We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK. Ish.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark to your Saves list
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Zandpad 5, 1054 GA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“OK. Ish.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in summer 2013. We were in a 6 bed dorm... Which wasnt exactly spacious. Each occupant had a full size locker though, which came in handy. The ensuite was a disaster - one shower and 1 toilet between 6 girls didn't work. There weren\t even any extras on the landing - odd!! The shower also sprays all over the floor... so make sure your things are hung up!

There was only 1 plug socket in our room, located next to the sink. Clearly this was the case in other rooms too... As the foyer area was always full of people sat next to plug sockets.

The beds were not very comfortable - made of plastic, and a leather-esque material for the pillows. You also were greeted with a pile of linen, and instructions to make you're own bed. Lovely.

Breakfast was average. Bread, meats, and cereals.

Only stay here if youre really on a budget... Otherwise.. Go for something more central.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your response and rating!

Good to hear that the lockers were to your liking.
Sorry to hear that you found your stay oke-ish. We are suprised to receive the comment about the private shower and toilet. Our experience tells us that the guests prefer a private shower in the room. The four bedded rooms and six bedden rooms have one shower, the dorms for 10 or more guests have more showers. We will look into the drain of the shower in the room.

We are aware of the few sockets in the room. Did you know you can charge your electronics at the reception for free?

Sorry to hear that the bed was not comfortable, did you let our staff know? We could have provided a different pillow. On all our beds are packed bedlinnen in plastic. To use them is better for your health and cleanliness.

We serve a typical Dutch breakfast. Bread that you can toast, buns, cheese, ham, fruits, yogurt, cereal, coffee, thea, orange or apple juice. In the weekends we also have a late breakfast in our bar with bacon and eggs (for 5,- euro)

We do hope you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam!
Kind Regards,

Anna, Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    370
    141
    29
    23
See reviews for
44
70
177
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hostel is huge and really corporate unlike other european hostels, but it is a chain.

WiFi doesnt work upstairs and there was 3 charging sockets for in a 4 bed dorm
You have to pay to use the computers downstairs
Bed mattresses and pillows are really thin and you have to make your own bed!

However the breakfast was really good,the hostel was very clean and it is in a good location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear, Thank you for you response and rating!

Good to know that you liked our breakfast, cleanliness and our location!

It is correct that we do not have Wifi in the rooms, you can use the free wifi in all public area's. The lobby, bar, gameroom and breakfast room. Did you know that we also have sockets there. We are aware that there are not enough sockets in the rooms, did you know you can charge your electronics at the reception? you can pick them up 24/7 and the service is free.

On every bed is a free package of bedlinnen, the package is in plastic. This is for your own cleanliness and health.

We hope you enjoyed your stay!
Kind Regards,

Anna, Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halletts Cove, South Australia, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I stayed in a 6bed mixed dorm with ensuite.

As soon as we walked in to this hostel it felt very professional. The staff were helpful, efficient and spoke English well. They were happy to suggest activities or answer any questions.

The location is great, it is down the side of the beautiful Vondel Park. Only a short walk to the main shopping strip and restaurants (and coffee shops).

The hostel offers bike hire, which i really recommend!! At first riding around Amsterdam on bikes seems scary, but it is the only way to go!!

It is only a short taxi ride from the train station and cost us roughly €12-15.

It is quite a walk to the red light district (maybe 30-45mins?), or easy enough to get a taxi!

The room was fine, with standard toilet, shower,mirror and sink.

Breakfast was included and is standard cereal, bread, cold meat & cheese.

Laundry facilities available also.

Bar downstairs next to common room. You can also get small cheap meals (approx €8) here too!


No wifi in rooms, only in public areas (common room, breakfast hall, etc.)

Overall I really enjoyed my stay here - definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comment and 100% rating!
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hostel and stay!

You are right, cycling in Amsterdam is the best thing! Our hostel is right next to the Leidseplein (bars, clubs, coffeeshops and restaurants) and Museumplein (Van Gogh, Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk museum). The Dam is a walk of 20 - 25 minutes, right behind the Dam is the Redlight district. Did you know that you can also go with the tram to the Dam? There is one going every 5 minutes from Leidseplein.

Thank you for recommending us! We hope to welcome you again!

Kind Regards,
Anna
Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolim De Moura, RO
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at the Stayokay Vondelpark for 2 nights in Amsterdam.
The hostel offers great views to the park (since it's almost inside Vondelpark).
It's located in a great place, but we had a little trouble to find it, because our map was not acurate. From here you can walk to some bus stops that will take you anywhere in the city (even the stop to take the bus to the airport is close to the hostel).
The staff of the hostel was very helpful and friendly, we had no trouble during check-in and check-out.
The only problem we had was with the heating system of our room, and this is the only reason I'll not give this hostel a 5 star rate. The heating did not work at all, so we had to face two nights of 7º C (44º F), without heating. We complained several times to the people at the front table, and they always confirmed they were aware of the problem, and that there was people from the staff taking care of it. Well, there was noone, and we were freezing our bodies inside the room for two nights. Taking a shower in that temperature is a terrible experience.
The area in which we stayed was served with elevators and the stairs were large, with a good step size. The place also had a laundry room, for what they charge you some coins. The machines work great. The bar and the commom areas of the hostel are, also, the best we saw in our whole trip. The wi-fi works great in these areas, but it will not reach the bedrooms.
We stayed in a room with 6 bunk beds. Every bed has one assigned lock of good size, in which you can store your stuff. The room was very large, with lots of windows to the park (this was great for the view, but made the room be even colder during the nights).
The room also had a bathroom, with 2 showers.
The place was kept very clean all the time.
The breakfast that this hostel offers was the best one we had in our entire trip. It has a lot of bread tipes, yougurt, juices, coffee, tea, cereal... It was really a great surprise.
We really liked our stay at Stayokay Vondelpark, and we would recomend this place. Just make sure the heating system is working properly.

