

However the breakfast was really good,the hostel was very clean and it is in a good location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear, Thank you for you response and rating!

Good to know that you liked our breakfast, cleanliness and our location!

It is correct that we do not have Wifi in the rooms, you can use the free wifi in all public area's. The lobby, bar, gameroom and breakfast room. Did you know that we also have sockets there. We are aware that there are not enough sockets in the rooms, did you know you can charge your electronics at the reception? you can pick them up 24/7 and the service is free.

On every bed is a free package of bedlinnen, the package is in plastic. This is for your own cleanliness and health.

We hope you enjoyed your stay!
Kind Regards,

Anna, Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halletts Cove, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I stayed in a 6bed mixed dorm with ensuite.

As soon as we walked in to this hostel it felt very professional. The staff were helpful, efficient and spoke English well. They were happy to suggest activities or answer any questions.

The location is great, it is down the side of the beautiful Vondel Park. Only a short walk to the main shopping strip and restaurants (and coffee shops).

The hostel offers bike hire, which i really recommend!! At first riding around Amsterdam on bikes seems scary, but it is the only way to go!!

It is only a short taxi ride from the train station and cost us roughly €12-15.

It is quite a walk to the red light district (maybe 30-45mins?), or easy enough to get a taxi!

The room was fine, with standard toilet, shower,mirror and sink.

Breakfast was included and is standard cereal, bread, cold meat & cheese.

Laundry facilities available also.

Bar downstairs next to common room. You can also get small cheap meals (approx €8) here too!


No wifi in rooms, only in public areas (common room, breakfast hall, etc.)

Overall I really enjoyed my stay here - definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comment and 100% rating!
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hostel and stay!

You are right, cycling in Amsterdam is the best thing! Our hostel is right next to the Leidseplein (bars, clubs, coffeeshops and restaurants) and Museumplein (Van Gogh, Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk museum). The Dam is a walk of 20 - 25 minutes, right behind the Dam is the Redlight district. Did you know that you can also go with the tram to the Dam? There is one going every 5 minutes from Leidseplein.

Thank you for recommending us! We hope to welcome you again!

Kind Regards,
Anna
Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark

Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Hotel
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Zandpad 5, Amsterdam 1054 GA, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 169 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique location offers everything for a perfect stay in Amsterdam. We are situated in the beautiful Vondelpark near the Leidseplein entertainment area. The three major and best known museums in Amsterdam (the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum & Stedelijk Museum) are within 5 minutes walking distance. We offer plenty of activities for exploring the city. A free daily walking tour which is great to meet others travelers and to get inside information about Amsterdam. Or rent a Stayokay City bike and discover Amsterdam by yourself. The famous Canal Belt is best to be explored during a canal cruise. Enjoy great food & drinks offers in our bar dur one of the themed bar nights. We look forward to seeing you soon; Welcome in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.