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces the park. The views are great. Also make sure the heating system is workin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your response and rating!

Great to hear that you loved the view over Vondelpark, we know it can be breathtaking!
Good to know that you enjoyed the staff, service and facilities!

We appologize for the tempature in the room, we had some technical problems. Fortunately these are all solved. We do hope you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future!

Kind Regards,
Anna, Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

There was nothing wrong with this hostel and I was hesitant on staying there after reading some reviews. Was it a little hot? Yes, but we were there in July. Staff was friendly, room was clean, beds were comfortable enough to sleep 8 hours in. Wifi downstairs but not in rooms...but I get the reason as some people then would have computers on all night and be disturbing to others in the room. Don't complain about no wifi in the rooms - you are traveling and its right downstairs! Breakfast was MORE than I expected. We loved that we could rent bikes right at the hostel - it was perfect. Early morning bike rides through the park that the hostel lies in was beautiful. Such a nice setting in this park. The place also felt very secure, using your keys at many doorways. Lockers in the room fit our big packs. Bring a lock with you.
I would stay here again for sure. Hopefully other negative comments do not put people off.

Room Tip: We were in the back building (along a outdoor corrider) and it was very quiet. Building C I believe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and great review!
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff, the breakfast being more then expected and our bike rental service! You are right about the wifi not being accessible in the rooms.
Thank you and we hope to see you again! Kind Regards, Anna Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Hostels are what I expect them to be, a cheap place to lay your head, this one is no exception. But, I don't expect to be treated with hostility. Great location to everything, dorm style rooms (you know, you make your own bed, etc.) Pay a deposit fee for a towel which you have to wait in line for only to have the hostile employee take other people randomly walking up to the counter in front of the line???? Fortunately, we just stayed a couple nights as we were backpacking trough Europe. I really can't tell you much more because basically just slept and showered.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your response! Good to hear that we were what you expected us to be.
Great that you enjoyed our location, next to the Vondelpark. We have a few busy weeks in our hostel. I appologize that the reception(ist) seemded to be hostile by letting others go stand in front off you. We kindly ask our guests to wait in line, unfortunately not everyone listen to us. I hope it did not caused to much of a problem and you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam.
Kind Regards, Anna Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The dorm was clean. Toilets and showers were reasonably clean, services such as bike rental, maps provided etc were great and the location of the hostel was very convenient. Free wifi downstairs in public areas but not in the dorms. Pretty good bar/cafe downstairs and a nice common area.

The room was EXTREMELY hot and stuffy. Fortunately sleep comes relatively easily for me so it wasn't a major problem but I imagine that the discomfort from this would really bother some.

The lift was also broken while I was there. While I know it's not hostel staff's job to carry my bags upstairs, I did book this place because there was a lift. Because it was broken, I had to figure out how to get my suitcase up/down four floors (eight flights of stairs). Being very petite, I just couldn't do it alone and hostel staff did not offer any sort of help. As it was about 7am when I left, so there was no one passing by for me to ask for help. The only place I could find someone to ask for help was at the reception and they more or less told me to just figure it out myself. I waited about 20 minutes before another guest passed by and helped me.

If not for the unhelpful staff, I'd give this place 4 stars.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear, thank you for your response! Good to hear that you enjoyed the clean rooms and bathrooms in our hostel. Well done on renting a bike, the best way to experience Amsterdam. We experienced a real heat wave, making it really hot in the rooms. We rent our fans in our reception for the people who can not get to sleep in the heat. I am glad to hear that you managed that. I am sorry to hear about the staff not being able to help. It was higly inconvenient for all of us, fortunately the lift is fixed again. It is almost impossible for the reception staff to leave the reception, for safety reasons. However I appologize for the troubles it caused you. We hope you enjoyed your stay! Kind Regards, Anna Stayokay Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark

Address: Zandpad 5, 1054 GA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique location offers everything for a perfect stay in Amsterdam. We are situated in the beautiful Vondelpark near the Leidseplein entertainment area. The three major and best known museums in Amsterdam (the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum & Stedelijk Museum) are within 5 minutes walking distance. We offer plenty of activities for exploring the city. A free daily walking tour which is great to meet others travelers and to get inside information about Amsterdam. Or rent a Stayokay City bike and discover Amsterdam by yourself. The famous Canal Belt is best to be explored during a canal cruise. Enjoy great food & drinks offers in our bar dur one of the themed bar nights. We look forward to seeing you soon; Welcome in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.